No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Barn at Bethersden

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ashford Road (A28), Bethersden, , Ashford, TN26 3LE
Stay and enjoy bed and breakfast in a converted 18th century listed Kentish Barn with exposed beamed bedrooms and mouth watering breakfasts. The Old Barn is situated in the heart of the "Darling buds of May country", and is a good central base for visiting all the local sights. This hotel provides a central base for visiting all the local sights, Canterbury, Dixter, Pluckley, Rye, Sissinghurst, Smarden, Tenterden and The Marsh. The hotel is situated mid way between Ashford and Tenterden just on the edge of Bethersden village. This hotel is convenient for both Eurostar at Ashford, Eurotunnel at Folkestone and the sea crossings at Dover.
Picture of The Old Barn at Bethersden, Ashford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bethersden Barn
Comfortable room, great breakfast, nice people. Scary exit on to road.

Reviewed by
M Alexander

From Crickhowell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend in Kent
My mum and I very much enjoyed our stay at The Old Barn. It is well placed for Great Dixter and Sissinghurst, and also for Canterbury. The room was beautiful and very quiet and the spacious separate bathroom was not an inconvenience, because it was for our use only. Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit and full English - we hardly needed lunch! Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Reviewed by
Claire Cullinane

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent

Reviewed by
GRAHAM C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Relief
... of a warm welcome, a clean room complete with obligatory oak beams, attention to all the small details that make it more like being at a friend's home than in a B&B. I would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Susan Jaume

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and welcoming accomodaion.
Friendly and accommodating owners,couldn't have been more pleasant.

Reviewed by
Valerie Beamish

From Templemore, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely residence
We were met & everything explained in very helpful manner,the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.
The hosts were most helpful in advising what was available locally

Reviewed by
Derek Robinson

From Shrewsbury, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming old barn very quiet despite busy road outside (best to take car to local village nearby as no pavements). Lovely couple who run it very attentive to your every need and cook a super breakfast included in price. Two pubs in the village Bethesden both fine if not fancy. Great butcher at Betheseden with delicatessen supplying tasty lunchtime rolls. Tenterden 7-8mins by car.
Try the local steam railway to Bodiam, visit Sissinghurst Castle Garden - both enjoyable. We stayed two nights and saw loads - must go again to Old Barn to discover more delights of Kent.

Reviewed by
J Adams

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We couldn't fault The Old Barn, comfy beds, light & spacious bathroom, excellent breakfast and friendly owners. The little touches made it really special.

Reviewed by
LESLEY ATKINSON

From TOWCESTER, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Beautiful accommodation, spacious bedroom and large, private bathroom in a house which is obviously a well converted barn, as it has many original beams and features. Great, helpful service without being intrusive. Wonderful breakfast which was awesome. All in all much recommended..

Reviewed by
W Baxter

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still excellent
Have stayed here before. Annex is very good and totally self contained. Breakfast verg good.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next