No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shepherds Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Egremont Road, Cockermouth, CA13 0QX
Modern hotel,ideally situated to explore the lake district.Also greatlocation in Cumbria for people on business trips.
Pets most welcome. Excellent on site free car parking.
Picture of Shepherds Hotel, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
No complaints which says it all. Food very good.

Reviewed by
Eric C

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel: great value and ace staff!
We stayed at the hotel as we attending a wedding in the area. From working into reception the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were great throughout our two night stay. The rooms are spotless with very comfy beds, tv with freeview, and the shower was better than mine at home! The restaurant/bar area was again spotless and the food was good and made with fresh ingredients. The prices at the bar were good value. The décor is dated but for £69 B&B all year round its just what you need. Defiantly would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
stephanie p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
Hotel was well positioned for walking and visiting local area, just a short walk into Cockermouth .Both rooms were a good size and very clean, staff were helpful and friendly,

Reviewed by
Lindsey C

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy knitters
We used this hotel because it was so close to the Woolfest being held this year. We were greeted quickly and assisted with our bags to our room. This was great, clean and just what we needed. The evening meal was really good and they got very busy. The staff were very hard working but had a good sense of humour too.
Our bed was nice an firm which made for a good sleep. Thank you to the staff on duty, we will be booking for next year very soon.

Reviewed by
Lesley Fay M

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Night Stay
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights while attending "WoolFest" in the nearby Livestock Mart. We found the staff very helpful and our room was clean and very comfortable,with a HUGE double bed. We had an evening meal both nights and we found the food to be well presented and good value for money. The service was excellent. We will use this Hotel again.

Reviewed by
C Glendinning

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
First time at the Shepherds Hotel. Thoroughly recommend. Staff very friendly. Food first class. Hopefully will stay again next year, same time, for Woolfest. Hope we can get a booking.

Reviewed by
jennifer barnett

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly pleased on arrival, great place for great price paid.
Will definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it to friends. Hoping to do the Lake District next year for a few days in different areas but will start with the Shepherds Hotel first.

Reviewed by
D TODD

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wi-fi reception very poor, reception not great for laptop and tablet.

Reviewed by
Alan Roberts

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay
Brilliant
The Manager is straight out of Faulty Towers (Majorca)
So attentive
The food was brilliant - complements to the Chef for the best mashed potatoes I have had in years
Thanks for a brilliant night

Reviewed by
i collier

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay in the heart of the lake district. Dogs welcome which is a bonus 10/10
Great staff, good food and fur-babies are welcome too. Really clean and tidy hotel. Great staff, really accommodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
Craig T

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next