No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wyle Cop , Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY
In the very heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury, the Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical
comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly welcome and wonderfully traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer.

Our range of bedrooms include standard double, twins and singles through to suites, each with their own unique character which includes all the
facilities you would expect.

The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local
ingredients. The Oak Bar is open all day for teas & coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value evening dining.

The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for
events or weddings.

Free WiFi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel.

Secure parking is available on-site for guests at the charge of £5.00 per car per night.
Picture of The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Travellor
Hotel in the heart of Shrewsbury, close to all amenities, car park at rear with reduced rates for hotel guests. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room radiators can be controlled by you. Room clean, warm and positively charming. The history of hotel fascinating so read the guest pack. Fantastic real fire in bar which provided me with an opportunity to relax at the end of the days work. Staff very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Will recommend to colleagues.

Reviewed by
John Davies

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lion hotel shrewsbury
Nice room, staff cheerful and very helpful. Good location in town. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew Edwards

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and Warm
My second one night stay in a month, and just as enjoyable as the first. Very charming hotel in the heart of town, helpful staff, clean, warm room, excellent shower, lovely breakfast, and on site parking for £5 per stay....what's not to like? A bargain at £55 B&B.

Reviewed by
David Blythin

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Great hotel and staff, excellent for Shrewsbury and steeped in history.

Reviewed by
P Ellson

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
Food ordered not available shower broke breakfast could ahve been better bathroom not up to standard.

Reviewed by
j burgwin

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean and perfectly adequate for a weekend of christmas shopping. The shower on the friday night was hot and powerful, however the saturday night water unfortunately was only luke warm from the shower so had to have a bath but made a nice change. The ambience of the place was welcoming and warm, and the breakfast plentiful. Only slight downside as people have commented before was the squeaking floorboards in the room, corridor and the room above us and you could hear the conversation from the room above. However in a hotel of this age it is to be expected and nothing that couldn't be overcome with ear plugs. On the whole a good stay

Reviewed by
Dawn E

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Creaky floorboards
As the title says, every room near mine had creaky floorboards and even though when nodding off sounded that someone was in the room with me, so that could be a little annoying for some. it was worst early morning when you have early risers but other than that it was okay

Reviewed by
G Taylor

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable and pleasant stay
Very convenient for the town.

Reviewed by
Sandra Russell

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
A very nice place to stay with a clean room. Loved the character the hotel had and liked the creaky floors. Room was very warm and the bed was very comfy. The lift was a little noisy but due to it shutting down through sleeping hours this was not a problem, which showed great caring to guests in my opinion. The only fault with the room - and I'm being picky - was that the bath plug wasn't the best fit so lost a little water. Also as I parked in the back car park, the incline is rather steep and due to my car being a little low, I did catch something at the back of the car on the incline when it suddenly flattened out. However, I would stay here again without question.

Reviewed by
A Adams

From Dinbych, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel really friendly staff
The hotel has lots of charm and the staff are really friendly. We didn't like the fact we had to pay to park in the hotel car park, nor the supplements for breakfast. Our table for breakfast still had toast crumbs from the previous guest and a tea stain so they need to improve in this area, however they were very busy but still polite and friendly and this certainly wouldn't put us off staying there again, we really enjoyed our stay and loved the central location of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next