No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dreadnought Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Leny Road , Callander, FK17 8AN
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the Clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow Clansmen travelling to the north. The Dreadnought McNab Clan Motto Dread Nought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere

Centrally situated in the popular holiday town of Callander in the heart of the Trossachs, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break.

On arrival at the hotel you can expect the warmest of welcomes from our friendly staff who will ensure you enjoy a comfortable stay

Dining is available in the popular lounge bar, where a wide selection of freshly prepared Scottish cuisine is served throughout the day.

There are many attractions to enjoy in the area such as walks to the Bracklinn Falls, trips to Loch Lomond or Stirling Castle, playing golf at Callander Course.

The hotel is an approved licensed premise for holding civil ceremonies, always providing you with tastefully decorated suites,exceptional service and picturesque scenery for your wedding photography.

Picture of Dreadnought Hotel , Callander at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You Get What You Pay For
After phoning in the afternoon to tell staff we would be checking in late due to attending a wedding, we arrived to a locked up hotel. Upon phoning the hotel to endure how I should access my room I encounter questionable customer service. A few minutes later a gentleman came and let us into the hotel, he sorted our keys and took payment for our room and offered no apology. The room was basic and a bit dates but was clean and functional. However walking past several laundry bags stacked for collection both on check in and on leaving the following morning gave a negative impression. On the whole a disappointing stay however we paid £55 for the room for the night so I guess the price reflects the experience.

Reviewed by
Kelly I

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was basic, it was clean the bathroom could have done with an upgrade ,holes in tiles etc.

Reviewed by
j sinclair

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks lovely from the outside.
The parking for this hotel is terrible, it's a off road gravel wasteland full of pot holes, puddles & broken glass etc and less then ideal for pulling your suitcase along. Only room for around 10 cars but if the unused derelict out buildings where to be pulled down and the whole placed tarmacked you could easily make the place more attractive as this is the first part of the hotel you see before checking in. The inside of the building needs a good update, lovely old building but trapped in the 1970's. Shame the whole hotel couldn't be decorated to the same quality as the bar. Breakfast in the morning was nice and the staff where friendly.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't stay there again
I feel for the staff having to work in this very run down relic of the past. Paint work peeling, bed like a rock, towel in the bathroom for previous guest, no welcome book, so basic it was more like a youth hostel.

Reviewed by
F Murray

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A blot on the landscape for Callander
This place needs millions spent up on it to bring it up to the 90s standard never mind todays standard. Only stayed as handy stopping off point and it was 45 quid a night. Never agin look for something more expensive because callender is a beutiful town and should not suffer because of this hotel. This a throwback to the 70s. This type of hotel puts peeople off scotland. Dont stay here please dont!!

Reviewed by
noel berrie

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, but dated
Convenient to break the journey up, but dated. Having followed a coach party into breakfast, go the feeling that we were in the way.

Reviewed by
Jamie A

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awesome
Best night sleep if had in ages, good food and staff! Will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
maryanne adams

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Nice hotel. Staff are very friendly. Location is perfect and free on site parking. Room had all the necessary items and it was very quite. Would book again.

Reviewed by
N Dobson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Callander
Olde worlde but comfortable.

Reviewed by
C Hannan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could be nice hotel
Room was clean and comftable but shower was broken and wasnt sorted as no spare parts

Reviewed by
Brian C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next