Reviews - Shepherds Hotel


Egremont Road, Cockermouth, CA13 0QX

Price From 155.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Hartley

  • September 2015

Not worth the money

this was not the best hotel we have been to.

We got there to be told they had no booking for us despite U.S. Booking in July. The room we were finally given was a family room on the corner of the hotel overlooking the roundabout on a busy road so was noisy all night. The hotel is more like the sort of place companies send people to stay for work in the area. The restaurant is more like a transport cafe. The room carpet had wet patches. The room was very basic and not worth the money we paid. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Maureen G

  • September 2015

Shepherds Hotel

We have stayed at this hotel before and it was just as good this time around.

Very friendly and efficient staff.Good food and a near perfect room. Certainly come again when visiting the area.

  • terence hulme

  • September 2015

My late rooms experience at the shepherds rest

I would definitely recommend you to my friends and family.

  • David K

  • July 2015


Easy to find, near major road, not too much road noise.

Room large and well set out. Bar basic but good. Did not eat in restaurant, but would if visited again. Breakfast very good. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • B Irving

  • May 2015

Good location for visiting family and friends

We have used the Shepherds hotel before and will continue to use it.

Its a good location for us visiting family and friends

  • D Watts

  • March 2015

friendly service from the staff, and well looked after

  • A Davis

  • January 2015

Value for money

Excellent value for money, Friendly, polite and helpful staff.

Room was clean and warm. The food was very good. Hot and plenty of it. Will most definitely stay there again, highly recommended.


  • December 2014

decent hotel

Good hotel, Central Location and nice,helpful enthusiastic staff.

A decent hotel after a long journey south.

  • david waterfall-brown

  • November 2014

A welcome place to stay.

No complaints.

Wonderful to find a room with a decent sized TV, which is a rarity!. I would stay here again.

  • Nicola s

  • November 2014

Great room , friendly and helpful staff, dog friendly .

Will go out of their way to help. The Breakfasts are top quality, perfect eggs , thick bacon and lots of toast, from a Chefs point of view can 't fault it.