The Halford

4

Fosse Way,Halford,, Halford, Nr Stratford upon Avon, CV36 5BN

Price From 144.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris P

  • April 2015

Full of character

Very old coaching inn full of character, shown to our room by a warm and friendly young lady.

We were in the ghost wing, our room was nice but one complaint we couldn't open the window and the room did get rather hot. The beds were very comfortable so had a good nights sleep even though our room faced the main road we weren't disturbed by the passing traffic. We had a very enjoyable traditional full English breakfast with plenty of tea and coffee. If you want somewhere different at a very reasonable price, this could be for you.

  • R Wilson

  • April 2015

A fantastic stay

Sometimes places just click and you cannot believe that you thought about staying anywhere else.

The Halford will now be the first place I would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • March 2015

On our way home

Great stopover in quaint rural setting.

Beautiful old coaching inn. Good food. Watch your head.

  • Lisa A

  • November 2014

Fantastic Find!

We booked a last minute child free weekend away for our 15th wedding anniversary so chose a suite, our was 'Shared Moment' (not as cheesy as it sounds, all rooms are named after racehorses).

The suite was huge, luxurious & beautifully decorated with oak beams, separate lounge area, two TV's, a sumptuous super king size bed and fantastic bathroom with gorgeous roll top bath & separate walk in shower. In fact, as the weather was a bit dismal, aside from venturing out for meals we hardly left & spent a rare weekend doing pretty much nothing, bliss. The Halford has won awards for it's breakfast & deservedly so, it is more like a 3 course meal with the lightest to the most hearty appetites catered for, so take your time & enjoy. I had the best scrambled eggs on toast I have ever tasted & having worked in 5 star hotels with Michelin star restaurants, this is saying something. The lunch & dinner menus offer a small selection but the food is well cooked & presented and there is reasonable wine list. There is a small room set aside as a beauty salon but it provides a very comprehensive list of treatments, such an unexpected bonus in a small country inn. I treated myself to a wonderfully indulgent Dermalogica facial, their beautician is excellent, as good as any you would find in large salon. The icing on the cake is the staff, from the hotel manager to the housekeepers we would meet in the hallways, all were warm, friendly & welcoming; always there when you needed them but never intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend from beginning to end & will definitely be back.

  • D Brooke

  • October 2014

Room

The room we had was too warm, the window could not be opened as it was sealed shut, there was an electric free standing fan but this is not ideal although it helped.

The WIFI internet did not work although internet was obtained in the room via a cable from the wall. The staff and food were excellent, the Hotel is an old building and with a few tweeks here and there I am sure an extra star could be obtained. A very pleasant stay.

  • Glenn B

  • September 2014

Very Unique

Our stay was enjoyable, the hotel was really unorganised when we checked in - my wife's name had changed to Lesley, my name was the same, so we were not really sure if we were allocated the correct room.

Using surnames instead of first names may ensure this doesn't happen again. Breakfast was great, the shower was a little underpowered, but considering the age of the building that did not surprise us. Overall, a good hotel to stay in overnight with a great atmosphere in the evening.

  • Jennifer D

  • August 2014

Friendly caring staff but stuffy room

Room was let down by being unable to open the window in the middle of summer.

Whilst opening the blind it was obvious that the window and frame had not been cleaned for many years judging from the cobwebs. Throughout upstairs the corridor, staircases and our room it was in desperate need of renovation. The bathroom was very small but adequate and the manager tried his hardest to accommodate our needs. The food and service was excellent. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful massage and lunch at a very reasonable price in the beauty salon.

  • Chris G

  • August 2014

Highly Recommended

Only stayed for one night but would definitely go back..

Staff went above and beyond making our stay friendly and welcome and food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced. would highly recommend The Halford

  • Claire Griffiths

  • August 2014

Fantastic place to stay

We arrived on the annual event of feeding the rat.

The hotel staff were most accommodating. A fabulous place to stay, locals included us in their local tradition, amazing food and great atmosphere

  • Alice H

  • August 2014

Beautiful, quirky place!

My boyfriend and I absolutely adored this hotel we were so upset we'd only booked to stay for one night.

We are planning when we can come back for longer as it was so friendly and cosy. The rooms are all gorgeous and we loved the whole hotel and feel of the place.