Reviews - The County Hotel


Birmingham Road, Walsall, WS1 2NG

Price From 103.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (53)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David R

  • November 2015

Two day/night weekend stay.

Reception staff were very good and apologetic, especially Glenys.

They acknowledged that the room was cold and tried to solve the heating problem - because unfortunately the room was very cold - it snowed the Friday evening and we felt it. The radiator near the door did not work, the other radiator was half-covered by the wardrobe. The heating was on a timer for early morning/late evening and we had to ask for it to be switched on. Even then it was not left on so the room chilled rapidly. No portable heater due to H+S regs. No light over the bathroom mirror and no replacement when we asked for it to be changed. The room was clean enough, towels clean, the bed was ok but the carpet was badly stained. Also, no food was available from Thursday to Monday evenings due to functions. Parking fine. Wi-Fi was good. OK for the short stay but spoilt by the lack of heating.

  • Dave C

  • November 2015


Only stayed there 1night, room was clean you have tea making facilities and not badly priced.

  • M Singh

  • November 2015

Value for money

It was not bad to stay in as it offered friendly customer service clean room and tea on arrival and the next day in the room but the negative point no iron board/iron in the room.

  • Malcolm Vasey

  • October 2015

County Hotel

Arrived late Saturday night car park full I parked safely and in no position to hamper others, was told I had to move it "now".

I refused and it was still in my position 10.30am next morning. the revellers who seem more important than guests gone. At my age I dont move my car to offsite parking at 11.00pm and I would rather cancel and go elsewhere. No hot water Monday morning. filthy carpet in room.

  • m bousfield

  • October 2015

A nice stay

Rooms were very nice and comfortable.

Well equipped and comfy bed. Wifi was poor at times.

  • Neil Wright

  • August 2015

The County Hotel

Great place to stay

  • Rachel G

  • April 2015


Started off well, is undergoing refurbishment, I can live with that.

Reception, warm welcome, nice lady... And that was the extent of anything nice. Very limited menu, burgers, deep fried breaded fish, unwelcoming restaurant/bar. Room very small with that awful dirty lived in feel. Showerhead filthy, courtesy body wash pre opened, no hair dryer and a very unwelcoming, lingering odour of old stale smoke. Super noisy, roadside room, completely over shadowed as the party kicked off!. I called to ask for the music to be turned down 3 times, I finally fell asleep 1.30 am, party still raving, staff leaving do. I was told.... It was my problem as my room was above the bar. Thanks, like I'd hand picked it myself. Rude late night staff, dirty awful place to stay. If I could have cancelled my payment I would have done...

  • J Aylward

  • March 2015

The County Hotel

Friendly helpful staff clean comfortable rooms and a great location for the motorway.

I Would defiantly use again.

  • david m

  • February 2015

The County Hotel

Excellent value all round.

Great value for money. continental breakfast included.

  • Bob B

  • February 2015

Very clean & comfortable, would stay there again