No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wyle Cop , Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY
In the very heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury, the Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical
comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly welcome and wonderfully traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer.

Our range of bedrooms include standard double, twins and singles through to suites, each with their own unique character which includes all the
facilities you would expect.

The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local
ingredients. The Oak Bar is open all day for teas & coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value evening dining.

The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for
events or weddings.

Free WiFi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel.

Secure parking is available on-site for guests at the charge of £5.00 per car per night.
Picture of The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Creaky floorboards
As the title says, every room near mine had creaky floorboards and even though when nodding off sounded that someone was in the room with me, so that could be a little annoying for some. it was worst early morning when you have early risers but other than that it was okay

Reviewed by
G Taylor

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable and pleasant stay
Very convenient for the town.

Reviewed by
Sandra Russell

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
A very nice place to stay with a clean room. Loved the character the hotel had and liked the creaky floors. Room was very warm and the bed was very comfy. The lift was a little noisy but due to it shutting down through sleeping hours this was not a problem, which showed great caring to guests in my opinion. The only fault with the room - and I'm being picky - was that the bath plug wasn't the best fit so lost a little water. Also as I parked in the back car park, the incline is rather steep and due to my car being a little low, I did catch something at the back of the car on the incline when it suddenly flattened out. However, I would stay here again without question.

Reviewed by
A Adams

From Dinbych, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel really friendly staff
The hotel has lots of charm and the staff are really friendly. We didn't like the fact we had to pay to park in the hotel car park, nor the supplements for breakfast. Our table for breakfast still had toast crumbs from the previous guest and a tea stain so they need to improve in this area, however they were very busy but still polite and friendly and this certainly wouldn't put us off staying there again, we really enjoyed our stay and loved the central location of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it quite and comfortable

Reviewed by
A Wright

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
never been to Shrewsbury before, what a wonderful place,,
our hotel was placed in a great location, reception staff very pleasant and friendly
the room 101, is of course an old room, so the floor sloped ect.. all added to a comfy room
the restaurant was lovely, very friendly atmosphere, staff excellent... food was to die for, the chef is amazing !!.... I strongly recommend the Lion Hotel, and will be sure to come back.

Reviewed by
R Clarke

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The hotel is close to all amenities and has a lot of character (including creaking floorboards).

Reviewed by
Maureen S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Great location lovely room,Asked for champagne on arrival and it was there with 2 glasses.
Breakfast was small but tasty.Hotel is full of character and has own parking 24hrs for £5 which is perfect as parking can be difficult.

Reviewed by
carl gray

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel
Lovely place to stay, clean and OLD. Friendly staff were able to answer all my questions and point me to everything I needed during my stay. Due to the age of the building ALL the floorboards creak and the occassional hum of plumbing can also be heard, but I think this is to be expected ... there is a Premier Inn round the corner if you want a characterless stay, but if you like to rub shoulders with the memories of Dickens and Darwin, I would recommend the Lion. Watch out for the tiny car park! Although there is plenty of parking nearby.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central located hotel in shrewsbury .

Reviewed by
dean f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next