No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The County Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham Road , Walsall, WS1 2NG
Situated 1 mile from the centre of Walsall, you are sure of a warm welcome at The County. We are a small but friendly hotel with 40 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure you will not be disappointed. We serve meals 6 nights a week in our Lounge Bar. Rooms are sold on a Room Only basis but full breakfast is available for just £6.50.

The County now has free WIFI in all public areas and selected bedrooms.

The County is easy to find. Leave the M6 motorway at Junction 7, take the A34 to WALSALL. We are approximately 3.5 miles on the right hand side.

Please note at present we do not have ground floor rooms or a lift.

Picture of The County Hotel, Walsall at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service
Really enjoyed my stay.
Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Creaking pipes, strange noises
Basic room, which was ok, we just wanted somewhere to sleep. The room was freezing when we checked in - window was open, presumably to try to dispel the strong smell of smoke. The heating wasn't on either (December) When we did go to bed, we could hear the snoring from the room next door, when it wasn't drowned out by the jingling pipes! Not a very restful night!

Reviewed by
Penny W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Room was good but there was a function in hotel and hotel parking was full. I was then casually told that hotel has another car park- which was full as well. On asking again I was told to park opposite to shops or off street. Travelling from other city, parking was major attraction for me. I couldn't sleep until 0200 am due to noise

Reviewed by
K Mahmood

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
Chris Wilson

From Liss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Some minor electrical problems, hairdryer didn't work and extractor in bathroom didn't work...TV and kettle worked so I was happy.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Kington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a late review
The accomodation was fine.
Everything was OK.

Reviewed by
James L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy
Dont believe all you read on trip advisor, yes the room was basic in need of a bit of TLC but was clean and comfortable. Jusy weird having just a small window in the wierdest of places. Reception staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
j WILDING

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing and very basic
This hotel is very tired. We booked 2 rooms, they said only one. Put our friends in a room not much more than a cupboard which was next to the boiler. There was no wardrobe only hooks on the wall. Next day they managed to find the correct paperwork.
There was only one beer pump working out of about 7.

Reviewed by
Valerie N

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bla
bla bla bla

Reviewed by
A Hansford

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We Had an enjoyable stay at the County Hotel where the friendly staff went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed. They were also very informative and obliging. Would highly reccomend this accommodation!

Reviewed by
A McLachlan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next