No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Good sized room, excellent breakfast but bar meals overpriced.

Reviewed by
J Home

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Weekend @ The Crown
two night; Fri + Sat.
got an upgrade to a quiet four poster room due to there being a weeding on that night in the hotel - which was great - no extra charge for the move.
we were doing a charity 26mile hike on the Saturday on Hadrian's wall, so needed a super early breakfast - they brought us room service breakfast at 5am - which was perfect.
great leisure-complex attached, nice little pool and jacuzzi for our post-hike swim
very comfortable 4 poster room and bed and B&B all for £80 a night.
breakfast was delicious - full range of cooked breakfasts, salmon/eggs; full Cumbrian.
would definitely stay there again when walking in the northern lakes.

Reviewed by
tony j

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop
Excellent stay, very friendly and helpful staffs

Reviewed by
M Baines

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would have liked a dedicated place to leave my case on so that I didn't have to keep lifting it up and down from the floor to use it.
Strangely at midnight on both nights the radio alarm clock went off and although there was no time on the clock I could not work out why this happened. I could not unplug it either as it was 'wired' into the wall socket. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Diane R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel if you get the right room
Excellent hotel. Unfortunately I was given room 120 and it was unbearably hot until well after midnight, due to being over the kitchen. This was also a problem at 6.10 a.m. when the staff arrived/fans switched on.

Reviewed by
John E

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George hotel
A lovely hotel. Very friendly helpful staff. Very good value for money and will certainly stay again. Very good food.

Reviewed by
Helen Pollitt

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise from wedding + noise from kitchen extraction system
On arrival I was advised that there was a wedding in the hotel but that this would not affect me if I kept my window shut - WRONG the noise penetrated the window and both closed blinds and carried on until 12.:30 plus the room was near an extraction system for the kitchen which gave constant throb when the kitchen was operating. starting up at 6:30am
Room was also very hot which left the room with window closed very uncomfortable
Only stay here if there is no wedding on

Reviewed by
R Heath

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was lovely and welcoming. The rooms were clean and tidy but overall we felt the hotel was somewhat dated. The food was beautiful and the selection of choice could not be faulted.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay
generally good although a simple request to change channel on the TV was first of all not dealt with then was told had to ask at reception and ultimately bar who i asked could meet request. could not change channel and did not follow my advice which was to switch off main tv and restart. a little frustrating. staff did apologise.
A nice pub feel to hotel and friendly reception.

Reviewed by
G Balduini

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Crown
We booked this hotel at short notice when we had a few days off. The hotel was lovely, in a quiet village which was lovely. The room was clean and spacious, food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. we used the pool most evenings before tea and it too was clean. Convenient to Lake District, Hadrians Wall, etc Train. station just 50yds away great for a day to Newcastle. Really enjoyed our short break.

Reviewed by
J Patton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next