No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Valley Road , Scarborough, YO11 2LX
"Highly Commended'" in the Yorkshire's Moors and Coast Tourism Awards 2008 and Discover Yorkshire Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for 'Outstanding Customer Service'.

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is based on the Main Road leading to the South Bay, only 10 minutes' walk to the Town Centre, the Sea Front and the Spa Complex.

Based on the lodge principal of affordable accommodation we have 33 bedrooms of varying shapes and sizes with all essential furnishings and family rooms that can sleep up to five people, 2 adults and 3 children, or 3 adults. We have recently finished refurbishment of all rooms, in a modern quirky theme.

All rooms are en-suite and boast home comforts such as TV's with Freeview and hospitality trays.

We have a Mobility 1 Awarded disabled room, which has a wet room with wheel in shower, shower seat and hand rails, and designated parking space at the side of the ground level door.

All floors are accessible by lift.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas.

We are Pet Friendly, so you can bring your dog to stay with us (additional charges occur).

The relaxing Crosby's Bar offers a range of beverages, and we have a patio area where you can sit and enjoy the Sun.

Our Bistro serves a wide selection of Award Winning (Visit England Breakfast Award July 2013) breakfast dishes, using locally sourced produced where available. We are able to cater for any dietary needs, e.g. nut allergy, Gluten Free

We also have the advantage of Free off Road Parking.

Group bookings are taken by prior arrangement.

We have 10 years' experience with educational visits.

Picture of The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Perfect!
It's a great location for a hotel! Shame that the room was very small, not well decorated and the bathroom is not up to standards, takes ages to have a shower... On the other hand your breakfast will be extremely tasty, with a great choice! Friendly staff!

Reviewed by
MARTA P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfy accommadation, shower was completely useless as there was no water pressure. On the plus side it's in a good position for the beach and the shops, plenty of free off road parking.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was really comfy just what we needed for our 1 night stay. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We decided to prebook breakfast on the evening at the resonable price of £6.95 each and were really happy when we came down the next morning.. Not only a full cooked breakfast with black pudding which kept my partner happy but you had the plenty of cereals to choose from and loads of fruit cheese and hams with as much toast as we wanted.. I will most definitely be returning to this hotel when I come back to Scarborough..

Reviewed by
Clare H

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic once again
After our lovely stay last month we have returned once again for a little break away and everything is just as good as before.
It was lovely to see the girls on reception once again and Helen the owner was there to welcome us back.
We were in a different room this time with beautiful décor. We enjoyed a few drinks in the evening in the bar and enjoyed chatting to other guests about their Scarborough experience.
We will be definitely returning again during the winter months.

Reviewed by
B Crowther

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely ...clean ..comfortable..and friendly had no problem with it ....we have stopped here before ...we wouldn't go any were else in Scarborough...thank you..we loved it and designs of the room beautifully decorated my granddaughter thought it was our house cos it was red interior just like my house...one happy customer thank you.. Gina Darcy.x

Reviewed by
gina darcy

From hartlepool, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful
The staff were extremely helpful with everything, they even provided us with information for a family show 'Magic Mike' to go too. Nothing seemed to be too much. The room was comfortable and maintained well. My husband and I have stayed here before and found it a generally good place to stay, we would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire S

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is a lovely small hotel, it is spotless,very comfy and the staff are very polite and friendly.
lt has a all round feel good factor about it.
The room dector is very original and quirky,ours had Moulin Rouge wall paper and touch sensitive bed side lamps which l found very refreshing as most hotels are much the same, old tired and dowdy.
Although we did not have breakfast here,it did smell very,very nice.
We did have a drink in the bar which was small and friendly and did a two for the price of one for an hour.
The only point that l would like to make which is not a complaint but an observation is that the drive is rather steep, so if you are like me,disabled,it can be a bit of a struggle, but overall we gave this hotel 9/10, very nice and would stay here again even with the steep drive, and would like to thank everyone for a lovely stay. Paul and Janet Thomas from Leeds.

Reviewed by
Paul Thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Lovely looking from the outside,receptionist was very helpful and friendly but was a bit disappointed with the size of the room for the money we paid,the sink was in the room where we slept which my partner was not happy with and i wouldn't of liked it very much if we were staying more than one night,the rooms advertised on the board when we walked in looked lovely,perhaps we were just unlucky as we booked late,the decor was very nice and pink!lol but just thought it was too small,fairly long walk to the sea front for the elderly and kids but ok for us about 15 mins

Reviewed by
S Preston

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't Be Returning
We stayed in The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge with our 2 children aged 4 and 8 month. Whilst I thought the room was reasonably priced when we were shown to it I was shocked how small it was and there were no wardrobes to hang up our clothes so for 2 nights we were tripping up over bags clothes and each other. The shower in the room was terrible and just trickled so we couldn't really use it. We ordered breakfast for the first morning which was very expensive for what it was plus I got charged for a child's breakfast for my 8 month old even when I had brought him his own weetabix and milk from home he just had a nibble on my toast and a taste of my 4 year olds yougurt. The lady at breakfast was lovely and helpful I believe she was the owner however the 2 other reception staff we encountered were rude and everything seemed an hassle to them. All in all we won't be going back a bit of a disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
Natalie l

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grandsons two day break
hotel and room spotless near to town and beach ideal for our short break

Reviewed by
Carole B

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next