No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The County Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham Road , Walsall, WS1 2NG
Situated 1 mile from the centre of Walsall, you are sure of a warm welcome at The County. We are a small but friendly hotel with 40 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure you will not be disappointed. We serve meals 6 nights a week in our Lounge Bar. Rooms are sold on a Room Only basis but full breakfast is available for just £6.50.

The County now has free WIFI in all public areas and selected bedrooms.

The County is easy to find. Leave the M6 motorway at Junction 7, take the A34 to WALSALL. We are approximately 3.5 miles on the right hand side.

Please note at present we do not have ground floor rooms or a lift.

Picture of The County Hotel, Walsall at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County Hotel - Walsall
Excellent service, great value for money! Will be back again and will recommend to all.

Reviewed by
PHIL S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for convenience
Our room had a noisy air conditioning thing outside the window, as it was hit we had to have the window open and sleep was impossible. The sheet didn't fit on the bed so we were effectively lying on the mattress, the duvet was so heavy it was like lying under a brick wall.
We'll stay here again because it is local to family when we're visiting and it's better than the alternative, but it's not a pleasant experience!
Waited for over half an hour for our key when we arrived back at the hotel at midnight, I ended up going behind the reception desk to find it myself when a rather grumpy man asked me what I was doing. We ended up phoning the hotel from their reception to get the attention of a member of staff.

Reviewed by
Kate G

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough!
I needed a room at short notice and as cheap as possible. It proved to be very good value, big room, big shower! Big breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Geoff E

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great.

Reviewed by
LYDIA C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great.

Reviewed by
LYDIA C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated worn furniture spoilt the basic uncared for room with a cracked sink and damaged door.
Welcoming helpful staff but poor housekeeping spoilt the comfort of stay. Hall carpets were very dirty. Room was tidy but smelt. Room was basic and value for money but furniture was old and broken. We arranged to have breakfast but on arrival in the morning was told there was not enough. The staff did try to do everything to please and service was good. The hotel is lovely but is desperate for an update and tlc.

Reviewed by
N Butcher

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Walsall
I had a great time, hotel was nice, could do with being decorated, Staff were excellent!
Only downside, no remote for the Television.(Someone thought it was funny to steal them all)
Location was great, and plenty of parking!
Can't wait for my next visit to Walsall, thank you County!! :)

Reviewed by
David White

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
The hotel was clean & tidy and the staff friendly and polite.
Lots of leaflets/brochures available if you are visiting for more than a few days of places to go.
Would definetly stay here again

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here if you want to sleep
I stayed at the County because i was visiting family who lived nearby,i was warned it wasnt a "nice" hotel when i told them thats where i was staying but it looked okay on the website and it was so close to where i needed to be i just went for it.
The hotel looks okay from the outside,its on a busy main rad but the building is nice,the receptionist was friendly and my room was clean enough and it was modern-ish.
The only real problem i had was that it was just so loud,i stayed 2 nights and the first night people were just walking and running around,slamming doors,shouting,literally all night.I also heard the staff doing things like taking bins out (i assume)the walls are paper thin at this place.
The second night there was some kind of function on in the hotel,it was loud but that want too bad as it was finished by half twelve,but there was more running around,kids running through corridors,people fighting,and the people in the room above me were at it all night.I didnt get to sleep til 5am.
I would never stay at this hotel again, ig ot the feeling it is used by people as just somewhere to rest their head when they want to go out on the piss,its not somewhere to stay when you want to relax or get a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
kimberlee d

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Serves a purpose
Basic but clean. Staff are not the best organised, general confusion with check in and each time I specifically asked for a late room service (a service offered in the room pack) they turned up anyway! Everything else adequate.

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next