No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clapham , Settle, LA2 8HH

The New Inn situated a few miles away from Settle is an eighteenth century Coaching Inn that has been lovingly and carefully restored to offer quality accommodation. Set in the magnificent Yorkshire Dales National Park this hotel offers free Wi-Fi and high standards of accommodation at affordable prices and is ideal for visiting many places such as the nearby Lake District or enjoy a trip on the Settle/Carlisle Railway. Whatever your requirements The New Inn is the perfect retreat.

A traditional Yorkshire Dales hotel with all bedrooms having full central heating, their own bathrooms, colour televisions, hair dryers, tea and coffee trays, designed to make your stay "home from home".

Excellent facilities are provided with a guest Lounge situated on the first floor, first class restaurant which serves Australian, contemporary food and also has three bars. . The hotel also boasts a traditional wood burning stove to enjoy in the winter months.

The New Inn offers many attractions such as walking in the Yorkshire Dales or walk the three Peaks of Ingleborough, Whernside and Pen-y-Ghent. Or maybe you could enjoy a day out on the Settle/Carlisle Railway or play Golf at
nearby centres. Drive and explore the beautiful surrounding Dales and villages. Visit the Lake District, only a short drive away and see the many
Castles, Abbeys and Stately Homes of the area.
Picture of New Inn Hotel, Settle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improvements on going, but fantastic where completed
The work being done on the rooms and bar will make this the best hotel in the area - the room we stayed in was recently refurbished and was really comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geoff Winch
Very friendly clean good staff

Reviewed by
Geoff Winch

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immaculate room in a beautiful location
Immaculately finished room attached to an old Inn in a beautiful location, perfect for the three peaks challenge or long country walks. Very friendly and accomodating staff/management. The food was great. Would highly reccomend.

Reviewed by
V Kelley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a look...
Vwey much a last minute pick, my wife and I stayed at the New Inn for a single night last week. It's clearly been allowed to slide (decor wise) for some years, and both our room and the bar/restaurant show signs of benign neglect. The food, however, was excellent and the bar and restaurant staff highly attentive and friendly. Only a curmudgeon would object. Speaking to the manager prior to leaving, we were told that the previous owners had indeed allowed the place to slide, and that a £500,000 refit was under way (as evidenced by fabric swatches in reception).
It's March as I type this, and the refit should be complete by Xmas - at that point, I intend to visit again for a longer stay, as there's so much potential there, and the basics (service, grub) are already excellent, so with a revamp I would expect to see it nudge into the sixes for practically everything available!

Reviewed by
Simon Carter

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good news
On a return visit we found new owners had arrived just 3 weeks previously and were already refurbishing this grand old building to its full potential a few rooms at a time ,target completion year end, outgoing skips showed great progress . Staff were friendly, helpful and well motivated multi tasking well .A lively bar with a good selection of beers Excellent breakfast ,dinners mixed, hotel well heated in the cold spell . Perfect situation for walking .We certainly hope to return later in the year .

Reviewed by
Peter Edwards

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing experience
arrived at hotel to be told we had not been booked in - fortunately there was a vacant room. Bar area was cold so didn't change for evening meal. Offered a menu with no prices and meal could only be described as average. However the hotel did redeem itself at breakfast which was delicious. Had to leave card details on piece of paper at checkout because phone connection to bank was down - we will be keeping an eye on our bank statements! We had stayed at this hotel on a previous occasion, hence our return, but may not return again because of our experience.

Reviewed by
d scott

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for walkers, forget it for a couple's weekend
Reviewers often seem just to moan, so I think it's important to give the pros and cons for this property.
What's good?
- customer service and friendliness of staff
- good bar area and traditional pub feel
- pretty good evening meals
What's not so good?
- the quality of the bedroom is the biggest letdown - the room needed serious modernisation, with outdated decor in the room we stayed.
- an overall 'tired' feeling to the room - the web photos really are quite misleading
- definitely not for you if you're looking for a romantic weekend away as a couple
- quality of the breakfast was 'fair' at best
Sorry, but so many pubs and B&Bs do so much better than the New Inn.

Reviewed by
Neil Shaw

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.