No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Derwent Bank

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
, Keswick, CA12 5TY
Derwent Bank, near Keswick, has one of the best locations on Derwent Water, and splendid views of the surrounding fells. The landscaped grounds slope down to the lake and you can enjoy the views from the terrace or the conservatory.
There are 38 bedrooms, many with views of the lake. Public rooms include a comfortable lounge, dining room, bar and a Dandelion Café, serving drinks and light meals.
The Lake District is renowned for its excellent walking routes, whether you prefer gentle lakeside strolls or more challenging mountain routes. Buttermere, Bassenthwaite Lake and Ullswater, and the summits of Helvellyn and Scafell Pike, are all close by. Water sports are available on Derwent Water, and there is mountain biking and a high ropes course in the nearby Whinlatter Forest. More relaxing sightseeing options include lake cruises and visits to Wordsworth’s homes at Cockermouth and Grasmere.

Communal dining at fixed dinner times.
Picture of Derwent Bank, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful views, such a picturesque place, hidden away in the trees, perfect setting for a wedding.
The setting is idilic, altho we only had breakfast in the hotel there was a varied and plentiful choice available. The only criticism is the towel rail in the bathroom which was not working. I would definitely visit here again and will recomend it to my friends.

Reviewed by
Barbara B

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lakeside location
we stayed hear 29.08.14 really good location right next to the lake and as we were canoeing this was great for us rooms were ok for the price clean and tidy staff nice and welcoming breakfast was abit strange having to sit on round tables of 10 people who you didnt know breakfast was ok would stay again if i was canoeing

Reviewed by
G Seath

From Southport , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all will come to this hotel again
All staff were great

Reviewed by
P Hannon

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and beautiful hotel
This was a last minute booking for a one night stay and we couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodation . Our room was on the top floor and we had views of the lake. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful. Parking was good and it's only one mile walk to Keswick along public footpath - though I recommend you take a torch if walking at night. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is in a quiet location right by the lake with lovely views. We loved the newly refurbished cafe/dining room. The bedroom was tasteful and clean.

Reviewed by
j walker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Room with a View
Lovely view of the late afternoon sky from my room high up under the eaves, looking down on the lovely lawns and gardens that run down to the lakeside. The food in the Dandelion café was excellent and the traditional English breakfast very good indeed and there was not too much of it - some cooked breakfasts can be overwhelming. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
C Bremer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice short break
I struggled to find a hotel near Keswick that you could stay at for one night only, but this one did plus the rates were good too. excellent location (1 mile walk from main town) and staff were friendly and polite. our room was good but probably the furthest away (39)! we didn't mind though. Would have liked to have a table for 2 at breakfast (we had to share a large round table with a walking group) but understand this hotel is made more for groups of walkers rather than couples. Overall a nice break.

Reviewed by
Leanne Proctor

From Blaydon on Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel. only minor negative was too many stairs ... could do with a lift ...not all visitos to the lake district are fit hill walkers !!

Reviewed by
DARREN P

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night only
After fruitless attempts trying to get a one night stay in Keswick on a Saturday night, we booked the Derwent Bank, which didn't have a 2 night minimum. Rooms comfortable, breakfast tasty, plenty of choice and quick service. Grounds went down to the lake, lovely views from rooms. Hadn't realised it was a hotel catering for walking holidays. Other customers mainly over 50, and it was very quiet, even though it was full. Would happily return.

Reviewed by
Tracy R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Accommodation was geared towards comfort and independence rather than silver service - suited me
Exceptional views from my single corner room - Lake view and the knot garden from my bed!!
Ideally situated as a base for Keswick and the Western Lakes

Reviewed by
Steven C

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next