No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Valley Road , Scarborough, YO11 2LX
"Highly Commended'" in the Yorkshire's Moors and Coast Tourism Awards 2008 and Discover Yorkshire Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for 'Outstanding Customer Service'.

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is based on the Main Road leading to the South Bay, only 10 minutes' walk to the Town Centre, the Sea Front and the Spa Complex.

Based on the lodge principal of affordable accommodation we have 33 bedrooms of varying shapes and sizes with all essential furnishings and family rooms that can sleep up to five people, 2 adults and 3 children, or 3 adults. We have recently finished refurbishment of all rooms, in a modern quirky theme.

All rooms are en-suite and boast home comforts such as TV's with Freeview and hospitality trays.

We have a Mobility 1 Awarded disabled room, which has a wet room with wheel in shower, shower seat and hand rails, and designated parking space at the side of the ground level door.

All floors are accessible by lift.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas.

We are Pet Friendly, so you can bring your dog to stay with us (additional charges occur).

The relaxing Crosby's Bar offers a range of beverages, and we have a patio area where you can sit and enjoy the Sun.

Our Bistro serves a wide selection of Award Winning (Visit England Breakfast Award July 2013) breakfast dishes, using locally sourced produced where available. We are able to cater for any dietary needs, e.g. nut allergy, Gluten Free

We also have the advantage of Free off Road Parking.

Group bookings are taken by prior arrangement.

We have 10 years' experience with educational visits.

Picture of The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely ...clean ..comfortable..and friendly had no problem with it ....we have stopped here before ...we wouldn't go any were else in Scarborough...thank you..we loved it and designs of the room beautifully decorated my granddaughter thought it was our house cos it was red interior just like my house...one happy customer thank you.. Gina Darcy.x

Reviewed by
gina darcy

From hartlepool, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful
The staff were extremely helpful with everything, they even provided us with information for a family show 'Magic Mike' to go too. Nothing seemed to be too much. The room was comfortable and maintained well. My husband and I have stayed here before and found it a generally good place to stay, we would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire S

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge is a lovely small hotel, it is spotless,very comfy and the staff are very polite and friendly.
lt has a all round feel good factor about it.
The room dector is very original and quirky,ours had Moulin Rouge wall paper and touch sensitive bed side lamps which l found very refreshing as most hotels are much the same, old tired and dowdy.
Although we did not have breakfast here,it did smell very,very nice.
We did have a drink in the bar which was small and friendly and did a two for the price of one for an hour.
The only point that l would like to make which is not a complaint but an observation is that the drive is rather steep, so if you are like me,disabled,it can be a bit of a struggle, but overall we gave this hotel 9/10, very nice and would stay here again even with the steep drive, and would like to thank everyone for a lovely stay. Paul and Janet Thomas from Leeds.

Reviewed by
Paul Thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Lovely looking from the outside,receptionist was very helpful and friendly but was a bit disappointed with the size of the room for the money we paid,the sink was in the room where we slept which my partner was not happy with and i wouldn't of liked it very much if we were staying more than one night,the rooms advertised on the board when we walked in looked lovely,perhaps we were just unlucky as we booked late,the decor was very nice and pink!lol but just thought it was too small,fairly long walk to the sea front for the elderly and kids but ok for us about 15 mins

Reviewed by
S Preston

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't Be Returning
We stayed in The Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge with our 2 children aged 4 and 8 month. Whilst I thought the room was reasonably priced when we were shown to it I was shocked how small it was and there were no wardrobes to hang up our clothes so for 2 nights we were tripping up over bags clothes and each other. The shower in the room was terrible and just trickled so we couldn't really use it. We ordered breakfast for the first morning which was very expensive for what it was plus I got charged for a child's breakfast for my 8 month old even when I had brought him his own weetabix and milk from home he just had a nibble on my toast and a taste of my 4 year olds yougurt. The lady at breakfast was lovely and helpful I believe she was the owner however the 2 other reception staff we encountered were rude and everything seemed an hassle to them. All in all we won't be going back a bit of a disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
Natalie l

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grandsons two day break
hotel and room spotless near to town and beach ideal for our short break

Reviewed by
Carole B

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday lodge
We stayed for 3 nights with 2 young children, 2 and 4.
Location:
10 minutes walk to sea front or town centre. The sea front was a nice easy stroll so very convenient.
Service:
Helpful receptionist and bistro manager. Staff very quick to help with getting a travel cot and iron. Cleaning staff were good.
Room:
The room we were given was in the annex. As with other reviews it can be very noisy as doors slam, floors creak and the walls are whisper thin. The online pictures are very deceptive as the rooms, apart from the decor, look nothing like them. The shower room (no bath, not good for young children) was a joke. The shower had no water pressure and it was very difficult to get a decent temperature. Also the sink was blocked and took a good 10-15 minutes to drain, only to fill straight up once the tap was turned back on. This contributed to a very smelly bathroom. It was mentioned to the cleaning staff but nothing was done. The beds were ok a double bed with a bunk bed as well.
Food:
On the first day we had a full breakfast and it was very good. However, on the 2nd day we ordered 2 takeaway sausage sarnies which were delivered to the room (nice touch but I did say I would come down to get them). Cost for 2 sarnies on a small breadcake, £9.90.
Parking:
Brilliant. Plenty of room even when some people like to take up 2 spaces. Well lit and safe.
Overall:
Pleasant hotel in need of refurbishment ( even though this has been done). The main hotel looks much better. A good plumber is required to sort issues out as a few other guests have also commented on drainage issues.

Reviewed by
T Davis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Diaboloical
This hotel leaves a lot to be desired, the photograph of the rooms in the advert are VERY misleading.
Room 23 had no ventilation and no bigger than a broom cupboard! We requested a change which was given. Room 25 was slightly bigger and had an opening window. Hooray!!!!!
The bar area reminded me of a guest house very similar to the 1950's in Blackpool, the chairs were rickety with plastic polka dot table cloths, attempting to give the place an atmosphere. It failed.
There was no opening times for the bistro displayed anywhere. The weather was appalling, we attempted to book an evening meal on the premises, so we asked at the reception if we could book a table in the Bistro. We were informed that we could get a meal at a carvery next door. The bistro was clearly not open. The carvery finished serving at 5 o'clock..........we wanted an evening meal not tea.
We eventually found a brilliant restaurant in town, the Golden Grid.
This was not a pleasant experience of Scarborough at £65 per night, room only. We had a better quality four star guest house at two thirds of the price and included an exceptional breakfast in Whitby.

Reviewed by
J King

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home From Home
It was our first time in Scarborough and we will most definite be back.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff are superb and the room was amazing for the price and the free parking is a massive bonus!! Plenty of choice for breakfast for all the family.I also did notice that this was pet friendly also which is fantastic with family's who have dogs keep up the great work very homely.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
I wont be returning to this hotel. The room was dirty don't know how long ago it had a good dust! The cups that were left for a cup of tea were scruffy! Still sticky with the remains of a drink at the bottom from the last customer. The room was very small the bunk beds bashed off the wall whenever my daughter turned in her sleep needless to say we had no hardly no sleep! The mattress was very uncomfortable. I wouldn't even let my kids have a shower as the bathroom was very dirty. I was glad we were only here for 1 night we handed the keys back as soon as possible on the morning and we couldn't wait to leave! We were in the annex part of the hotel it was quiet on a night and plenty of parking but based on the cleanliness I wont be returning.Not worth the price we paid!

Reviewed by
l corner

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next