Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Sidmouth Hotels > Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MANOR ROAD , SIDMOUTH, EX10 8RU
If Sidmouth is referred to as the 'Jewel of the Westcountry', then Westcliff must be the 'Jewel of Sidmouth'.Few hotels in Devon can offer the charm and character that you will find at The Westcliff.

Whatever your requirements, you can be sure that we will provide a room to suit your needs. There is a wide range from which to choose. When you book your bedroom, you can be sure that your room will be of a high standard.

With so much more to offer, we welcome everyone to come and enjoy good food, great service and incredible views over the sea.

Our restaurant, overlooking the bay, is open every day for breakfast and dinner. The terrace is usually open from Easter until the end of September, where in warm weather, you can enjoy drinks and bar food at lunchtime and sun downers in the evening from the bar.
Picture of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff , SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 22 is small - and has a very small 'double' bed which was very, very uncomfortable on one of the hottest nights of the year.
En suite was superb and had many surfaces to use for bits and pieces.
Maitre d was efficient and amusing - 10 out of 10!

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
This is a lovely hotel with a wonderful position overlooking the sea at Sidmouth. The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. Staff were very friendly and service was good. We only had breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on food generally. Breakfast was nicely presented and what you would expect in this type of hotel but not amazing.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away Day
Hotel appeared a little old fashioned from the outside. Public rooms rather "chintzy" but spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice grounds and gardens with putting green and small outdoor pool which we did not use but which looked fine. Great views along the bay - better than those from the 4star hotels slightly nearer the town. Parking ok but could be better.
Our room on the second floor was a revelation - recently re-furbished and modernised to a high almost boutique standard. Small balcony and great views from patio windows along the coast. Well furnished and supplied - could not fault.
Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food very good and well presented. Staff very helpful and courteous. Were very busy and service a little slow but acceptable. Not overly expensive.
Clientele when we stayed principally in the "over sixty" bracket - as were we! and seems to cater best for this demographic!

Reviewed by
J Harrison

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming to a single traveller. Every comfort provided and would certainly use again.

Reviewed by
M Worsell

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beds too bouncy
The hotel was very good and we had a nice view of the sea. Main problem was difficult to sleep on very bouncy beds. Sidmouth very quiet, nothing to do at night but drink!!!

Reviewed by
Sylvia M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A special holiday
The hotel was able to offer us everything we needed, with very helpful staff, an excellent resteraunt.

Reviewed by
Whittaker owen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break.
The hotel and Sidmouth were good, clean, cumfortable and very English. This will be a perfect location for a summer holiday. As it was the rain in Sidmouth was far warmer than the snow the rest of the country was having. i will return.

Reviewed by
P HUGHES

From CAMBERLEY, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and also the food. An excellent position overlooking the bay.
Staff were excellent, would certainly recommend for the mature person.

Reviewed by
M Durston

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sidmouth Harbour Hotel was lovely. The best part about the stay was the bed; it was huge! The hotel iteself is quite old fashioned but very sweet. Everything was clean and tidy. The staff were helpful, and had good recommendaions for places to eat nearby. The hotel's location is also very good, a 5 minute walk to the beach and good restaurants.

Reviewed by
Sophie H

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent VFM
Only stayed one night but was very nice, clean hotel with helpful friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Nigel Beer

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next