No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roslin Beach Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10-12 Thorpe Esplanade Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea Essex, SS1 3BG
The Roslin Beach Hotel typifies all the elements you expect of a luxury Boutique Seaside Hotel. Fantastic sea side views of an award winning Beach, beautifully decorated contemporary bedrooms, and luxury bathrooms with thick fluffy towels and White Company Toiletries. And we must not forget the complimentary homemade shortbread starfish carefully packaged and placed on the pillow.

The Roslin Beach are champions of high quality ethically, sourced British produce. The Hotel’s Bar & Restaurant serves Modern British food of the highest quality. The Restaurant offers an extensive choice of free range ethically sourced Meat, Poultry and Fish. This is ensured by sourcing much of its Beef, Pork and Turkey from its own Free Range Home Farm.

Whether it is a warm sunny day in summer or a bright sunny day in autumn the Roslin Beach Terrace is the ideal spot to relax with a chilled glass of wine, and watch the world go by.

The Roslin Beach can cater for all your needs whether it be a relaxing luxury break, a short business stay, private dining, parties, weddings, events, business meetings
or a quite intimate dinner for 2.

The Hotel prides itself on its Customer Services and the staff are attentive but non intrusive to ensure that your every requirement is catered for.

All Roslin Beach Hotel Guests access to the Hotel’s Complimentary Wi-Fi, Parking and all Hotel residents receive a complimentary breakfast. The famous Roslin Beach Full English Breakfast is out of this world and definitely not to be missed.

The Roslin now has fabulous Spa treatment rooms offering Elemis Treatments and an OPI nail bar as well as a free gym for all residents.

Picture of Roslin Beach Hotel, Southend on Sea Essex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super in every way
The staff were friendly, we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise. The room was perfect and the food was tasty. If we're in the area we'll definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Naomi B

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom clean, tidy and nicely decorated. Bathroom although perfectly functional was a bit on the small side and room was hot overnight, but fan was provided. Parking difficult in the evening.Staff helpful.

Reviewed by
J CUNLIFFE

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a getaway
We really liked the Roslin Beach and enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully done with a lovely sea view and windows that could be opened to let in the sea breeze. The breakfast was really good too.

Reviewed by
Catherine P

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restful Roslin Beach Hotel
South End is not normally known for quality hotels! However what a find Roslin Beach is! Set at the far end of the esplanade, away from the town centre and South ends only "theme park". The Roslin offered good quality food, pleasant rooms (ours was a little small but fine for overnight) and an Elemis Spa! Both dinner and breakfast were tasty and of good quality. Bar was well stocked and prices were very reasonable. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
k prendergast

From Buckhurst Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised
My husband and I stayed at the Roslin Beach for one night. Having never been to Southend I was not sure what to expect.
We made a request for early check in as we had tickets for the matinee performance at the theatre. I was personally called in response and told they would do their best.
When we arrived at 1pm we had a short 15 minute wait but were made very welcome. The public areas of the hotel were clean and inviting and the staff were as helpful and friendly as I have encountered in any 5* hotel I have been to before.
The food was excellent (we had Sunday roast) and they were helpful to my dietary requirements. Breakfast was also excellent
My only criticism was that our room, although very clean and with a lovely sea view was very tired decoration wise, and the bed was two singles bolted together (badly) we were told that we had been upgraded so glad I did'nt get the room originally booked as can only assume this would have been even more dated.
Would definitely visit again though as the staff made up for any minor problems. Food was great and the hotel in general was very nice, with a lovely covered heated external restaurant area overlooking the sea.

Reviewed by
A Twomey

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent night's sleep
Lovely hotel with one of the comfiest beds I've slept in including a plethora of soft pillows. Breakfast is always good. Staff always try to please.

Reviewed by
Jo W

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, made a lovely break from reality
We had a lovely time at the Roslin, looking forward to our next visit! The only bad thing was that the bed was really sweeky, we laughed about it coz I was with my mum but could have been terrible in other circumstances haha. We did report it as we left and the receptionist assured us we had done the right thing to tell them and was really nice.

Reviewed by
Lisa Ellis

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Wonderful hotel with welcoming staff. Came home and have already looked to book again. I will recommend to everyone. Price was amazing for what we got ! What a gorgeous retreat.

Reviewed by
H Goddard

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was right on the promenade and very clean, the staff very friendly and attentive. The food was superb. We stayed in the Business Centre, a block separate from the main hotel but the room was excellent, a comfy double bed, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary water and biscuits. The bathroom had everything you need, soft fluffy white towels, great shower. Food a little on the expensive side but would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Edward P

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experience for big cost
My initial impression was great as I was upgraded to an exec room, however I would have been very disappointed if I had paid for this room as it was nice enough but fairly small and had no desk to work at. When I came to order room service I called reception 4 times over the space of 15minutes and got no answer and so had to get dressed and go and order my food in person which somewhat negates the point of room service. I had fish and chips. The chips were nicely done but the fish was so greasy it was sitting in a puddle of the stuff and was inedible. The bed was comfortable but the fridge in my room made a racket all night which sounded like a tornado was blowing outside and disturbed my sleep. Breakfast was served in a lovely lounge overlooking the sea by a very attentive and friendly member of staff. The fruit salad was fresh and tasty but I opted for poached eggs and they arrived in a puddle of water. Overall I thought the place had potential to be nice but was overpriced, attention to detail wasn't there and the food was awful.

Reviewed by
J Young

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next