No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shepherds Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Egremont Road, Cockermouth, CA13 0QX
Modern hotel,ideally situated to explore the lake district.Also greatlocation in Cumbria for people on business trips.
Pets most welcome. Excellent on site free car parking.
Picture of Shepherds Hotel, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour of the Lakes, cheap but still excellent
We were on a business trip in the lakes over a couple of days and basically just needed somewhere to sleep for the night so at the price we were not really expecting a lot but we were delighted.
The room was spotless, large, good tv, large bed, well furnished, great condition and the shower...oh wow...it was a amazing! Power shower and a half. Just what I needed after a long drive!
Dinner was very good and reasonable priced and the breakfast was more than enough to keep us going until near 3pm. The service was friendly, plenty parking. We would use again

Reviewed by
brian f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We booked this hotel at the last minute & we were very happy with the accommodation. The room was spacious & clean, the staff were very friendly & helpful. The price at £69 a room including breakfast was excellent value for money, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
A Hughes

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Clean and very quiet room. Comfortable beds. Dining room was a little dark, felt it needed better lighting but apart from that overall stay was very good. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Irene C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious, clean room. Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Colin H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value decor tired but clean the meal we had was very good

Reviewed by
R Catterall

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at shepherds hotel..
Room was fine but had a cracked sink & large iron burn in room carpet.Receptionist was very abrupt on arrival.Food was fine.Was surprised on departure to be told my bank account had been debited for our stay when our intention was to settle in cash.hotel on a par with Premier inn & superior to Travelodge.

Reviewed by
T CARR

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Shepherd Experience
A lovely hotel that is run by a great team. They were all helpful and considerate. Although my stay was with a work colleague I would not hesitate to bring my wife and family back here in the near future

Reviewed by
keith miller

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
No complaints which says it all. Food very good.

Reviewed by
Eric C

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel: great value and ace staff!
We stayed at the hotel as we attending a wedding in the area. From working into reception the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were great throughout our two night stay. The rooms are spotless with very comfy beds, tv with freeview, and the shower was better than mine at home! The restaurant/bar area was again spotless and the food was good and made with fresh ingredients. The prices at the bar were good value. The décor is dated but for £69 B&B all year round its just what you need. Defiantly would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
stephanie p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
Hotel was well positioned for walking and visiting local area, just a short walk into Cockermouth .Both rooms were a good size and very clean, staff were helpful and friendly,

Reviewed by
Lindsey C

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next