No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roslin Beach Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10-12 Thorpe Esplanade Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea Essex, SS1 3BG
The Roslin Beach Hotel typifies all the elements you expect of a luxury Boutique Seaside Hotel. Fantastic sea side views of an award winning Beach, beautifully decorated contemporary bedrooms, and luxury bathrooms with thick fluffy towels and White Company Toiletries. And we must not forget the complimentary homemade shortbread starfish carefully packaged and placed on the pillow.

The Roslin Beach are champions of high quality ethically, sourced British produce. The Hotel’s Bar & Restaurant serves Modern British food of the highest quality. The Restaurant offers an extensive choice of free range ethically sourced Meat, Poultry and Fish. This is ensured by sourcing much of its Beef, Pork and Turkey from its own Free Range Home Farm.

Whether it is a warm sunny day in summer or a bright sunny day in autumn the Roslin Beach Terrace is the ideal spot to relax with a chilled glass of wine, and watch the world go by.

The Roslin Beach can cater for all your needs whether it be a relaxing luxury break, a short business stay, private dining, parties, weddings, events, business meetings
or a quite intimate dinner for 2.

The Hotel prides itself on its Customer Services and the staff are attentive but non intrusive to ensure that your every requirement is catered for.

All Roslin Beach Hotel Guests access to the Hotel’s Complimentary Wi-Fi, Parking and all Hotel residents receive a complimentary breakfast. The famous Roslin Beach Full English Breakfast is out of this world and definitely not to be missed.

The Roslin now has fabulous Spa treatment rooms offering Elemis Treatments and an OPI nail bar as well as a free gym for all residents.

Picture of Roslin Beach Hotel, Southend on Sea Essex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem on the beach
Fantastic staff, and fabulous experience all round. We stayed in a suite with 2 adults and 2 preschoolers. Room was newly refurbished and a treat to stay in after suffering some other hotel's ideas of "family rooms"! Lovely sea view from restaurant, enjoyed high quality well presented food at dinner and breakfast. Staff went above and beyond with our children taking some stress away- activity packs at the dinner table and cleaned my own toddler cutlery for me after meal without me having to ask. The staff truly seemed to anticipate our questions before we verbalised them! Exemplary.

Reviewed by
A Todd

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful views and excellent service
My boyfriend and I were looking for a quick getaway and this was perfect although we wished we could of stayed longer. We had a executive room with balcony and seaview. It was amazing the attention to detail was great with the option of having breakfast in your room and 24hr bar and reception it was great. I would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
D Gisbourne

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely stay again
The staff at the Roslin beach hotel are fantastic. Incredibly helpful and polite. The hotel itself is in a great location. The decor is beautiful and modern and cool. My room was beautiful. The only down side was the broken remote for the TV, which the staff tried to remedy immediately. I will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Isabella L

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking was an issue and the breakfast was not great
Parking was an issue on site, so I had to park on the road. People double parking to use the gym seemed to be an issue, and should be better controlled by the Management.
The breakfast was a buffet and was obviously sitting in heated trays for some time.
This is not a cheap hotel and I would have expected better for the price I paid. But overall it was a nice place and the room was great.

Reviewed by
John M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Excellent staff and rooms. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist strip but close enough to walk along the foreshore to. Would definitely go back

Reviewed by
michelle h

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and relaxing
Arrived 15 mins early,room was ready and reception staff were very pleasent and helpful. Room was clean and tidy and above expectation. Hotel was lovely and all staff we came across were polite,helpful and friendly. Food was good and service was too. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
J Grant

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
keith h

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stylish treat.
From check in to check out my experience was excellent. I was greeted by friendly, smiling reception staff who upgraded me to a sea view room. I found my room beautifully appointed and very comfortable which is so welcome when working away from home. I enjoyed a superb dinner which accommodated my current low carb attempt to lose weight with fresh, tasty and well presented food which was also excellent value. Restaurant service was impeccable and made me feel at home. I would highly recommend this hotel and would suggest popping in for dinner if you are in the area. Thank you and hope to be back soon.

Reviewed by
a mansell-green

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
On arrival we were told that although we had booked a room facing the sea, there were none available. We were given a room which had a side view of the sea, which could only be seen if you stood close to the window and looked to the left hand side.
The evening we stayed at the hotel, we were going to the theatre and realized that we would therefore not be able to eat in the restaurant as it did not open until 6.00 p.m. (which would have been too late) however, we were happy to get a "light bite", which was advertised as being available at the time we needed to eat (5.00 p.m.). However, when we tried to order our food at the bar, we were told that they had a wedding taking place at the hotel and would not therefore be doing any food until they had served the wedding party. We had to leave the hotel and try and find somewhere to eat.. The whole experience was extremely disappointing.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 5th stay at The Roslin Beach Hotel
The Roslin stands about half way along Thorpe Bay, well away from the Southend seafront amusements
Booking in was very efficient with help offered to carry bags to rooms etc. We had been upgraded and can only describe the 'Honeymoon Suite' as beautiful, warm and roomy with fantastic en-suite. A super king bed from which you look out across the estuary, or sit outside on the private patio.
The Restaurant service was excellent though apparently short staffed as they were advertising for waiters, not that one would have noticed as the level of service is always brilliant. The food was excellent, delivered hot and well presented.
After a very comfortable night’s sleep, a present buffet breakfast which was constantly being refreshed and piping hot served in a breakfast room overlooking the sea.
Checking out was easy as our bill had been prepared and processed overnight.
We have recommended The Roslin to our friends.

Reviewed by
James Harris

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next