No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mug House Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
12 Severnside North , Bewdley, DY12 2EE
We are an AA 4 Star Inn with Rosette.
We are a busy bustling Pub with rooms above the bar and in the cottage annex next door & an AA rosette Restaurant of an evening. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you when you wander into this authentic old inn that rests by the river Severn, in the picturesque town of Bewdley.
Known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages with attractive Riverside frontages, this inn offers superb views of the Servern from its restaurant, The Angry Chef. In sunny climes, you can relax with a drink in the peaceful terrace area. The bar offers the finest real ales and hosts an annual beer festival.
The Mug House Inn has offered bed and breakfast accommodation for over 200 years, with the earliest recorded landlord present in 1820 but believed to have been open as long as the 17th century. The Inn has retained original beamed ceiling to capture the charm of yesteryear, whilst offering the modern amenities you will need for an enjoyable, relaxing stay.
Picture of The Mug House Inn, Bewdley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a place
Great place to stay. Clean and friendly. The room was much larger than you'd expect and they actually cater for people who drink more than 2 cups of tea in their room. Didn't need to ask for anything.

Reviewed by
e jones

From burslem, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway.
My husband and I took this break as a last minuet break, we thoroughly enjoyed it . The accommodation, food, hospitality ect, in the mug house was wonderful. Staff were more than helpful and very friendly.

Reviewed by
Jenny Hammond

From Broseley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend this B&B, it is in a great location with lovely rooms and hospitality to match.

Reviewed by
T Wilson

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most enjoyable stay,no faults every thing spot on.would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
valerie l

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant old inn
This is a very fine old inn on the banks of the River Severn with clean and comfortable accommodation and an excellent restaurant.
Our visit was only marred by the attitude of one staff member on checking in when she told us we couldn't have a table for dinner as we had not reserved one and was quite offhand and dismissive.
She said we had received notification of the need to pre-book (which we had not).and furthermore said"we are not an hotel we are a pub with rooms"
Another member of staff came to the rescue and saved the situation and we got a table in the restaurant and an excellent meal was had!
Apart from that incident which initially soured the total experience I would recommend this hostelry and would stay there again....if they would have us!!

Reviewed by
John L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bewdley - memories of childhood
How fabulous to see Bewdley again. My grandfather lived here when I was a kid, and I hadn't really spent much time here since he left us forty years ago. Great to be on the banks of the Severn, and see really how little this little gem of a town has changed. The Mug House is a traditional pub/restaurant, attractive, convivial and ideally situated. We loved it.

Reviewed by
D Johnson

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy value for money
Arrived quite early but the staff made every effort to get us into the room. Parking is free courtesy of the Mug House and is very close by.Room was lovely, very clean large bathroom both overlooking the river.Breakfast was excellent and was very relaxed which is nice for a chilled stay.All in all staff were great and we really enjoyed our stay at the Mug House.

Reviewed by
Alan K

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Cottage accommodation next to proper pub
Great location, friendly staff, fantastic food at a good price along with local ales - A fine establishment. Parking is provided a little walk from the pub. I really enjoyed my stay and Bewdley is a lovely town - although it was sunny at the time!

Reviewed by
James E

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub/restaurant in a pleasant riverside location.
We only stayed for one night on this occasion but found the ambience friendly, the food, especially the breakfast, very good value and our room in the cottage annex large and well equipped. We would certainly go back and would happily stay for longer.

Reviewed by
Roger C

From Blakeney, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect English inn with an emphasis on good food and service.
Riverside location in tranquil Bewdley, inviting bar with fire place, good range of ales and wines, comfortable seating and pleasant locals (dogs allowed in certain areas too). Accommdation is warm, clean comfortable with river views. The quality and range of meals served is a big attraction at this inn and is recomended even if you can't get a room here. The landord is vigilent and works hard to make guests feel welcome and well served.

Reviewed by
ian m

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next