No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Long Street , Atherstone, CV9 1BB
Completely refurbished in 2005, this historic coaching inn dates back to the 1500's. The hotel is ideally located in the town centre with the major motorway networks easily accessible. Both the NEC, NIA arenas and Birmingham International Airport are under 20 miles away.

During your stay we implore you to relax in the library or conservatory before enjoying both local and international cuisine in the Queens Restaurant or Wine Bar. For those who enjoy a more lively atmosphere the Sports Bar is the place with Sky Sports available along with a wide range of local ales and bar meals.

All rooms offer wireless Internet connection for the business traveller with the majority of rooms also having double beds.
Picture of The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel, Atherstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ewwwwww
We stop because we had a wedding to go to around the corner and a lot of friends were stopping here. We had to get to the hotel early and the day time lady behind the desk was great, however that was our only good experience.
We were so cold in the night that I had to sleep with all my clothes on in a ball, then to top it off in the morning when we got up we found a used blooded plaster had been attached to the quilt that wasn't ours. The room wasn't the cleanest and the plaster confirmed this to me.
When we left we told the lady at the front desk who looked so embarrassed but made out that this wasn't the first time people had not found it the cleanest. Shame really because downstairs everything looked beautiful.

Reviewed by
Adam L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Staff friendly and helpful. Requested breakfast which we hadn't booked and not a problem for hotel. Altogether a well located hotel in centre of town and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Heather J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Stayed in twin room which was provided all the essentials. Staff friendly and food good.

Reviewed by
Heather J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough Hotel but the WiFi is awful
I started my job in Atherstone so decided to stay at the Red Lion, As I'm working away from home there are two things I look for, nice room and WiFi - The room itself was ok (althought the TV controller did not work (reported) but the wifi was awful, "authenticating" almost continuously. Having reported the issue I moved rooms as another was available, this time I connected but it was unusable 1mbs, from the corridor you could achieve 12mbs. So spent time in the corridor. As a business traveller wifi is essential. I only ate in the restaurant once, The food was excellent, and the service was good to,

Reviewed by
Gordon C

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Freindly Overnight Stay
We booked the Red Lion in Atherstone as we were attending a wedding at the near by Mythe Barn.
We were not expecting much when we booked as we usually stay in higher rated accomadation.
However when we arrived we were greated by very freindly and happy staff . We had booked two double rooms as at the time there were no family rooms but on arrival we were shown to two family rooms.
There was plenty of room for ourselves and my two teenagers in one family room and the staff were more than happy to cancel one of the rooms with no quibbles.
Breakfast was very good and made all the better by freindly service.
As we were attending a blessing two days later we had a free day so dropped the kids off at Drayton
Manor for the afternoon while we had a relaxing time at The Belfrey, all in less than 20 mins from the hotel. We stayed at the marriot Leicester two days later and must say the Red Lion in Atherstone was a far greater experience. Fully recommended !

Reviewed by
N Morley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
Its a nice place

Reviewed by
roger w

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless in Atherstone
Room reserved for late room was above kitchen/ laundry with wash cycles and fans noises through the night. A polite request after the first night saw the noise increased the next night. Did not get a night sleep.

Reviewed by
M Aung

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Atherstone Red Lion.
Decent Budget hotel in the centre of Atherstone.Decent size room with good ensuite bathroom.
Staff very friendly and helpful, good bar menu serving good quality foo at reasonable prices, there is however an on site Italian Restaurant but did not use on this visit.
The only down side for me was that my room was over the kitchen/restaurant/bar area and so was quite noisy until late, if I stay again I would ask to be on the other side or at the rear.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very unfriendly staff, felt it was to much trouble. One member of staff gave another guest the same room as us so as we were relaxing a gentleman used his key to enter our room. The reception staff just said 'sorry about that', which in my opinion is no where near good enough.

Reviewed by
Wendy Kupinski

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good as usual

Reviewed by
p hurst

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next