No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandford House Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
37 St. Julians Friars , Shrewsbury, SY1 1XL
Sandford House is located in Shrewsbury town centre, providing guest accommodation.

We offer 19 guest bedrooms, all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers,Tea & coffee making facilities.

We only cater for bed and breakfast as we are in the town centre surrounded by all the restaurants and bars.

Free Wi FI

Children welcome

Well behaved pets are welcome at The Sanford House Hotel at a charge of £5.00 for each animal. Please advise the hotel in advance if you bring a pet.

SECURE OFF STREET PARKING NEXT TO THE HOTEL
FREE PARKING AFTER 6.00pm
Picture of Sandford House Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Warm Welcome
I arrived after a stressful journey and found a warm welcome at this centrally located but quiet hotel. A great stay and highly recommended

Reviewed by
Bev A

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Used the "Sandford" because we couldn't get in at our usual hotel.
Found staff friendly, breakfast was fine and car parking was pretty handy.
The real attraction is the location.
Its a bit homely and comfy in a sort of seaside B and B sort of a way..........would we stay there again.........yes probably, if we couldn't get our usual place.

Reviewed by
n rhodes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
My room was on the top (2nd) floor - no problem for me to carry my luggage up a narrowish staircase but could be an issue (haven't asked about or seen myself a lift). Room itself clean, spacious and warm (as I suffer from cold I needed extra blanket during night time). Bed comfortable, standard double size; however for a tall person (190cm or 6.2feet and over) could be a problem as there is a solid frame at the bottom of the bed. Bathroom - clean, towels changed every day. Shower cubicle - good size, water pressure weak to wash long hair (took a long time to wash off shampoo/conditioner) otherwise no problem. Food - can't comment as I didn't use the offer 'bed and breakfast' (I like my sleep and had to leave 8.30am each morning because of business). Wi-Fi available and free. Parking not on site but public car park is very close ("just around the corner") and is free between 6pm-8am time (£1.20 for an hour). Location good as close to the center and nice pubs/bars&restaurants near by. I stayed for 4 nights. Overall I do recommend this place and would stay again (I payed a discounted prize as offered via laterooms).

Reviewed by
Jana K

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely well run Hotel
Enjoyed our stay , lovely room, very comfortable beds, bathroom nice and clean, was just a little too hot when the heating was on, breakfast was good but a little too early for my liking. But saying that i would definatley book to stay here again, excellent location for the town , shopping and nightlife.

Reviewed by
c Rushton

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandford House
Excellent hotel- well worth the price !

Reviewed by
Julie I

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely historical building. Chatty and friendly owners. Yummy breakfast.
lovely historical building. Chatty and friendly owners. Yummy breakfast. Beautiful garden. Great location.

Reviewed by
Emma L

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No fuss value for money
Dog friendly. Affable owner and excellent breakfast. No negatives

Reviewed by
howard t

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The room was a little dated in its decoration and furnishings, but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but again very clean and functional. The floor boards in the bathroom were exceptionally creaky - not a problem for us, but may have been for the guests in the room below! Breakfast was cooked fresh and was very tasty and the hosts were friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Nick R

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shrewsbury center
Good location, parking nearby, comfortable rooms, good cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
STEPHEN D

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next