The Lord Lister Hotel

2

1 Park Street, Hitchin, SG4 9AH

Price From 128.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Judith Honan

  • May 2015

Great Hitchin Hotel

This historic hotel set in a most convenient area of Hitchin, being close to shops and a varied selection of good cafes and restaurants, makes a wonderful base from which to explore the area.

We received a very warm welcome and this kindness extended during our entire stay. The room was clean and very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep despite the hotel being on the main road. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The atmosphere during our stay was very relaxed and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Robert T

  • April 2015

The Lord Lister Hotel

Room was spacious and clean if a little tired.

Bed wasn't the comfiest. No shower screens and only a hand held shower attachment so floor gets a bit wet.

General customer service could be improved.

  • Shahbaz H

  • March 2015

Excellent family run hotel

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

The exterior of the building is pretty but the interior is a little dated. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel.

The ground floor comprises a very comfortable living room, a cosy bar and a dining area. Our room (a family room with 1 double and a singe) was clean and functional. The en suite was dated but everything worked. The shower was superb.

What really made this a hotel to recommend was the family that own and run the hotel. They are incredibly freindly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Lisa H

  • February 2015

Lovely hotel, clean and friendly

The hotel was clean and well cared for, the gentlemen who checked us in was very welcoming and helpful.

Breakfast was fast once we had ordered and plenty to choose from. The lady serving seemed a bit miserable despite us saying good morning with a smile but it was an early Sunday morning, so we ignored it although it was a little uncomfortable as it felt like we were a burden. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel as a clean, quiet and well cared for place to spend the night.

  • Jennifer C

  • February 2015

The Heart of Hitchin

The Lord Lister is an historic building in a historic town.

A little aged, a little tired, with some modern aspects. Great location close to the centre, but quiet and peaceful. A comfortable enough place to stay.

  • L Davis

  • February 2015

traditional style family run hotel

This hotel is ideally placed to explore the lovely market town of Hitchin, no distance at all from the town centre.

It's an old style hotel, the d├ęcor is a little dated but in keeping with the old building - not for you if you like stylish minimalist modern. The room was fine, beds really comfortable and cosy (in spite of very cold weather) and the sheets lovely quality cotton. Breakfast is really excellent, freshly and individually cooked with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc. The hosts were very helpful when our car broke down, providing tea while we were waiting for the breakdown lorry and were very accommodating when we had to stay an extra night. I would go there again. It is very good value for money.

  • Christine S

  • January 2015

One of our favorites

Historic building with inherent quaintness.

Rooms are good. Proprietors are amazing, helpful, like friends. Great breakfast. We have stayed several times and are never disappointed

  • K Boyle

  • December 2014

Great location to visit Hitchin

Accomodation is quite basic but clean.

Traffic noise can disrupt sleep and stairs are narrow and steep but the breakfast is delicious, generous and tasty.

  • Malcolm Higgins

  • October 2014

A Grand Old House

A very charming and authentic old building.

Well located at the top of the old town. Family run with pride.

  • Karl D

  • July 2014

Friendly and clean

Very enjoyable stay.

Good value, comfortable and very clean. The room had tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water.