Reviews - The Wishing Well


Oakney Wood Road, Selby, YO8 8LZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • July 2015

Hotel Stay

Much to commend - from very friendly staff and good quality of rooms, which are also very spacious.

The only let downs were the limited choice and quality of food at breakfast. Some of chairs in restaurant area are also getting quite grubby and in need of cleaning/replacement.

  • Rachel E

  • April 2015

Very happy with our stay!!

We found the staff to be very pleasant, the room was clean and spacious.

We found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but I guess you'll never find a comfortable hotel bed. :)

  • Glennis B

  • April 2015

Enjoyable stay!

The only criticism was we had to wait a long time after our starter for our main meal, it was at least an 3/4 - 1 hour and we had to have a quiet word.

Otherwise it was a nice meal.

  • Pamela Dumas-Ekin

  • March 2015

Service and friendliness

The receptionist was very welcoming on my arrival.

The room was fine as it was on the second floor and looked out onto the car park. (previously I have been on the first floor overlooking a roof). The young lady in the bar was lovely and she happily went backwards and forwards to the kitchen to find out what foods would fit with my peculiar diet. When I left the hotel after two nights, I left a decorative stone behind. I phoned up the following day and the receptionist was very helpful. She said she would ring me back and she did. They had found the stone and would send it back to me free of charge. Excellent!

  • Mike C

  • March 2015

Selby hotels

On arrival there was no-one on reception and there was a queue forming before a receptionist came out to book us in.

The room was cramped as beside the large double bed there was a low single bed each side of it. The mattress was very uncomfortable as the buttons could easily be felt through the sheets. The toilet cistern made a deep groaning noise after flushing.

  • Paul K

  • March 2015

Wishing Well Review

The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was worth the money paid.

  • michael hopkins

  • December 2014

air extractor in bathroom didnt work.

breakfast not very good. waitress coughing over everything. not allowed to use bar for a drink. it was being used for private party. breakfast 7.50 not value for money. only 3 pounds fifty in selby much better overall. not good. would i stay there again, no

  • john hopkins

  • December 2014

£7-25 for a poor quality breakfast

The waitress asked if we wanted toast, one would have thought what you were entitled too should have been put on the table.

the coffee was on a seperate table and was just enough for one cup

  • Kevin Anson

  • December 2014

My stay at the wishing well

The only thing I can say is that my room was near the stair way and could hear people going up stairs was not to bad

  • d shoemark

  • December 2014

The Wishing Well

Our room was comfortable and clean however it had a very strong smell off damp in the bathroom area · Room 39 We did inform receptionist · We only stayed for 1 night if our stay had been longer I would have asked to be moved to another room .We also arrived for our stay and was told that the restaurant/bar was closed for a private party.

This very inconvenient has we had made plans to meet people there after travelling from staffordshire we were looking forward to refreshments· We booked this hotel and paid for facilities that were not available!