You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Central Hotel

1

150 Barking Road, Upton Park,, London, E6 3BD

Price From 113.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (16)

19% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John H

  • April 2016

Great if you enjoy heavy bass lines and rattling Windows!

Firstly I don't normally bother reviewing these places as I use laterooms a lot and frankly my requirements are pretty low.

I'm self employed so cost is often the overriding factor so 'contractor' type accommodation is generally fine as long as I can get my head down I'm not that fussy. I knew this wasn't the type of place I'd want to take a partner for a weekend away, it was a room above a pub close to West Ham Utd and as I was working there the next day and wanted to watch the football on tv that night and have a glass of wine this place seemed ideal, and it was........until I wanted to go to sleep. For most of the evening the pub was dead and the lady who served me was lovely it has to be said but alarm bells should have rang when I saw a massive PA system being sack barrowed in. Sure enough the music started up in an adjoining room but didn't seem that bad from the bar but on going up to my room approx 11.30pm it became apparent that the rooms were directly above the function room holding the club night, the bass was so heavy it shook the windows in the manner of a max power era Nova. Turns out this was on till 2am, the lady behind the bar did try to move me with no questions ask did try and get the bass reduced but to no avail.

Overall it's cheap, grotty but friendly and above a nice enough pub, I guess if you're working in the area Monday-Friday and want to save money it'd be fine but I'd swerve it on a weekend if you've got an early start.

  • Britta H

  • November 2015

What you can expect for a cheap hotel

The hotel/pub was worn ...

and the room had not seen paint for a long time. But the toilet and the bed sheets were clean, which was a good thing.

All in all what you can expect for a cheap hotel. Not the big surprises, so not so disappointed. The only really bad thing was a squeaky pub sign right outside the window, which kept us awake at night ... REALLY annoying when you are trying to sleep.

  • darren w

  • October 2015

Rooms are clean, but was really hot though in the middle of the night.

Avoid room 28 has cockroaches !. Also no breakfast, we stayed on 2 seperate opccasions and there is no one at all in the pub in the morning, so no way of checking out or getting any breakfast. Avoid the place if you can.

  • Paul R

  • May 2015

Clean, Friendly, Easy going and Authentic Old British pub

Prior to arrival, telephone enquiries dealt with prompt and friendly.

On arrival it was a quiet day but this will vary especially around West Ham football fixtures. Very polite and friendly lady behind the bar, did a walk through of facilities and breakfast arrangements. To be honest I was there about half our altogether and back out to explore London once my bag was unpacked in the room. Room was clean and tidy with kettle, tea, coffee and flat screen TV. 2 towels nicely folded (nice touch) and bed was comfortable (at least for the 5 hours I was actually in it). Now this is an old place so although clean, don't expect flashy decor, curtains, carpets etc. All water needs to be got from the bathroom down the hall for the kettle (easy enough) and take your towel from the room if you go to the loo as no drying facility in there (More hygienic in my opinion). It seemed there was one lady doing everything in the morning from bottling up, washing up and serving breakfast so the "Full" English breakfast of a sausage, bacon, beans, egg and toast was kinda lukewarm and I presume prepared on mass a little while before it was served but with Orange juice/Coffee available too it all tasted good to me especially the sausage. Included in the £56 price for a twin room this was good value all in all. Can't say about pub noise because it was shut when I got home. Fan outside on air con makes a bit of a racket but OK if you shut the windows. Location and transport links excellent.

  • keira m

  • April 2015

The Central Hotel

All the staff were lovely and it was only a 15 minute walk to the tube station in one direction or 10 minutes to the highstreet in the other so it was a handy location.

The Bathrooms were all very clean but the kitchen and the Bedrooms weren't really.I think they need to get more cleaners on a rota so that things remain clean . aiaf youre staying here i recommend taking your own towel/dressing gown/slippers and some antibacterial wipes to make it more comfortable.

  • N Khanam

  • January 2015

Disappointed

We arrived and there was a few papers to sign and payment didn't go through so had to pay by cash, there after we went to our room it was okayish until we saw a lot of dust and spider web which is filthy, due to being new years eve the pub downstairs was open till 6 am and couldnt sleep due to the noise music and bass, so we had no sleep through out the night and we went to aleep after we got home as check out was 11am, paying £65 for the riom wasn't worth the money the toilet wasn't cleaned, flish didn't work properly, pillow was old and flat, mattress is old and gave back pain as the springs of the bed was coming out, no customer service or assistant around, walls all cracked and wall paints are coming off, overall me and my partner wasn't happy and satisfied with the amount we paid.

  • Peter E

  • November 2014

Hotel needs refurbishing.

Gaffa tape on carpets says it all. However Room was clean and reasonable cooked breakfast provided

  • d quemard

  • October 2014

Star Trek Convention weekend

Excellent value for the money.

The staff were polite and helpful and the cooked breakfast was great for the start of a long day on our feet.

My friend and I used the hotel for 3 nights for a Star Trek convention at the Excel in London. The hotel was a couple of minutes away from a bus stop and the 147 bus was a direct route to the excel and back to the hotel which made travel easy. Each bus journey was about 15-17 mins long.

The hotel is easy to find and is ideal for fans going to full weekend conventions at the excel and are on a limited budget.

  • Helen G

  • September 2014

you get what you pay for

Hotel was very basic..the carpeting on stairs was damaged and had been taped to cover holes...the room was very small...the bed was clean and very comfortable...

The toilets were dirty which was down to people leaving them without flushing etc...the separate showers were ok and the water was hot...breakfast was a basic fry-up but was OK .. A short walk to underground and didn't take long to get to centre of London... All in all you get what you pay for

  • Tulsa M

  • September 2014

The Staff was very helpful

Although this was a room only the internet in the room was not very helpul.

The room had no TV although when asked for one this was given but was not able to change channels. Although the room had coffe , tea, cups, their was no kettle to make the drinks. As said the staff was very helfull and could not fault them.