No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, but the room we had was a little dated

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
I had a very enjoyable three night's stay at the Crown. The accommodation and leisure facilities were good, the food very nice and the staff' attitude (from all) absolutely wonderful.
The only possible improvement I could recommend is for the hotel to improve the water pressure in the bathroom. This is possibly a minor niggle and will certainly not stop me staying at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
A Bate

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday break
Stayed at the Crown @ Wetheral on the Sunday night of the bank holiday weekend, we had a lovely room with a 4 poster bed, we ate in Waltons bar and found the food to be good value for money, there was a bit of a party on to celebrate 60years of service for one of the bar staff, so the bar was very full but we were made to feel very welcome. There was entertainment and a BBQ. Another enjoyable stay :)

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant surprise
Having stayed in a famous and excellent hotel for the previous week, we were expecting our overnight stop at the Crown to be a bit of an anti-climax. How wrong can you be? The room was new and spotless, the staff friendly and efficient, and our restaurant dinner outstanding. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and served by the waiter---no self service from a congealing hotplate here! And it was a genuine Cumberland breakfast. Outstanding.

Reviewed by
colin hayward

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel although the car parking was a bit congested.

Reviewed by
W Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown Wetheral
Pleasant stay

Reviewed by
James H

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As usual the Crown lived up to expectation although we only stayed one night this time. The staff and food are excellent.

Reviewed by
R King

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great local hotel
Nice hotel in a secluded and quiet area. Nothing special from the outside, but the interior and service was great. So pleased we had booked to come back a second time. Small health club, whic was OK but a nice facility

Reviewed by
J Wood

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking Holiday
This is my 5th stay at this hotel, one of the best in the region with access to the Edan valley

Reviewed by
Terry Pickford

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel - Friendly, Helpful Staff
A good hotel : clean with good facilities. Particularly pleased with the attentive and helpful staff. Top marks for that! All round, a good solid hotel.

Reviewed by
Tony Smith

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next