No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wyle Cop , Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY
In the very heart of the beautiful historic town of Shrewsbury, the Lion Hotel combines stunning 16th Century architecture with every classical
comfort. Famous for its warm and friendly welcome and wonderfully traditional character, the hotel is perfectly situated to enable guests to enjoy all that this unique area has to offer.

Our range of bedrooms include standard double, twins and singles through to suites, each with their own unique character which includes all the
facilities you would expect.

The Hayward Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers a quintessentially British menu with a few subtle twists, using fresh local
ingredients. The Oak Bar is open all day for teas & coffees, homemade cakes, healthy light bites, delicious lunches and exceptional value evening dining.

The hotel has a number of outstanding function rooms including the magnificent domed Adam Ballroom; creating a very special atmosphere for
events or weddings.

Free WiFi is available in the bar and lounge areas of the hotel.

Secure parking is available on-site for guests at the charge of £5.00 per car per night.
Picture of The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
never been to Shrewsbury before, what a wonderful place,,
our hotel was placed in a great location, reception staff very pleasant and friendly
the room 101, is of course an old room, so the floor sloped ect.. all added to a comfy room
the restaurant was lovely, very friendly atmosphere, staff excellent... food was to die for, the chef is amazing !!.... I strongly recommend the Lion Hotel, and will be sure to come back.

Reviewed by
R Clarke

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The hotel is close to all amenities and has a lot of character (including creaking floorboards).

Reviewed by
Maureen S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Great location lovely room,Asked for champagne on arrival and it was there with 2 glasses.
Breakfast was small but tasty.Hotel is full of character and has own parking 24hrs for £5 which is perfect as parking can be difficult.

Reviewed by
carl gray

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central located hotel in shrewsbury .

Reviewed by
dean f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel
Lovely place to stay, clean and OLD. Friendly staff were able to answer all my questions and point me to everything I needed during my stay. Due to the age of the building ALL the floorboards creak and the occassional hum of plumbing can also be heard, but I think this is to be expected ... there is a Premier Inn round the corner if you want a characterless stay, but if you like to rub shoulders with the memories of Dickens and Darwin, I would recommend the Lion. Watch out for the tiny car park! Although there is plenty of parking nearby.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I liked The Lion Hotel with its large room and impressive bedroom furniture and decoration. However my wife was not too impressed as she found everything quite shabby and not as clean as she liked.
We were in a room on the first floor and not only did our floors and furniture creak, the floor in the room above creaked every time anyone moved. We were told it was a yoga class! It didn't finish till about 11pm and started again before 8am. We did notice that everywhere we went in the hotel creaked!
The chap on reception was brilliant and very informative about the local area. He pointed out a local pub for us and we had a smashing night at their quiz night.
The food and service were very good and the bath nice.


Reviewed by
Philip W

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service,you can work a bit more on food.

Reviewed by
Dorin P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lion
Great service, excellent evening meal. Breakfast, plenty of choice. The rooms need a little work on them. Great staff.

Reviewed by
J Shaw

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
After reading previous reviews about this hotel it was exactly what I'd expected.It's an old building so creaky floor boards etc, but I thought in reasonable condition.
I had booked 3 nights so clicked on the "Offers" button and got them for a price of £198.90 for a double B&B which I thought was good value for money.
Just a couple of gripes,I stayed in room 119 and both I and the wife found the bed very soft but cosy (we ended up in a heap in the middle because of such a soft mattress) and the other being that we thought the bar was poorly stocked.
Overall we found it an enjoyable stay and would recommend it, and it's location so close to the town center.

Reviewed by
Adrian Jewell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel is in the middle of town so it was ideal for sight-seeing around the town.

Reviewed by
Sandra B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next