No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lord Lister Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
1 Park Street , Hitchin, SG4 9AH
The Lord Lister Hotel in Hitchin is family run hotel, with a warm and friendly atmosphere, excellent service and an affordable tariff with special weekend rates. Husband and wife team Nick and Josie Raviele, with more than 30 years experience in the hospitality business, run the Lord Lister Hotel with the continental philosophy of 'mi casa es su casa' which provides guests and staff with the relaxed family orientated atmosphere that we believe is missing from the great British hotel experience.

This 'grade II' listed building has a charming character all of its own: all rooms have their own style in keeping with the hotel's quaint and comfortable surroundings. All the Hotel's beautifully furnished rooms have en-suite bath or shower-rooms, Freeview television, extra pillows and blankets, hair dryers, tea and coffee hospitality tray and direct dial telephones. For that special occasion there is also a four poster bedroom. Flowers, wine or chocolates can be provided on request.

The Hotel facilities include a cozy bar to relax in overlooking the patio area in the garden, a resident's satellite TV lounge and free wireless internet available throughout the hotel for guests use. The hotel can also provide meeting facilities on request.

Our Hotel is centrally located just 2 minutes walk from historic Hitchin town centre, a historic market town with cobbled streets and market square flanked by beautiful buildings. Hitchin town is a hub of social activities with a local theatre, football ground, varied music scene and regular beer and music festivals so there is something for everyone. A shopper's paradise, there are dozens of independent shops and boutiques as well as the high-street names.
Picture of The Lord Lister Hotel, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Heart of Hitchin
The Lord Lister is an historic building in a historic town. A little aged, a little tired, with some modern aspects. Great location close to the centre, but quiet and peaceful. A comfortable enough place to stay.

Reviewed by
Jennifer C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traditional style family run hotel
This hotel is ideally placed to explore the lovely market town of Hitchin, no distance at all from the town centre. It's an old style hotel, the décor is a little dated but in keeping with the old building - not for you if you like stylish minimalist modern! The room was fine, beds really comfortable and cosy (in spite of very cold weather) and the sheets lovely quality cotton. Breakfast is really excellent, freshly and individually cooked with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc. The hosts were very helpful when our car broke down, providing tea while we were waiting for the breakdown lorry and were very accommodating when we had to stay an extra night. I would go there again. It is very good value for money.

Reviewed by
L Davis

From France
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of our favorites
Historic building with inherent quaintness. Rooms are good. Proprietors are amazing, helpful, like friends. Great breakfast. We have stayed several times and are never disappointed

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Winchester, USA
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location to visit Hitchin
Accomodation is quite basic but clean. Traffic noise can disrupt sleep and stairs are narrow and steep but the breakfast is delicious, generous and tasty.

Reviewed by
K Boyle

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, clean and friendly
The hotel was clean and well cared for, the gentlemen who checked us in was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was fast once we had ordered and plenty to choose from. The lady serving seemed a bit miserable despite us saying good morning with a smile but it was an early Sunday morning, so we ignored it although it was a little uncomfortable as it felt like we were a burden!
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel as a clean, quiet and well cared for place to spend the night.

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Grand Old House
A very charming and authentic old building. Well located at the top of the old town. Family run with pride.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Higgins

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean
Very enjoyable stay. Good value, comfortable and very clean. The room had tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water.

Reviewed by
Karl D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Tidy and Friendly, no more required.
Stayed at the Lord Lister whilst attending Sonisphere at Knebworth, the hotel has several levels with quite steep stairs so mobility may be an issue for some if you dont check where you room is.
The full English breakfast was good, many options for cereal, toast etc, both days housekeeping tidied our room whilst we were at breakfast... quick and efficient, very good. Hotel Staff all friendly and helpful, good with local knowledge etc.
Would not have any problems staying here again, the road outside may cause some noise for folks if you are at the front of the hotel, but we managed even with the window open due to heat.

Reviewed by
Stephen Adcock

From Stockton-on-tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent breakfast
Friendly helpful staff and good breakfast with lots of choice

Reviewed by
M Brown

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in Hitchin
Great little hotel. The stay was very pleasant made better I have to say, by being next to the best pub in Hitchin. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, freshly cooked and well served.

Reviewed by
Mike Parkes

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next