No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in a pleasant location
We had a nice room on the 1st floor overlooking the garden. Comfy kingsize+ bed, flatscreen TV. Bathroom nice enough although it could have done with an extra shelf for toiletries and a magnifying mirror for makeup/shaving. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Heating system very efficient warming room up really quickly. Breakfast excellent - good quality food, well cooked, pleasant and efficient staff. Dinner good but nothing special, menu limited and so we ate out on our 2nd night. Good hotel, pleasant helpful staff, room for improvement in some areas however would definateley go back and would be happy to recommend to family/friends.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel...but!
Excellent accommodation. Every need catered for. First class breakfast beautifully cooked.
The only let down was the food at dinner! Portions were small. Food was overcooked. The charge of £2.50 per portion for vegetables was outrageous. It is such a pity that this side of the hotel is a let down.

Reviewed by
Margaret P

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Lesley MacCartney

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in the original building. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyable walk around beautiful village. Very good bar meal, swim in the morning and an excellent cooked to order breakfast.

Reviewed by
Grant P

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
I booked it as a surprise for my partner as part of his 50th Birthday, the Hotel left a lovely selections on sweet snacks with a happy Birthday wish, have recommended already to friends and family, and would defiantly go back but for a longer stay this time Thank you for the excellent service x

Reviewed by
D Czajkowskyj

From Mossley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown Hotel

Reviewed by
J Kitchen

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
So glad I picked this hotel for myself and my partner to stay at. What a lovely hotel! I cant say it enough it was everything I could have wished for, spotlessly clean, lovely surroundings, food was excellent and the Staff couldn't do enough for us making our stay extra special. Will certainly be booking to go again.

Reviewed by
lesley davies

From Maesteg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful hotel
What a gem. Can not fault this hotel. Friendly staff. Food excellent value. Enjoyable tasty meal in the bar. Good hot breakfast . Got a surprise upgrade free of charge to a suite which after travelling and working all day was a lovely surprise. Plan on returning with my partner for leisure time and have recommended to many.

Reviewed by
Jacky B

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed views - some of it good but just as much bad
A bit of a mixed experience at the Crown Hotel. Booked 2 single rooms - one was a very small single (room 114) with a view onto the roof of the restaurant. The other (room 116) was larger, a double with a decent view. It was a very small double though. It was later that evening I discovered that it was above the kitchen so the noise went on to 11pm and started again at 5.50 in the morning. On entering room 114 you face a blank wall and have to push the door right open to access the room. So the light was switched on and immediately fused, taking all the other lights with it and those of room 116 as well. This required a tip to reception, the staff were very apologetic and came and fixed the trip immediately. The TV in room 114 was also not working, though not a problem as, it was a long day for us and sleep was what was required. The decor in the rooms was a bit tired but clean and the beds very comfortable.

We booked a table for dinner on arrival and were placed beside the outside door and a radiator at full blast, we asked to be moved and got another table to be told by another member of the waiting staff that we would have to move. The bar was busy but not full so it was difficult to see what the problem was. In the end we were allowed to sit where we were and had our meal. The food was good although the wrong dessert arrived but I decided it was easier just to eat it than make a fuss. Breakfast was good and the staff very pleasant. We had a continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was very nice and the plate sizzling hot always a good sign as the food was still warm to the last bite.
The leisure club had a decent sized swimming pool which was very cold so you had to keep moving, definitely for the swimmer rather than those wanting a leisurely paddle , the jacuzzi and steam rooms were a decent size too. By the time we went at 7.30 it was really quite busy, there is a club for non residents and the facilities seem to be well used.
All in all on reflection we probably won't be going back, which is a shame as it has some very good points and pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Very nice hotel, Lovely complementary use of the pool, spa and gym. The food for breakfast was nice although service was a little slow. We were also unsure on arrival to the breakfast suite whether we would be charged because the menu stated prices (I guess for the people that don't have complementary breakfast), maybe worth writing something as a footnote on the menu? Room was good although the ceiling looked like it was worth re-doing! Doors and floorboards quite noisy in the corridor. That being said, would stay again!

Reviewed by
C Curtis

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next