No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Victorian

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
27 Railway Approach , Worthing, BN11 1UR
Built at the turn of the 19th Century, The Grand Victorian, a traditional period hotel, is located directly opposite Worthing railway station offering excellent transport links to vibrant Brighton and London and only a short walk away from Worthing's famous seafront promenade.

The perfect location for a leisurely short break or for guests attending to business affairs, the Grand Victorian offers 19 ensuite bedrooms all of which feature multi-channel TV and fully stocked beverage facilities. Internet access is readily available for guests to access in public areas.
Whether enjoying the Real Ale served in the period bar or dining in the Conservatory restaurant overlooking the hotel gardens, The Grand Victorian provides an atmosphere of calm, comfortable relaxation.

With Brighton Pavilion, Worthing Pavilion, Chichester Cathedral and Worthing's Connaught Theatre all easily accessible The Grand Victorian is ideally positioned for a stay filled with exploration and discovery. Alternatively for additional entertainment guests are welcome to dine in the adjoining Persia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar or frequent the adjacent nightspot, Club East.

Picture of Grand Victorian , Worthing at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Advert failed to mention accomodation is above a noisy pub wig loud music until 12.
On booking in site I was quoted £84. This had risen to £89 by the time I arrived.

Reviewed by
D Clark

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand victoria Worthing
A typical traveller pub/hotel by a station. You won't get fine dining or ambience, but you always get what you pay for in this world. It was good value for money, ideal for an overnight stay.
Breakfast good. No lifts to upper floors. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
C Stokes

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Breakfast and Good Night's Sleep
Having read some of the reviews of this hotel, I was not expecting a lot. But I was very pleasantly surprised and feel that some of the past negative reviews are overly harsh. This does not pretend to be a 5 star hotel, the decor is wonderful Victorana Kitsch mixed with interesting archive photography and the owners have clearly gone to a great deal of trouble to make the place attractive and welcoming. Don't expect perfection, go with an open mind and be realistic. The rooms were fine, the bed extremely comfortable and, even though we stayed on the night England lost to Italy in the World Cup opener, we didn't hear a thing in our room from the very well patronised bar - where we watched the first half and the atmosphere was friendly and good natured. The breakfast was an excellent and well prepared buffet with as much as you could eat of good quality bacon, eggs, beans,sausages and tomatoes as well as juice, toast and VERY GOOD coffee. Staff were friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We always like to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real disappointment - from the outside it looks a lovely place but very run down inside
Rough bar downstairs combined with dirty bathroom in our room, half a cheap loo roll, windows so dirty you couldn't see out of them & a general feeling of grime really let this place down, and the breakfast was the worst we've ever had! Not worth £109, more like £49!

ManagementResponse

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us at the grand Victorian Hotel. I have taken the matters of cleanliness in hand and I can assure you that the toilets and the brushes are cleaned on a daily basis, yes the carpets do have a lot of wear and tear but they are cleaned everyday as well and we are hoping for new carpet in every room very soon. As far as breakfast goes we do not use the cheapest ingredients. I can assure you the sausages come from a local butcher and the beans are Heinz, bread kingsmill etc etc. Our bar can get a bit loud sometimes as you would expect but we do advertise online that we have a bar etc at the hotel. Thank you for your comments. Emma, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We couldn't have asked for better staff as all were happy to help with any requests. Rooms quiet at night and a good breakfast - pub downstairs was definitely a good plus! I would have given the room top. Marks but mattress needs changing as springs coming through and had to request a mirror.

Reviewed by
K Turner

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room fine but shower a bit low for me. No remote on TV which, while not a problem, was unusual

Reviewed by
ROY H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable overnight stay
Tappas excellent value for money Delicious The bar was living and great for people watching. Good to be in an establishment that did not feel corporate and the staff wereexceptionally obliging. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Frank H

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
V Winteridge

From Bishops Waltham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at the hotel and adjoining bar were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Jaqueline L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
After booking our room we were a little concerned about some of the reviews, However, the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Even though a football match was being televised in the bar, we did not hear a sound. The breakfast was really good too. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Maton

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next