No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The County Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham Road , Walsall, WS1 2NG
Situated 1 mile from the centre of Walsall, you are sure of a warm welcome at The County. We are a small but friendly hotel with 40 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure you will not be disappointed. We serve meals 6 nights a week in our Lounge Bar. Rooms are sold on a Room Only basis but full breakfast is available for just £6.50.

The County now has free WIFI in all public areas and selected bedrooms.

The County is easy to find. Leave the M6 motorway at Junction 7, take the A34 to WALSALL. We are approximately 3.5 miles on the right hand side.

Please note at present we do not have ground floor rooms or a lift.

Picture of The County Hotel, Walsall at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and great value
Should be more hotels like this one.

Reviewed by
A Roper

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County Hotel - Walsall
Excellent service, great value for money! Will be back again and will recommend to all.

Reviewed by
PHIL S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for convenience
Our room had a noisy air conditioning thing outside the window, as it was hit we had to have the window open and sleep was impossible. The sheet didn't fit on the bed so we were effectively lying on the mattress, the duvet was so heavy it was like lying under a brick wall.
We'll stay here again because it is local to family when we're visiting and it's better than the alternative, but it's not a pleasant experience!
Waited for over half an hour for our key when we arrived back at the hotel at midnight, I ended up going behind the reception desk to find it myself when a rather grumpy man asked me what I was doing. We ended up phoning the hotel from their reception to get the attention of a member of staff.

Reviewed by
Kate G

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough!
I needed a room at short notice and as cheap as possible. It proved to be very good value, big room, big shower! Big breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Geoff E

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for single room. About average
I only paid £30 for overnight stay, so cant complain. Reception is 24H, so good if you get in late.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great.

Reviewed by
LYDIA C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great.

Reviewed by
LYDIA C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated worn furniture spoilt the basic uncared for room with a cracked sink and damaged door.
Welcoming helpful staff but poor housekeeping spoilt the comfort of stay. Hall carpets were very dirty. Room was tidy but smelt. Room was basic and value for money but furniture was old and broken. We arranged to have breakfast but on arrival in the morning was told there was not enough. The staff did try to do everything to please and service was good. The hotel is lovely but is desperate for an update and tlc.

Reviewed by
N Butcher

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Walsall
I had a great time, hotel was nice, could do with being decorated, Staff were excellent!
Only downside, no remote for the Television.(Someone thought it was funny to steal them all)
Location was great, and plenty of parking!
Can't wait for my next visit to Walsall, thank you County!! :)

Reviewed by
David White

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
The hotel was clean & tidy and the staff friendly and polite.
Lots of leaflets/brochures available if you are visiting for more than a few days of places to go.
Would definetly stay here again

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next