No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
29-31 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel is a brand newly refurbished hotel in the heart of the literary district of London's Bloomsbury. Situated just 300 metres from Goodge Street London Underground Station., this Georgian building offers free Wi-Fi, full English breakfasts and en suite rooms. The hotel opened its doors to the public in November 2012 and is popular with both corporate and visitors.

The hotels listed features are combined with a carefully preserved 200-year-old Georgian heritage and exterior with modern facilities.

Most bedrooms have air conditioning, designer inspired mood-lighting, a TV with satellite channels. An en suite shower room and tea/coffee making facilities are also featured in each room. A full traditional cooked English breakfast is available every day and continental breakfasts are available on request.

The area a in the heart of the tourist centre of London and is within walking distance of all the major attractions London has to offer.

Most of the major bus routes travel down Gower Street, taking you almost anywhere in London. Oxford Street is around 15 minutes’ walk away
Picture of Bloomsbury Palace Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
26% recommended this accommodation to a friend 31% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smallest room I have ever stayed in london
I looked at the review of the hotel before I booked the accomodation. It was rated as 4*. I would give 1*.....The room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in a hotel. There was a room for bed, hardly any space to walk, no chair or table. had a wall mount TV, a phone and a kettle. The toilet was ever crampier, no space to sit in the toilet (I am slim built person), as the sink was too close to it, shower was ok.
Receptionist was good and welcoming, Food was ok. I was too tired after a long day meeting, didn't have energy to go and ask!
One of the worst experience I had in London.

Reviewed by
Velur B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is not a 4 or a 5 star hotel.
ot a 4-star hotel. Was on the third floor - hop lift, no offer of assistance with suitcase. Room booked was a 3-bed but consisted of 1 double bed and a fold down single bed. Although the room was clean (as one would expect but no more) the window frame was rotten and the blind wobbly. There was a quarter to half an inch of light from the hall shining under the door. Breakfast was awful. Old school fried bacon the smell of which permeated throughput the main haply of the hotel. The coffee barely deserved the name. Reception reminded me of my hosteling days. I was asked to pay on arrival yet my invoice was only provided on check-out.
This hotel has damaged my confidence in Laterooms.

Reviewed by
tom c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room just too small to consider again
Unsuitable size of room would prevent a return visit

Reviewed by
Andy S

From Pickering, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location near to Goodge St tube and buses, British Museum and many attractions. Excellent breakfast; courteous staff. I travelled alone and found the smallest single bedroom I have ever seen - the single bed took up width of room, beneath a window, tiny shower room, TV directly at end of bed etc. However, everything you need is there, and all modern and very clean. Bed very comfortable and I had a great night's sleep ready for a full day sightseeing.

Reviewed by
Sally L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great city break location
This small hotel is in a perfect location for the Embankment, South Bank, Drury Lane and Strand theatres and Covent Garden. the staff are very helpful indeed and no enquiry is too much trouble.The full English breakfast comes with fruit juices, fruit, cereal, toast etc. to give any sight seeing day a great start. Only drawbacks : the selection of hot drinks is limited, so if you have a favourite tea take some packets with you; the ensuite shower room is very well designed but city compact!

Reviewed by
Ann O

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
When I read the reviews on this hotel I had low expectations; however, it was much better than I expected. The room was very clean with a small but nice bathroom. Reception we're very helpful and friendly. It is also in great location. I will definitely use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single room that was a triumph of design
firstly, there is no getting away from it, the room was small. But it was a good value room exactly where I needed and let us be honest I never intended holding parties in it.
The room was clean, well appointed, lovely bathroom and generally did what it said on the tin. It was on the front with only secondary glazing so a tad noisy to be honest and in summer I reckon it could be stifling. An American lady staying at the same time had got moved so it is worth seeing if they have a better room available. Staff were excellent, nice lounge with daily papers and a fabulous breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Best

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Great location, however, the room I was in whilst adequate was tiny and faced the road so was noisy and the room door was opposite a swing door that banged loudly every time someone went through it. I has a poor nights sleep. Breakfast was much better than expected.

Reviewed by
andrew d

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK stay but street very very noisy with traffic right through night
Hotel was OK for one night stay. Room was very clean, bed was comfortable enough. Amazing how they packed everything necessary into such a small space. The main problem I had was the traffic noise, right through the night it was very audible with quite a few sirens going down the street even between midnight and five am. Breakfast doesn't start till 7.30am so no use if like me, you have an earlier start in the morning and have to leave hungry.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money, good quality room refurbished to a high standard, great customer service
I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel - having paid similar rates in the past this hotel and room were of a very high standard in comparison to most I've stayed at. The customer service on reception and at breakfast were excellent.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next