No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dalston Hall Hotel,

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Dalston , Carlisle, CA5 7JX
A unique hotel nestling in the heart of the beautiful Cumbria, just 15 minutes yet a million miles away from the vibrant City of Carlisle, this magnificent Grade II listed hotel provides the finest luxury coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners and their team.The perfect place to stay... thirteen individually designed, lavishly furnished suites and bedrooms.The perfect choice for fine dining... exquisite cuisine complemented by a splendid cellar.The perfect choice for weddings and celebrations of all kinds, be they on a grand scale or rather more intimate.The perfect choice for business gatherings and conferences, with a choice of meeting rooms and full facilities available.Rolls-Royce & Bentley motor cars are available to collect guests from airports and rail stations the M6 motorway is just minutes away
Picture of Dalston Hall Hotel,, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Stayed here for our wedding night, the staff were so helpful, welcoming and made our time special. The food is divine, I am a fussy eater and the chef catered to my tastes. The room was very clean with everything that you could need.

Reviewed by
R Street

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old hotel,nice welcome by young lad on duty,we stayed in room 1 a superior room and we were not disappointed,large jacuzzi bath in bedroom and a shower in bathroom. Only problem was that we could hear air conditioner or something that was making a noise but it did not disturb us too much.
Nice food had massive steak for dinner and breakfast was good.Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
sharon t

From Nr Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend and staff brilliant

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel - could do with updating
We found the staff to be very pleasant, and overall we had a really nice time. The food was absolutely amazing. The only thing I would fault is the room. The room
Was quite tired, we stayed in room 4 and considering this is meant to be one of the better rooms in the hotel, it could really do with with improvements and updating . Other than that it was a lovely stay, John, the receptionist, barman, waiter was very helpful.

Reviewed by
Melissa Clarke

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic night away
My partner and I stayed here as a romantic night away.
With Laterooms email service I was able to contact the hotel before we got there and request a room with a bath. Upon arrival we were offered 2 rooms that were available with baths and John at the front desk took us to both rooms to have a look before making our decision. We stayed in an old style room that was absolutely beautiful with a window facing towards the back lawn.
As our stay was in the quiet time we decided to eat our Meal in the bar area in front of the open fire, this wasn't any trouble to the staff at all, although I wouldn't see it being a regular thing during peak times. all in all we had a great experience and enjoyed our stay.
There was only a few things that we felt could be a little better. When driving up to the building from the main road, its drive and first impression of the outside of the building didn't do it justice. We almost felt like we had arrived at the back entrance to the hotel with no clear signage directly outside the entrance door and also with the staff and owners cars parked there. We had recently got engaged we were going to have a little drink in our room before we went down to the bar for dinner but was told there was a £25 corkage charge if we wanted ice or glasses brought to our room. In larger hotels I can understand this but in this smaller country hotel we felt it was a bit excessive.
Other than these few little things we had a great time staying there and would recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
david s

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very nice hotel I would recommend to any one.

Reviewed by
Greg L

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and wonderful grounds. The location is not great for phone signal.
Beautiful setting and lovely rooms. the evening Restaurant food was outstanding. the only thing I would not recommend was the cheese board. (hard and dried out cheeses £10) however, you must try the Rib eye. Its one of the best steaks ive ever had. Breakfast was not the greatest. The sausages looked anaemic and the bacon was of poor quality. the service was tremendous though and the staff were very accomodating and pleasant.
The rooms are lovely and warm but there were a couple of things wrong with the room. only one socket out of two worked so I couldnt dry hair with the lamp on. There were bulbs out next to the bed and in the bathroom. The automated light in the bathroom kept going on even when I was in the bed and when i was in the shower it switched off. I grazed my leg on the radiator as it was so close to the bed. But overall a lovely bed and beautiful furnishings.

Reviewed by
Angie R

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Treat - 05/10/13
Stayed here one night with my husband (dinner, bed & breakfast) everything was excellent - staff, room, service & quality of food. Would definitely recommend & stay again. Looking to book again for my Husbands birthday

Reviewed by
S Lord

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice private place to stay
We have been to this hall for the first time this weekend, and will certainly go back. The place is small and private, ideal if you want a quiet weekend away.

Reviewed by
Heather Roberts

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fabulous hoetl
booked room through late rooms, could not believe what we got. Large room, four poster bed and stunning views. Would definitely come again

Reviewed by
B Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.