No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A BRILLIANT HOTEL
I have stayed here in the past a few times and always found the rooms spotless and comfortable. The staff are excellent - nothing is too much trouble for them. Toiletries are provided as well. just a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Jacqualine Tinsley

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
A very brief stay overnight as I needed to be in Carlisle fairly early. A lovely calm experience. The only slight negative for me would have been the bed as it seemed slightly smaller than the usual single bed (in a twin room). That said, not enough fo spoil the stay for me. Lovely, highly recommended and will stay again definitely.

Reviewed by
A Dickinson

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in the Crown Hotel the staff were very welcoming from the reception to the restaurant staff. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious all local produce and cooked to order. Would definitely recommend the Hotel for family's and couples.

Reviewed by
w sloan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stopover
I have stayed at the Crown several times now as it is an ideal break in a long journey. The location, not far off the motorway,it is great! and the food is very good. Also, it is good to see that it is a hotel which looks to update and improve its rooms.

Reviewed by
J G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in a pleasant location
We had a nice room on the 1st floor overlooking the garden. Comfy kingsize+ bed, flatscreen TV. Bathroom nice enough although it could have done with an extra shelf for toiletries and a magnifying mirror for makeup/shaving. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Heating system very efficient warming room up really quickly. Breakfast excellent - good quality food, well cooked, pleasant and efficient staff. Dinner good but nothing special, menu limited and so we ate out on our 2nd night. Good hotel, pleasant helpful staff, room for improvement in some areas however would definateley go back and would be happy to recommend to family/friends.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel...but!
Excellent accommodation. Every need catered for. First class breakfast beautifully cooked.
The only let down was the food at dinner! Portions were small. Food was overcooked. The charge of £2.50 per portion for vegetables was outrageous. It is such a pity that this side of the hotel is a let down.

Reviewed by
Margaret P

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money very friendly with good food

Reviewed by
W Smith

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Lesley MacCartney

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in the original building. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyable walk around beautiful village. Very good bar meal, swim in the morning and an excellent cooked to order breakfast.

Reviewed by
Grant P

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
I booked it as a surprise for my partner as part of his 50th Birthday, the Hotel left a lovely selections on sweet snacks with a happy Birthday wish, have recommended already to friends and family, and would defiantly go back but for a longer stay this time Thank you for the excellent service x

Reviewed by
D Czajkowskyj

From Mossley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next