Reviews - The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel


Long Street, Atherstone, CV9 1BB

Price From 123.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (41)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Janda

  • November 2015

Value for money

Location of this hotel was ideal for a wedding we were attending nearby.

The hotel has a small car park but there is public parking nearby. Rooms were clean and tidy with tea/coffee facilities in the room. The hotel ordered us taxis and these seemed to be readily available.

  • Holly W

  • October 2015

Didn't have our booking on the system

I booked myself and two colleagues a room through however, when we turned up to the hotel to check in only one night was booked into the system.

This proved to be a bit of a problem as myself and another colleague were stopping for an extra two nights and the hotel was fully booked for those two nights. We were told to come down in the morning to speak to the manager which we did but the manager wans't there. The lady behind the bar said someone would call us as she couldn't help and we had to leave to attend a trade show. Unfortunately, no one called so we had to call the hotel to ensure we had a room for the night!. All was well in the end but it's not the best feeling when you're away on business and you don't know whether the hotel you have booked is going to have a room for you at the end of a long day. On a positive note, the food was very nice.

  • B Bailey

  • August 2015

This hotel is a lovely building but we were so disappointed by the service we received, and the general cleanliness of the hotel.

When we arrived, the receptionist decided to answer the phone while we were standing there waiting to check in, she did not apologise but spent five minutes taking a booking. Our room was average, we were not aware that there was tea, coffee facilities hidden in bottom drawer until we left.. This should have been labelled. The shower was awful, just like a watering can. The noise during the night was horrendous and made it impossible for my husband and I to get any sleep. When we asked the receptionist for two safety pins as we had a wardrobe problem, they were not interested and wouldn't help us. I then asked for a plaster as I had cut my finger, once again they were not interested and just said they would have a look, an hour later my husband had to ask again and I was eventually given a plaster. The hotel seemed very short staffed and the staff who served us to lunch and drinks on Friday afternoon and evening, seemed disinterested, stressed and bordering on rude. The carpet area where we sat opposite the bar was filthy, the chairs were covered in crumbs and I'm surprised there weren't rats running around. It was also impossible to connect to wifi, the staff weren't interested and kept fobbing us off. In this day and age it is important for some people with work commitments etc. to have Internet access and this can affect whether a booking is made. However, staff once again were not interested when my husband queried it for the fifth time and then gave up. We paid for breakfast which was not worth the money. Tea was cold, our table was not laid out for us and we had to borrow butter from another table. By this point, we weren't surprised at the appalling service and couldn't wait to leave the hotel. On checking out, it was no surprise that the receptionist was unprofessional, not even asking us how our stay was etc, wish I had read trip advisor beforehand, it appears others have had exactly the same awful experiences.

  • B O'Neill

  • July 2015


Stayed in annexe room was small no curtains just blinds so woke at sunrise bed uncomfy.disappointed as looked nice and friends advised was nice hotel

  • June g

  • July 2015

No bell boy??

Nice place, comfy bed, pillow stank of sweaty feet.

also, had to wait an age to book in as the booking in was done by a member of the bar staff, lovely guy. but no one to help lug my suitcase upstairs and no lift, I watched a little grey haired old lady book in and she didn't get any help from any staff either with her large case. Internet is rubbish but it is free. Breakfast was chaos no coffee for 15mins then it was cold, had to wait a fair while for food to be restocked I ordered toast and i think they forgot about me as everyone who ordered after me got theres. every member of staff was running around like headless chickens, dont think they cope well when there nearly full!

  • Mark E

  • June 2015

Some privacy please!

The hotel itself is really amazing with named rooms and we had a lovely breakfast.

The room (211) was lovely but being a low 1st floor extension it would have been nice to have had net curtains for a little privacy. Having to draw the thick curtains in the middle of a gloriously sunny afternoon just to gain some privacy in confidence was unfortunate. Hence the marking of the quality of the room as a 4. The décor and style of the room was not to be faulted but we did have to hunt for the tea and coffee equipment!

  • D Stevens

  • April 2015

Hopefully not all rooms are the same.......

Stayed here for 1 night 18/04.

Checked in to room ok, reception staff friendly. Room itself was spacious and clean, however the bathroom was ridiculous. In honesty I've seen bigger portacabins. Can't sit on the toilet with the bathroom door closed, the sink was tiny and we didn't even attempt to use the shower. The water tank under the toilet made an awful noise every time it filled up either then the toilet was flushed or the tap was run. There was no curtain in the room, just a pathetic thin blind which kept no light out whatsoever. The floor boards are extremely squeaky, if you have someone in the room above then good luck getting to sleep. Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular but much needed after a bad night. Waiting staff were pretty poor, everything seemed to be too much effort for them, took a good 10 minutes to even get an offer of a hot drink although there are juices you can help yourself too.

I hope that not all rooms are the same, we did have friends that also stayed at the hotel and they didn't seem to have any issues. On a whole, the bedroom was ok, bathroom not fit for purpose (if you are any taller than 5"6). Breakfast was nice enough, waitress staff uninterested but receptionists were faultless. On site parking also a bonus. Personally would not recommend, but I'm hoping our experience was just a one off.

  • n roberts

  • February 2015

The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel

Came to Atherstone from Stoke-on-Trent for a pit reunion.

The hotel was well worth the £49 I paid for the room.

  • l miles

  • December 2014

Lovely hotel but the breakfast too expensive.

  • p hurst

  • November 2014

Could not get wifi access