No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Central Hotel

1Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
150 Barking Road, Upton Park, , London, E6 3BD
The Central is a basic, budget hotel, located in the East End of London. Guests at this hotel get to enjoy the benefit of being located above a traditional London pub. This atmospheric Victorian pub is a great place to soak up a real taste of the East End. You can relax with a drink or enjoy a game of pool or darts. Staying at The Central you will see a completely different side of London life, which contrasts dramatically with that of Kensington and Notting Hill.

The Central offers very basic accommodation and is therefore ideal for tourists and students who are travelling on a budget. Rates are considerably cheaper than those of more central hotels and transport links from Upton Park make travelling around East London easy, with train access to Central London. The majority of rooms are singles, but double, triple and twin rooms are also available. The Central is self-catering accommodation, so there is a well-equipped kitchen for saving money on meals.

The Central has a typical East London pub on the ground floor, which will give any tourist a true feeling of East London life and the inhabitants that live in this multi-national area. Why not have a pleasant evening in the pub or play the traditional games of darts or pool. You could also watch sports on the big screen. This comfortable hotel combines a peaceful location with a homely atmosphere, as well as easy access to central London. The Central also has a fully-equipped kitchen and shared bathroom facilities.

West Ham Football Ground is 2 min away from Hotel.
Picture of The Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
31% recommended this accommodation to a friend 34% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs refurbishing. Gaffa tape on carpets says it all. However Room was clean and reasonable cooked breakfast provided

Reviewed by
Peter E

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Star Trek Convention weekend
Excellent value for the money. The staff were polite and helpful and the cooked breakfast was great for the start of a long day on our feet.
My friend and I used the hotel for 3 nights for a Star Trek convention at the Excel in London. The hotel was a couple of minutes away from a bus stop and the 147 bus was a direct route to the excel and back to the hotel which made travel easy. Each bus journey was about 15-17 mins long.
The hotel is easy to find and is ideal for fans going to full weekend conventions at the excel and are on a limited budget.

Reviewed by
d quemard

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
Hotel was very basic..the carpeting on stairs was damaged and had been taped to cover holes...the room was very small...the bed was clean and very comfortable... The toilets were dirty which was down to people leaving them without flushing etc...the separate showers were ok and the water was hot...breakfast was a basic fry-up but was OK .. A short walk to underground and didn't take long to get to centre of London... All in all you get what you pay for

Reviewed by
Helen G

From Newmilns, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Staff was very helpful
Although this was a room only the internet in the room was not very helpul. The room had no TV although when asked for one this was given but was not able to change channels. Although the room had coffe , tea, cups, their was no kettle to make the drinks. As said the staff was very helfull and could not fault them.

Reviewed by
Tulsa M

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid this place if you can
The staff are brilliant but the accommodation is absolutely minging. The bedroom was dirty with wardrobe door hanging off, the bathroom was disgusting and the toilet had no hand soap or anything to dry your hands. The breakfast was cooked by the same lady who was cleaning the bogs in the pub!

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
I needed a room closeish to the Olympic park for RideLondon, fairly late notice- this was the cheapest and one of the few things available in a 5 mile radius - Facilities are shared, but room had kettle, microwave and tv. The sheets were clean.

Reviewed by
Heidi B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for us!
Would not stay here again. The bar staff were very friendly but the accommodation and facilities were awful. It was very cheap particularly for London but it was not clean and although we did attempt to stay for breakfast, we could not see this through, as the utensils were grimy and the service was awful. Sorry Central Hotel - not for us! Okay for anyone who just wants a bed for the night and prepared to overlook the surroundings

Reviewed by
I Earls

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap rate, can see why.
My friend and I chose this hotel for it's cheap rate for a one night stay and it's proximity to the o2 Arena (a couple of short tube rides away).
Our room came with a fridge (albeit not plugged in when we arrived), but curiously not other more obvious items you'd hope to find in a hotel room such as a hair dryer, or even a kettle (despite the basketful of tea and coffee items we had been provided). I imagine those items might have been available on request, however I found it peculiar they weren't provided to begin with.
There was also a small box which I could only imagine was a mouse trap/poison box hidden in a corner between one of the beds and the wall, which was a little disconcerting. Beds were good although the room was a little warm and it was slightly challenging trying to get to sleep.
For the money spent, I suppose we got what we paid for, and if you're on a budget and just needing a one night stay, it's probably ideal. However in future, my friend and I agreed we'd probably be more likely to spend a little more cash for a hotel that would provide a few more creature comforts and quality.

Reviewed by
Timo W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

West Ham Fan
You get what you pay for with this place, Being a westham fan i love the area, so i just wanted a place for the night, so i could go out for the day and have a few beers to many in the area. Staff are very friendly, and the beer is good, but the hotel in basic. a bed , wardrobe, and a microwave. It was everything me and my nephew needed, , ill say it again though, very basic.

Reviewed by
S Martin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was great for the price, but can be way too loud when the locals arrive at the pub.
Hotel was really good for the price and only 25 mins away from the London excel (comic con) which was the reason for our trip to London for the whole weekend. The hotel/pub was great Friday and Saturday night as you could rest after a long day at the excel but when Sunday came it became really lively and loud from locals and the music was on full and me and my friend could not sleep until it ended (3 in the morning) and we had to be up for 6 to catch our train from London Euston. The beds weren't very comfortable you are only provided with one flat pillow. Other than that everything else was good. Staff were very friendly and happy to help.

Reviewed by
A Beardsmore

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next