Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Sidmouth Hotels > Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MANOR ROAD , SIDMOUTH, EX10 8RU
If Sidmouth is referred to as the 'Jewel of the Westcountry', then Westcliff must be the 'Jewel of Sidmouth'.Few hotels in Devon can offer the charm and character that you will find at The Westcliff.

Whatever your requirements, you can be sure that we will provide a room to suit your needs. There is a wide range from which to choose. When you book your bedroom, you can be sure that your room will be of a high standard.

With so much more to offer, we welcome everyone to come and enjoy good food, great service and incredible views over the sea.

Our restaurant, overlooking the bay, is open every day for breakfast and dinner. The terrace is usually open from Easter until the end of September, where in warm weather, you can enjoy drinks and bar food at lunchtime and sun downers in the evening from the bar.
Picture of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff , SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

January visit
Hotel very central- 5 mins walk from town. Very close to Jacobs ladder and Connaught Gardens- lovely places to explore.
Room good size with balcony, great views. Only issue was the shower- very lacklustre so disappointing.
Breakfast very tasty.
Lovely touch as visit was for my husbands birthday and they left a card and chocolate- much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Gerry H

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good accomodation
The only comment relates to the bath layout. A shower screen would improve usage

Reviewed by
B Phillips

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel,staff were very helpful and friendly.Would definitely consider staying here again.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish seasde haven
The decor and ambience of the hotel is wonderful. The colours are taseful and restful. The room was super with a seaview and small balcony. Extremely courteous staff and excellent food. We just wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
D Tomkins

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Discounted Room
Have graded value for money as 4 on the basis that the room was discounted from 210GBP to 80GBP. Had I been paying the 210 I would have rated this 1. Part refurb. Windows grotty, Bed heads from the 1970s etc. Pointless art prints rejected from charity shop apparently. Kettle noticeably dirty. Beds weirdly soft and bouncy. I could go on.
Complained three years ago. Received many mail shots from Harbour, looked better on paper. No better. Building site in grounds would suggest new build. Guess this could be ok in time.
Good staff. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
S Dormand

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No atmosphere
Staff ok,but evening snooze job

Reviewed by
Michael Drew

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Room was smaller than expected, so quite disappointed. Room seemed a little dusty and the bath water after a shower was not emptying - plug blocked with hair. Perhaps room not been allocated for a while.
However, enjoyed our stay as needed a rest and the staff really were superb. Had intended to eat out in the evening, but as tired, ate in restaurant first night and enjoyed it so much, ate there every night.

Reviewed by
H Hogg

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
I have been taking my mother, now 85, to the Westcliff for many years. It is in an ideal location close to the lovely Connaught Gardens, having seaviews and only a short stroll down to the centre of Sidmouth. The food is of the highest qualityand the individual needs of the guests being well catered for. The staff are welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The house keeping of the bedroom was of a very high standard and was always completed by the time we returned to the room after breakfast. The young lady, Felicity, who serviced our room was extremely friendly and helpful to us both. The building work that is being carried out at the moment did not impact on the enjoyment of our stay and when completed will proved more bedrooms and car parking.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Jones

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - will be even better when building works are completed
Very welcoming & competent staff. We ate an excellent meal in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival. Hotel is somewhat 'tired' and I expect this is due to the building works being carried out presently to create an additional 20 or so rooms and assume the whole hotel will be refurbished as part of these works. The hotel position is lovely with great views around the bay and pretty seafront of Sidmouth

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Farnham Common, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room on the ground floor. Had a lot of fun with our 6 year old in the pool and playing putting golf. Would come again.

Reviewed by
Suzanne A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next