Reviews - Sandford House Hotel


37 St. Julians Friars, Shrewsbury, SY1 1XL

Price From 158.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Staffieri

  • September 2015

Hotel tidy and friendly but as soon as I walked in hit by that smell of "air freshner" used to cover up other smells.

Room was clean and tidy, bed fantastically comfortable. Didn't understand how to put kettle . Thus is simple but there were two completely unrelated switches and no explanation about 'quirky'set no cuppa first thing which is a must for me. Location brilliant but the next night we stayed in a serviced apartment in Bristol bang smack on the waterfront for £10 more and the standards were incomparable. Think the accomodation overpriced especially for a late room. Landlady very friendly.

  • Graham A

  • September 2015

Great position, short walk to city centre, friendly staff and clean rooms

Very good rooms, clean and interesting.

Good bed and quiet. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel and would stay again if ever back in Shrewsbury.

  • B Smith

  • September 2015

Sandford House Hotel

If a map of the immediate area was on the website, then finding the nearest car park would have been easier.

We paid £7.20 for the 24 hour stay at an NCP. However, this car park was locked overnight and patrolled during the day and so gave us some confidence. Apparently a nearer car park makes no charge after 6 pm.

  • A Riedl

  • August 2015

Sandford House Hotel

  • Jim G

  • June 2015

Excellent location

The location of this hotel is perfect.

Right on the edge of the town, parking within a 30 second walk (£5 for the weekend) it is very clean and the owners are very pleasant. Because of this it was easy to ignore the lack of attention to detail-the cracked sink, broken tap, the sharp bit of broken plastic on the light pull, the fact that you couldn't watch the tv from the bed as it was on a bracket that you couldn't turn, no biscuits, etc

If attention to detail matters to you then I would say maybe pay a bit more and stay else where.

  • M Axe

  • May 2015

short stay in shrewsbury

Nice hotel and location.

No car park, public car park very close. Room not ready at =12.00, important as we needed to change for a wedding. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • B Hawkins

  • May 2015

Shrewbury Town Weekend Break

Had to get away from the city so we found and stayed at the Sandford House Hotel which is ideally situated for exploring and enjoying Shrewsbury and centrally located for exploring Shropshire, Mid Wales, and the Midlands.

The hotel itself is quiet, clean, has some lovely period features and a garden, with the river Severn nearby. The whole experience was perfect and we came back refreshed and sated. One couldn't have asked for more.

  • Diana Churchill

  • April 2015

Perfectly OK

Everything was perfectly adequate - clean and modern.

Breakfast was perfectly OK.

  • Lesley S

  • March 2015

Nice clean friendly hotel ideally situated for the centre of Shrewsbury.

Within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Parking close by.

  • Richard T

  • February 2015

Good VFM, clean, basic accommodation

Good VFM, clean rooms, basic, but comfortable.

Could not get wifi to work in Annexe in the garden, where a number of the rooms are. No breakfast after 10am on Sunday.