No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful hotel
What a gem. Can not fault this hotel. Friendly staff. Food excellent value. Enjoyable tasty meal in the bar. Good hot breakfast . Got a surprise upgrade free of charge to a suite which after travelling and working all day was a lovely surprise. Plan on returning with my partner for leisure time and have recommended to many.

Reviewed by
Jacky B

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed views - some of it good but just as much bad
A bit of a mixed experience at the Crown Hotel. Booked 2 single rooms - one was a very small single (room 114) with a view onto the roof of the restaurant. The other (room 116) was larger, a double with a decent view. It was a very small double though. It was later that evening I discovered that it was above the kitchen so the noise went on to 11pm and started again at 5.50 in the morning. On entering room 114 you face a blank wall and have to push the door right open to access the room. So the light was switched on and immediately fused, taking all the other lights with it and those of room 116 as well. This required a tip to reception, the staff were very apologetic and came and fixed the trip immediately. The TV in room 114 was also not working, though not a problem as, it was a long day for us and sleep was what was required. The decor in the rooms was a bit tired but clean and the beds very comfortable.

We booked a table for dinner on arrival and were placed beside the outside door and a radiator at full blast, we asked to be moved and got another table to be told by another member of the waiting staff that we would have to move. The bar was busy but not full so it was difficult to see what the problem was. In the end we were allowed to sit where we were and had our meal. The food was good although the wrong dessert arrived but I decided it was easier just to eat it than make a fuss. Breakfast was good and the staff very pleasant. We had a continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was very nice and the plate sizzling hot always a good sign as the food was still warm to the last bite.
The leisure club had a decent sized swimming pool which was very cold so you had to keep moving, definitely for the swimmer rather than those wanting a leisurely paddle , the jacuzzi and steam rooms were a decent size too. By the time we went at 7.30 it was really quite busy, there is a club for non residents and the facilities seem to be well used.
All in all on reflection we probably won't be going back, which is a shame as it has some very good points and pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Very nice hotel, Lovely complementary use of the pool, spa and gym. The food for breakfast was nice although service was a little slow. We were also unsure on arrival to the breakfast suite whether we would be charged because the menu stated prices (I guess for the people that don't have complementary breakfast), maybe worth writing something as a footnote on the menu? Room was good although the ceiling looked like it was worth re-doing! Doors and floorboards quite noisy in the corridor. That being said, would stay again!

Reviewed by
C Curtis

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Good sized room, excellent breakfast but bar meals overpriced.

Reviewed by
J Home

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Weekend @ The Crown
two night; Fri + Sat.
got an upgrade to a quiet four poster room due to there being a weeding on that night in the hotel - which was great - no extra charge for the move.
we were doing a charity 26mile hike on the Saturday on Hadrian's wall, so needed a super early breakfast - they brought us room service breakfast at 5am - which was perfect.
great leisure-complex attached, nice little pool and jacuzzi for our post-hike swim
very comfortable 4 poster room and bed and B&B all for £80 a night.
breakfast was delicious - full range of cooked breakfasts, salmon/eggs; full Cumbrian.
would definitely stay there again when walking in the northern lakes.

Reviewed by
tony j

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always good; nice Executive room this time @ great price. Perfect location, close to Carlisle / A69; Wetheral is also a very pleasant village and close to River Eden with a nice walk over the railway viaduct / river to Corby. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Craig

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop
Excellent stay, very friendly and helpful staffs

Reviewed by
M Baines

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would have liked a dedicated place to leave my case on so that I didn't have to keep lifting it up and down from the floor to use it.
Strangely at midnight on both nights the radio alarm clock went off and although there was no time on the clock I could not work out why this happened. I could not unplug it either as it was 'wired' into the wall socket. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Diane R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel if you get the right room
Excellent hotel. Unfortunately I was given room 120 and it was unbearably hot until well after midnight, due to being over the kitchen. This was also a problem at 6.10 a.m. when the staff arrived/fans switched on.

Reviewed by
John E

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise from wedding + noise from kitchen extraction system
On arrival I was advised that there was a wedding in the hotel but that this would not affect me if I kept my window shut - WRONG the noise penetrated the window and both closed blinds and carried on until 12.:30 plus the room was near an extraction system for the kitchen which gave constant throb when the kitchen was operating. starting up at 6:30am
Room was also very hot which left the room with window closed very uncomfortable
Only stay here if there is no wedding on

Reviewed by
R Heath

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next