No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Simonsbath House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Simonsbath , Exmoor, TA24 7SH
Situated in the heart of Exmoor National Park, this 350 year old country house offers individually decorated rooms, an excellent restaurant and picturesque valley views. Set in what the locals refer to as "Exmoor Proper", Simonsbath House is perfectly placed amidst the splendour of Barle Valley, in the small hamlet of Simonsbath. With many great walks to be found
in the immediate vicinity, the hotel is ideally located to take in the stunning scenery of the surrounding moorland and the magnificent Exmoor
coastline.

With all rooms having picture postcard views of the Barle Valley you can sit and relax whilst planning your next walk along the banks of the picturesque river. Individually decorated, all bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower facilities, along with television, telephone, hairdryer and hospitality tray containing coffee and tea with biscuits and mineral water.

The spacious restaurant provides the perfect setting in which to enjoy a well prepared meal from the varied and eclectic menu. With dinner orders taken between 19:00 - 20:00 you are free to enjoy an unhurried dining experience that can be further enhanced with a bottle from the extensive wine list, which contains over 45 choices collated from around the world.
Breakfast is serves between 08:30 - 09:30 each day, providing you with a hearty meal to fuel the day ahead.

Most visitors to Exmoor come to enjoy peace and tranquillity while exploring the endless beautiful countryside, for which Simonsbath House offers the ideal base. Alternatively why not take a drive to some of the well known parts of Exmoor and its surrounding coast - just 7 miles will take you to the stunning scenery of Watersmeet on the East Lyn river, or follow the road further into Lynmouth with the cliff side railway connecting the town to Lynton. From here you can walk easily to the Valley of the Rocks or you can
go further to Woody Bay, Heddon's Mouth and the infamous Hunters Inn.

Alternatively the coastal resorts of Minehead, Ilfracombe and Croyde Bay are all within a short drive.

If you require a room that is suitable for a pet please contact the hotel at the time of booking to secure your request.
Picture of Simonsbath House Hotel, Exmoor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

22 Years later
My wife and I returned to the Simonsbath House Hotel after a gap of 22 years. We were delighted to find that the welcome and service was excellent. We had a lovely room with beautiful views of Exmoor and the river valley. Our evening meal was delicious and the suggested wine was just right. A wonderful place to stay if you want peace, quiet and beautiful countryside. The squeaky board n the bathroom might need fixing. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Charlie Werner

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every aspect of our stay was perfect, from the spacious room to the superbly cooked dinners and the wide choice at breakfast. The staff, in particular, went out of their way to make sure that we had a wonderful experience. We look forward to staying at Simonsbath House again!

Reviewed by
Tina N

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy retreat on exmoor
Quiet retreat in the middle of Exmoor
Perfect for a couple of days away from your busy life with log fires in the communal areas and very good customer service. Perfect as a base for walking holidays but just as good for spending hours in front of the fire with a book/newspaper and a glass of wine..
There is NO mobile signal at all but free WiFi keeps you connected to the outside world if needed

Reviewed by
Nick S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for Dogs
The cottage was well equipped for self catering, and roomy. Staff friendly, and helpful. Dogs loved their stay, walked locally, no stiles, beautiful countryside, dog friendly pubs nearby.

Reviewed by
K Nelson

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in a picturesque location
We booked a superior room for our anniversary and were not disappointed. The large room was well decorated and nicely furnished with a leather-upholstered sleigh bed and freshly decorated en suite. From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel incredibly welcome and comfortable by the very efficient and friendly service we experienced. The history of the hotel is fascinating and the public areas of the hotel are beautifully furnished, from the period features of the lounge with well-stocked bar and book cases, to the simple elegance of the dining room. We stayed for evening meal and for breakfast, and both were faultless. The menu offered variety and flexibility, and the food was excellent quality and value for money. The last feature which definitely deserves a mention is the breath-taking view from the hotel, stretching right through a small river valley between the rolling Exmoor hills. A fabulous stay in a wonderful place. We wish we had booked for longer and we will definitely be returning!

Reviewed by
Karen L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in a lovely setting
Very relaxed friendly place. We could hear the water cistern filling up all night but not too loud and so did not disturb our sleep significantly. Shower head is set high up on the wall with no slider to adjust the height. Shower pressure very low. Walls in room looked a little tired and could do with a lick of paint. Good tea and coffee making facilities. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine but did not spot that the room charge did not include breakfast until we were at the end of the telephone booking. We would stay here again if we got a good deal.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Bridgwater, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet, romantic retreat - we'll be back
Rather than stay in Barnstaple, we opted to go for Simonsbath House Hotel in the middle of Exmoor, and we are so glad we did. If you want seclusion, and quiet with good old-fashioned customer service, this is the place to go. Our room had a beautiful view across the valley and river, with a delightful four-poster bed, let down a little by dust around the pelmet area, but still a very romantic setting. Unfortunately we couldn't stay for dinner (the menu looks fabulous) as we were going out in the evening. The hotelier made sure there was someone there to greet us when we returned late - a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Rob B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome, character building in a beautiful quiet location with comfortable roomy lounge and rooms. Food good for the price and a fine wine list.

Reviewed by
Trevor Peake

From St Ives, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for the money food was very good comfy bed and very clean my only complaint was the shower that did not work who ever installed it must have been a 7ft giant.

Reviewed by
sheila thorn

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful break in a journey
Very friendly, clean and if we had more time that day we would have booked for much longer
than one night

Reviewed by
edward john d

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next