No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel, Wetheral

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wetheral , Carlisle , CA4 8ES
The Crown Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village, just 5 miles from the historic city of Carlisle. The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Borders, Cumbria and the Lake District and offers roomy, classically
decorated and elegant accommodation. The hotel leisure club features an Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and our very own Beauty Room. Squash Courts are also available for use. The Conservatory Restaurant and Walton's Bar
both offer great food and drink including local specialities and real ale, and has recently been awarded an AA rosette.

Dog Friendly rooms are limited - £10 per dog per night – availability must be checked at the time of booking

Dinner reservations are highly recommended both in the restaurant & the bar due to high customer demand and to avoid disappointment

Bedrooms will experience varying levels of noise from functions & live entertainment until 01:00, mainly at weekends. Please note all Executive
bedrooms are above the function room
Picture of Crown Hotel, Wetheral, Carlisle  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Love this hotel, I booked it for the Ultra that was starting in Carlise and would love to come back here again for a visit with someone and have a nice weekend away.

Reviewed by
Peter Mackintosh

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast chaos!
Our stay at the Crown was, for the most part, excellent. Check-in smooth; room comfortable; upgraded bar facilities excellent; dinner amazing. Unfortunately, breakfast was rather chaotic, to say the least! Served from 8 'til 10, we arrived about 9:30am. There was a queue waiting for tables; empty tables were not being cleared; when, eventually, we were shown to a table, there was no orange juice left, although that should have been obvious much earlier; there were no glasses for other drinks; the wrong order was brought initially; one lady's cooked breakfast arrived while she was selecting her cereal! A wee bit fraught, you might say. However, over all, an excellent place to stay. We have before, and we probably will again. They just need to get their act together for a busy breakfast service!

Reviewed by
B McCabe

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked a weekend away and chose the Crown as a half way point between my partner and myself home .
The weekend was extremely relaxing and we spent quality time enjoying the hotel and facilities at the hotel
Food was excellent and the staff very friendly .

Reviewed by
Eileen G

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay again
We love the location and ambience of this hotel and make it our habit to stay on our way to Scotland. The gardens are beautiful and the station is over the wall at the end. The trees and bushes are wonderful and the conservatory for dining is in the middle of this gorgeous garden.
We ate in the bar and the food and welcome were excellent. We do not use the spa as I am disabled but it looks fabulous. Only complaint was that there was a wedding on so we were told not to use the garden!! We did anyway and there were very few guests in it.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Told us on arrival it would be noisy until late because of a wedding.

Reviewed by
Joseph T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Just needed a stopover on the way to Scotland. This was more than we could have wished for, very clean and relaxed, good room and an amazing shower.

Reviewed by
Jayne Harrison

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st time at the Crown but I will be returning - fantastick location - brilliant staff - very welcoming and very relaxing - Just one thing that would have made things that wee bit better would have been to have the seats at the front of the Hotel unchained - not a big deal - fantastic stay!

Reviewed by
kevin m

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Marie E

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting
Great little hotel in a very pretty village location, great walks and stunning views nearby. Easy access to Carlisle centre. Very friendly staff and a superb atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Nigel Colvin

From Hawick, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel with superb facilities
I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and find myself wanting to came back because not only is the hotel in a lovely location with excellent facilities but the staff are just real gems, helpful and attentive. The hotel boasts a superb location in a quiet village close to the motorway (3 miles) and has the added benefit of a real pub that always attracts the locals ... a true recommendation if ever there was.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next