No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Simonsbath House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Simonsbath , Exmoor, TA24 7SH
Situated in the heart of Exmoor National Park, this 350 year old country house offers individually decorated rooms, an excellent restaurant and picturesque valley views. Set in what the locals refer to as "Exmoor Proper", Simonsbath House is perfectly placed amidst the splendour of Barle Valley, in the small hamlet of Simonsbath. With many great walks to be found
in the immediate vicinity, the hotel is ideally located to take in the stunning scenery of the surrounding moorland and the magnificent Exmoor
coastline.

With all rooms having picture postcard views of the Barle Valley you can sit and relax whilst planning your next walk along the banks of the picturesque river. Individually decorated, all bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower facilities, along with television, telephone, hairdryer and hospitality tray containing coffee and tea with biscuits and mineral water.

The spacious restaurant provides the perfect setting in which to enjoy a well prepared meal from the varied and eclectic menu. With dinner orders taken between 19:00 - 20:00 you are free to enjoy an unhurried dining experience that can be further enhanced with a bottle from the extensive wine list, which contains over 45 choices collated from around the world.
Breakfast is serves between 08:30 - 09:30 each day, providing you with a hearty meal to fuel the day ahead.

Most visitors to Exmoor come to enjoy peace and tranquillity while exploring the endless beautiful countryside, for which Simonsbath House offers the ideal base. Alternatively why not take a drive to some of the well known parts of Exmoor and its surrounding coast - just 7 miles will take you to the stunning scenery of Watersmeet on the East Lyn river, or follow the road further into Lynmouth with the cliff side railway connecting the town to Lynton. From here you can walk easily to the Valley of the Rocks or you can
go further to Woody Bay, Heddon's Mouth and the infamous Hunters Inn.

Alternatively the coastal resorts of Minehead, Ilfracombe and Croyde Bay are all within a short drive.

If you require a room that is suitable for a pet please contact the hotel at the time of booking to secure your request.
Picture of Simonsbath House Hotel, Exmoor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simonsbath splendour!
a weekend break with our big dog on the moor was what we wanted and the Simonsbath House Hotel was all we could have wished for. Lovely romantic room, great bed, a fabulous view to the River Barle, very good food, a huge selection of scotches and whiskies with luscious comfort, in the bar and lounge area. Andrew was a helpful and accommodating host and a fund of information about the Hotel and the area. We walked along the river in the morning, on the high moor later on and the coast the previous day before checking in. Lots to do and see. We intend to return.

Reviewed by
francesca d

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large clean bedroom and bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would book again as very peacefuk hotel and staff very helpful

Reviewed by
jenny s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
Everything was perfect, beautiful house and setting. No phone signal even better, marvellous escape wish we had more time to stay and explore the area.
Faultless staff and service. Excellent and plentiful breakfast

Reviewed by
R Clark

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very welcoming and very comfortable. The hotel was spotlessly clean with nothing seeming too much trouble for the convivial host and his wonderful cheery staff. Great breakfast. So good it was difficult to leave but I will be back! Thank you once again.

Reviewed by
Karen C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, cosy hotel
Welcoming and friendly atmosphere, good service from all staff, good food, quiet position with superb views from the room window.
This is a small but very friendly hotel and perfect as a base for enjoying the moor.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a Hotel
This was our 5 th stay at Simonsbath and as usual it was excellent, a warm welcome with a real fire beautiful .clean well maintained room and accommodating manager, very relaxed atmosphere, we will defintely be back.

Reviewed by
J Stevens

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
We had a brilliant weekend break, very relaxing, great staff made us very welcome. Lovely comfortable hotel with great food and atmosphere! Will definitely be returning! Thank you.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel situated in gorgeous Exmoor
Full of character Hotel, excellent service, really friendly and relaxing and being central to the moor for walking and short trips to coastal towns. Great breakfast to set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
Karen Reynolds

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel - friendly, homely, comfortable, great food and fabulous location.

Reviewed by
G Thomas

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly, the room was like a fridge.
We were greeted by friendly staff and first appearances were good. Unfortunately, the fridge was thick with mould and the bedroom was so cold our ten month old had an awful nights sleep. This left us feeling so tired that we decided not to stay the second night. To be fair to the staff they did only charge us for one night, were very apologetic and would definitely have made changes to the temperature for the second night. We were sad after reading all the great reviews that we didn't have a good time.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we welcome feedback both positive and negative and are always concerned when guests have any cause to complain. I am sorry that you found it cold overnight , as part of the booking conditions we hand out on arrival the heating times are listed and included in the £60 rental. As you were bringing a young baby the heating had been set from 6 am until 11 am and from 2 pm in the afternoon until 11.30 at night – additionally guests are always welcome to request an extension to these hours subject to a small additional charge. If you had felt it necessary we would have happily arranged for the heating to have remained throughout the night. Can I add my apologies for the mould that appeared in the fridge as this is clearly unacceptable, if that had been pointed out on arrival it would immediately have been rectified. However the problem should not have arisen as the housekeeper should have checked the fridge as she went into the property prior to your arrival to dust and ensure everything was tidy. Unfortunately as the cottage had only been occupied on a Bed and Breakfast basis since the Christmas holidays the fridge had been left on but unused creating the problem. In future we will ensure the fridges are always checked prior to arrival and during periods of low usage turned off to avoid any repetition.

Reviewed by
R Prior

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next