No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Halford

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Fosse Way,Halford, , Halford, Nr Stratford upon Avon, CV36 5BN
Located on the fringes of the Cotswolds in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon,

with close links to Birmingham. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, and free onsite parking , a widely recognised restaurant , a warm welcome and various beauty treatments. Steeped in history and dating from 1567, this is an impressive stone built grade II listed 4 Star Coaching Inn full of charm, character and warmth. Guests will be greeted with a traditional friendly welcome where you will discover the very best in countryside dining, drinking and relaxation.



Bedrooms comprise of double , twin, suites or family all with a choice of en-suite bathrooms and some of the original features like wooden beams, door frames, fireplaces. There are two suites consisting of a stunning beamed second floor loft conversion and a large first floor family bedroom with a double and single bed that overlooks the courtyard. Rooms offer wonderful
village outlooks or great views across the Cotswold countryside. The rooms are also named after family owned race horses and the staff will happily give the history along with when each horse is running.

Dining in the restaurant is an experience not to be missed. The food is homemade and freshly prepared, carefully cooked to order, styled simply and elegantly with all the flavours of quality ingredients which are locally sourced wherever possible. The hotel is happy to cater for any allergies or special dietary requirements. There are a variety of beers and spirits including the locally brewed 'Hook Norton' Ale which is a popular choice.

There is a wide and varied selection of wines that are changed seasonally to compliment the menus.





Guests are encouraged to invest in some personal time at The Halford in their new beauty studio. Notonly dothey offer beauty treatments using high end products such as Fake Bake, Dermalogica, Jessica Nails and Jessica Geleration, along with offering Fake Bake and Dermalogica products, gift sets available for retail.





The market town of Stratford-upon-Avon is synonymous with William Shakespeare, where a stay would not be complete without finding out more
about the English poet that makes it famous. This allows you to visit the house where the world's most famous playwrite was born and grew up. Other
must see Shakespeare locations include Hall's Croft, Nash's House and New Place, Anne Hathaway's cottage and Mary Arden's Farm. With more than 800 years of history containing not only many buildings that survive today and
also a thriving community offering a wide variety of leisure and shopping experiences.



Warwick is famous for arguably the most complete medieval castles to be found anywhere and Warwick Castle itself is just 15 miles from The Halford.
Royal Leamington Spa is a bustling town centre with a large number of independently run shops offering exciting goods. Alcester offers many
ancient properties and a number of archaeological sites of interest.
Henley-in-Arden is a pretty, uncommercialised market town in the heart of
the old Arden region. The long winding High Street is the perfect setting to
show off the beautifully preserved buildings perched on either side, with over 150 listed as historic or of special architectural interest.

Please Note – There is a £15 charge for guests using extra beds in room


Picture of The Halford, Halford, Nr Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
Only stayed for one night but would definitely go back.. Staff went above and beyond making our stay friendly and welcome and food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced. would highly recommend The Halford

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay
We arrived on the annual event of feeding the rat! The hotel staff were most accommodating. A fabulous place to stay, locals included us in their local tradition, amazing food and great atmosphere

Reviewed by
Claire Griffiths

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, quirky place!
My boyfriend and I absolutely adored this hotel we were so upset we'd only booked to stay for one night! We are planning when we can come back for longer as it was so friendly and cosy. The rooms are all gorgeous and we loved the whole hotel and feel of the place.

Reviewed by
Alice H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Halford Hotel - A Pleasant Experience
Our 1 night stay at the Halford hotel was a very pleasant experience with the customer service giving a very welcoming atmosphere. The food was exceedingly good and tasty with a wide variety of choice on the menu. The overall package definitely gives you value for money whilst the rooms are quirky and clean and tidy, although looking a little tired and need some refreshing and refurbishment. A great stay and an ideal location for exploring the wonders of Warwickshire and the Cotswolds, definitely revisiting if we are in the area again.
Andrew

Reviewed by
A Di-Vetta

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building. Fantastic food and customer service throughout our stay. Some of the bedrooms are a bit quirky, uneven floors and small doors (bathroom door was about 5 ft in our room) but it added to the character.
Hotel is a little further out of town than I thought so couldn't fully appreciate other pubs etc in the area, but very good base for exploring area.

Reviewed by
R Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service from the girls on duty was first class but the room left a lot to be desired of. We chose a twin bedded room for extra space but the room and the slant of the floor meant that you spent much of the night on a 'tilt'. Coupled with a waste disposal for the sanitation which was unbelievable and a tap that fell apart in my husbands hands the room was definitely not good. At one stage we did wonder if Basil Fawlty would come out of the wardrobe.
Cleanliness, staff and food fine but accommodation not up to standard

Reviewed by
V Walbridge

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little pricey
Whilst it was a lovely room and friendly service I did find this hotel rather over priced. I said what I believed what a lot for one night and thought that the price would ensure a large room and big bathroom. However the room was tiny and there was no bath which was disappointing. If I were to stay there again I would expect a considerable price reduction

Reviewed by
h Brown

From rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were extremely friendly.

Reviewed by
Lindsay Harris

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Halford gets the little things important to us just right.
We have stayed at The Halford once before, but quite a few years ago. Our purpose was an overnight stay as part of our wedding anniversary, and couldn't have been happier with everything.
I booked the best room available on the day, and we stayed in the Shared Moment suite. This was an excellent choice, and will definitely be our choice of room next time. It was both traditional with it's beams and bath, but also contemporary with flat screen TV's and decor.
I must make a special mention to the two ladies in the bar who were responsible for the evening meals. Very polite, efficient, and welcoming. I forget their names, but they were excellent and should be mentioned.
All in all, we couldn't have been happier with the experience. Thank you to all at The Halford.

Reviewed by
James King

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
Very comfortable cosy atmosphere and helpful staff. Would recommend beautician great massage and good manicure.

Reviewed by
S Singh

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next