Reviews - Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff



Price From 136.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul N

  • October 2015

Friendly, comfortable, good value, stylish taste of luxury

We enjoyed our two night stay and will stay again.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with everything you need. We stayed on the bed, breakfast and evening meal option and would recommend this to others as the food was very good, with enough choice and the option of selecting from the main menu at a supplement if desired. Hotel is well situated with an easy walk to the beach and the town centre. Good area to stay for lovely walks and a beautiful coast.

  • W Hunter

  • October 2015

Overnight stay in Sidmouth Harbour Hotel

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff pleasant and helpful.

There were plenty of parking spaces available. The room was nicely decorated however it was on the small side for a double room and there was not a lot of space to put our cases, which made moving around the room a bit difficult. Otherwise a nice stay.

  • Howard & Trish D

  • October 2015

Sidmouth Harbour Building Site

The staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating, but unfortunately the true facts are the hotel is a building site, complete with site workers walking through the hotel regularly.

We'd read about this in previous reviews but had not appreciated how much it would affect our stay. Our first room was very small, lovely decor but very cold, no heating on, towel rail off, windows not shutting, kept awake until midnight with next rooms TV couldn't get through to reception, so had to knock on the door, they kindly turned it down, no wi fi in rooms, we left a complete snagging list with reception. On the following evening we were moved to the court yard; again really lovely decor, but cold, we turned up the heating dial and maintenance had to arrive to switch towel rail on. Then the bath flooded. Sadly the lack of sound proofing is a challenge both in the 1st room and the court yard too. £270 for diner, bed and breakfast for two nights then doesn't become appealing Im afraid, our lesson is that when you feel you are getting a bargain reality is there's a catch. As I previously mentioned and wish to say again the staff were good, the owners and Directors of The Harbour Hotels need to think about how they've managed the refurbishment programme, and how the interior designer's work is actually creating challenges, especially in the first room we were in. Sidmouth has some exceptionally good hotels, bed and breakfasts too, its a fabulous sea side town, we visit regularly during the summer, therefore we will be returning but not to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel Im afraid and thats a real shame.

  • Christine Haddrell

  • September 2015

We loved everything about this hotel .

The staff were helpful, the room was beautiful with every comfort.

  • Whitfield Ann

  • September 2015

Great stay .

From start the staff made us very welcome and food great.

  • Erica S

  • July 2015

Nice room, shame about the service

We booked a luxury courtyard room, hoping that we could feel a little spoiled on an overnight stay.

The room was very comfortable and stylishly furnished, but overlooked the backside of the hotel and the noisy and busy dustbin/delivery area - luxury. In spite of this, we had a good night's sleep and were looking forward to breakfast - after all, we were paying £18.50 per head for it, it had to be good, right. Sadly, this is where it all fell apart. We arrived fairly early, were greeted in a rather unfriendly way and told we could sit where we liked at a table for two and definitely were not permitted to sit at a vacant window table set for three. Fruit and cereal buffet was badly managed with fruit salad bowls sitting empty and open dishes of cereal going stale. Toast was cold and at least an hour old, coffee was muddy and the very ordinary "Full English" was similarly cold. A replacement of poached eggs on toast arrived quickly, but was garnished with a stout hair. Dining room staff seemed inadequately trained, maitre d' was rude and completely unable to deal with service and the problems coming out of the kitchen. An appalling experience, worthy of an episode of Fawlty Towers.

A few nicely dressed rooms does NOT make a luxury hotel. SERVICE is number one priority and that's what's missing here. We did not pay for breakfast and will definitely not be returning.

  • Vyrnwy S

  • May 2015

Spring stsy

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, nice restaurant and lounge.

Few minutes walk to the centre of Sidmouth

  • Ron Morrall

  • May 2015

room 107 thin walls could hear next room talking.

we were first sitting we waited 25 mins for breakfast.

one of the reasons for this was that residents that came in well after us despite the fact our order was taken first. Bar staff and reception were very good. Despite the negatives we would be happy to return.

  • J Downing

  • April 2015

Fantastic stay with attention to detail

loved our stay at the westcliff.

A very modern room with everything we needed and more.

  • Paul B

  • February 2015

Complimentary Upgrade wnderful room

Loved the hotel, room, food very good and the staff very helpful