Simonsbath House Hotel

3

Simonsbath, Exmoor, TA24 7SH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nigel F

  • September 2013

Good location for Exmoor walks

Made to feel very welcome.

Dinner was very good with nice canapes included. Other nice touches like big fluffy towels, good quality Miles tea and coffee in room, good bar with mini poppadoms and nuts before dinner. The restaurant / breakfast room could do with some (light) background music for privacy. We could hear everybody's conversation. No mobile signal so if people want to contact you then bear this in mind. Only concern was room 9 needs a curtain in the bathroom.

  • Linda G

  • September 2013

No phone signal - fantastic!

Fantastic location, quiet and peaceful with outstanding views.

Excellent hospitality and superb freshly cooked food. Breakfast delicious and cooked to order

Vast selection of whiskies to finish off the evening

  • A Fay

  • September 2013

Very pleasant stay in a beautiful location with attentive and helpful hosts

  • Charlie Werner

  • August 2013

22 Years later

My wife and I returned to the Simonsbath House Hotel after a gap of 22 years.

We were delighted to find that the welcome and service was excellent. We had a lovely room with beautiful views of Exmoor and the river valley. Our evening meal was delicious and the suggested wine was just right. A wonderful place to stay if you want peace, quiet and beautiful countryside. The squeaky board n the bathroom might need fixing. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Tina N

  • August 2013

Every aspect of our stay was perfect, from the spacious room to the superbly cooked dinners and the wide choice at breakfast.

The staff, in particular, went out of their way to make sure that we had a wonderful experience. We look forward to staying at Simonsbath House again!

  • Nick S

  • August 2013

cosy retreat on exmoor

Quiet retreat in the middle of Exmoor Perfect for a couple of days away from your busy life with log fires in the communal areas and very good customer service.

Perfect as a base for walking holidays but just as good for spending hours in front of the fire with a book/newspaper and a glass of wine.. There is NO mobile signal at all but free WiFi keeps you connected to the outside world if needed

  • K Nelson

  • August 2013

Good for Dogs

The cottage was well equipped for self catering, and roomy.

Staff friendly, and helpful. Dogs loved their stay, walked locally, no stiles, beautiful countryside, dog friendly pubs nearby.

  • Karen L

  • August 2013

Beautiful hotel in a picturesque location

We booked a superior room for our anniversary and were not disappointed.

The large room was well decorated and nicely furnished with a leather-upholstered sleigh bed and freshly decorated en suite. From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel incredibly welcome and comfortable by the very efficient and friendly service we experienced. The history of the hotel is fascinating and the public areas of the hotel are beautifully furnished, from the period features of the lounge with well-stocked bar and book cases, to the simple elegance of the dining room. We stayed for evening meal and for breakfast, and both were faultless. The menu offered variety and flexibility, and the food was excellent quality and value for money. The last feature which definitely deserves a mention is the breath-taking view from the hotel, stretching right through a small river valley between the rolling Exmoor hills. A fabulous stay in a wonderful place. We wish we had booked for longer and we will definitely be returning!

  • Ian R

  • August 2013

Pleasant stay in a lovely setting

Very relaxed friendly place.

We could hear the water cistern filling up all night but not too loud and so did not disturb our sleep significantly. Shower head is set high up on the wall with no slider to adjust the height. Shower pressure very low. Walls in room looked a little tired and could do with a lick of paint. Good tea and coffee making facilities. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine but did not spot that the room charge did not include breakfast until we were at the end of the telephone booking. We would stay here again if we got a good deal.

  • Trevor Peake

  • July 2013

Great welcome, character building in a beautiful quiet location with comfortable roomy lounge and rooms.

Food good for the price and a fine wine list.