Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Sidmouth Hotels > Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MANOR ROAD , SIDMOUTH, EX10 8RU
If Sidmouth is referred to as the 'Jewel of the Westcountry', then Westcliff must be the 'Jewel of Sidmouth'.Few hotels in Devon can offer the charm and character that you will find at The Westcliff.

Whatever your requirements, you can be sure that we will provide a room to suit your needs. There is a wide range from which to choose. When you book your bedroom, you can be sure that your room will be of a high standard.

With so much more to offer, we welcome everyone to come and enjoy good food, great service and incredible views over the sea.

Our restaurant, overlooking the bay, is open every day for breakfast and dinner. The terrace is usually open from Easter until the end of September, where in warm weather, you can enjoy drinks and bar food at lunchtime and sun downers in the evening from the bar.
Picture of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff , SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good short break
Stayed in one of the lovely new courtyard rooms, which are beautifully fitted out and comfortable. They don't have a good view as our room overlooked one of Sidmouth's car parks and the back of the hotel but as we don't spend a lot of time in the room, it didn't matter. Hotel and facilities are very good, service good and breakfast lovely. We would go back.

Reviewed by
J Clarke

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior stay
we had a lovely room on the second floor with views out to sea and from the side balcony all the way down the front to Beer. the beds were large and comfy with plenty of space in wardrobe and drawers. the swimming pool was great, especially if you are the only one in, and the breakfast was fab - the best chocolate croissants I've had in a hotel (but you have to nab them quick!)

Reviewed by
K Larwood

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
/

Reviewed by
M Widdowson

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sidmouth harbour hotel
very friendly, good service, swimming pool a bonus, putting green needs mowing., garden well kept and relaxing atmosphere

Reviewed by
RICHARD THOMAS

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indifferent evening meal and problems with parking
The hotel is located in a lovely position and our room had a sea view. The staff were helpful and willing but there were a couple of things which were unsatisfactory. We felt that the evening meal was overpriced. The main course was lukewarm and the almond pavlova dessert was especially disappointing. It appeared to be a shop-bought meringue nest enhanced by a few almond flakes with the addition of cream, strawberries and syrup.
Secondly, we should have been notified well in advance of our departure that the car park exit would be blocked for re-surfacing. Guests were inconvenienced by having to wait for an hour after booking out before they could leave.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From STRATFORD UPON AVON, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel. We stayed in the outer buildings which seemed very new. Lovely large bathroom. Only one thing to complain about was the fact that we couldn't open the window and there was no instructions on how to use the heater/air conditioning unit. Luckily it wasn't too hot when we were there. We eat in the restaurant for an evening meal just once as it was very expensive.

Reviewed by
Barry J

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel in nice location
This was a pleasant hotel with very friendly staff. The room was good value for the price. The bathroom was a little dated bit was clean. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Robert J

From Axbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
overall experience was good, room was lovely although we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise, breakfast was good, dissapointed by the lack of vegetarian options for the evening meal, so did not eat in the restruant.

Reviewed by
Mary Dodwell

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Seaside Break!
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and could not do enough. The pool was a massive bonus - I used it on both days of my stay and practically had the pool to myself! Everything was clean and well presented. I was pleasantly surprised at the stunning view from my room, having read on the website that the single rooms face inland. The sea view was spectacular.
The only slight negatives were that the room service I ordered for breakfast was late on two days and didn't always get what I asked for. For example brown toast instead of white, and no fresh milk. However I did not mention this at the time. Had I of mentioned this I have no doubts it would haven rectified immediately.
The other thing was the parking. Although there is parking available at the hotel, this was often full particularly if you go out during the day. The hotel reimburses parking charges for using the car park opposite which would be fine however in the height of summer on a boiling day, I had to spend 30 minutes doing laps of the car park before finding a space which I found quite stressful! Once the building works at the hotel are complete I have no doubt the parking situation will improve.
Overall though I really enjoyed my stay. It was very relaxing and I look forward to staying again in the future.

Reviewed by
M Crocker

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely Hotel in a beautiful location.
A very nice clean hotel the staff were very helpful
and were willing to make your stay more enjoyable
A beautiful location .

Reviewed by
Colin Sturgess

From CAMBERLEY, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next