You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Mug House Inn


12 Severnside North, Bewdley, DY12 2EE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Hampson

  • October 2016

Superb hotel

Fantastic location, lovely rooms, mine was in the attic, but very spacious and clean

  • Stuart M

  • August 2016

The Mug House Inn


  • Helen C

  • August 2016

The Mug House Inn

We eventually found our accommodation (not easy as access road closed due to road works- not Mug House's fault but no signs at the road end as to where the Inn was) it was very busy, and as there is no proper check-in area I had to wait for quite a while to be seen.

When I was dealt with it was in a polite and courteous manner and my husband and I were shown to a very nice room (lavender), although not that easy to access up stairs and through passageways and we were offered help with our luggage. Unfortunately we were unable to eat in the pub on either night of our stay as they were fully booked but the breakfast was very nice. On the first morning we had a continental style basket delivered to our room as we were going out early and this was very good quality. The only thing I would say is that some milk for the cereal would have been nice as what we had in the fridge had been used on coffees. On the second morning we ate in the dining room and the breakfast was again of a very good standard. My only criticism there was that the croisssants and fruit salad were not ready for the start of service and were brought out after I had already started my meal. I would not let any of these minor niggles put me off staying here again though.

  • John Robinson

  • July 2015

Peaceful Riverside Retreat

From the friendly welcome to the final departure this hotel experience was a joy - wonderful quiet riverside location with comfortable attic room, atmospheric traditional bar (excellent real ales, etc.) and fine restaurant.

A quiet base in a tastefully restored old building in a small heritage town from where to explore this severn side region - plenty to walk to see or venture further in a car or take the Severn Valley Railway steam train from the station just over the river. Nice to sit outside to enjoy the activity on the river in front of the hotel including large numbers of swans geese and ducks as well as rowers from the rowing club opposite - and a gentle flow of pedestrians along the riverside but no traffic.

  • jackie p

  • June 2015

Bewdley revisited

A wonderful room in an excellent location.

Just two problems - it was difficult to park in the allocated car park and the bathroom was incredibly dark. There's just one central light which is dim and does not light the room. It needs a light over the mirror and some spot lights.

  • Julian Watts

  • May 2015


Perfect place for a relaxing break.

Large room and characterful. Lots of good attention to detail. Breakfast very good and served at a sensible time on weekend/bank holiday. Beautiful location next to river. Car park close enough.


  • November 2014

riverside getaway

Very pleased with standard of accommodation, cleanliness and friendliness, location and nice breakfast.

Only downfall was that The Mughouse missed an opportunity by not suggesting we should book a table for our evening meal whilst booking the room, as It was we had to eat elsewhere, which was disappointing.

  • David C

  • November 2014

Great little hotel

Picturesque setting, beautiful building and the room was great.

Nice little touches that too many hotels ignore or forget. Great value for money, although I bet the time of year had something to do with the low price. Breakfast was great. Ingredients seemed fresh and locally sourced. Pub itself was nice on a winter's night.

The parking arrangements sound worse than they are. You'd find it easier to park on the main road (there's free 30 minute parking near the bridge) and walk down to get your pass (deposit required). The car park is easy to find and if you park at the bottom you're only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • David w

  • November 2014

Had a great weekend, totaly unplanned, staff fantastic couldnt be more helpful.

Booked an evening meal in the Angry Chef resturant just great. Breakfast made to order, great choice, hot well presented and plentiful. Couldnt get a more central location, car parking available close by. Accommodation worth every penny had great views of Severn and within walking distance of town centre. Bewdley vibrant, refreshing and interesting market town, good pubs and freindly people everywhere, steeped in history, loved it, will be back next summer

  • Dee R

  • November 2014

Riverside Tranquility

We had a lovely stay that was made more perfect by the sight of flying swans passing our window.

The room was very quaint; a ground floor of a riverside cottage that had been equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. A full length mirror would have been a useful addition, but we managed without. We will definitely stay again but perhaps in the upper room as there was some noise from creaking floorboards and maintenance workers. I suppose some may think that they added to the charm.