No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandford House Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
37 St. Julians Friars , Shrewsbury, SY1 1XL
Sandford House is located in Shrewsbury town centre, providing guest accommodation.

We offer 19 guest bedrooms, all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers,Tea & coffee making facilities.

We only cater for bed and breakfast as we are in the town centre surrounded by all the restaurants and bars.

Free Wi FI

Children welcome

Well behaved pets are welcome at The Sanford House Hotel at a charge of £5.00 for each animal. Please advise the hotel in advance if you bring a pet.

SECURE OFF STREET PARKING NEXT TO THE HOTEL
FREE PARKING AFTER 6.00pm
Picture of Sandford House Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful hotel.
Fantastic host and a cracking little hotel right in the heart of Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
S Fellows

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, quaint hotel, a short walk from shrewsbury's shops & restaurants and the river severn
Sandford House Hotel has a small, well-kept garden that you must walk through to get to the accommodation block (i.e. that I stayed in). The rooms within this block were of a good standard, however, do not expect ultra-modern rooms as Sanford House Hotel is family-run and does not have the same amount of budget that big hotel chains have. Everything that I expected was catered for and it was great to speak with the owner, Ceri, at breakfast who is very helpful in providing information on the best restaurants and attractions in Shrewsbury. His knowledge of the hotel's past and of Shrewsbury itself was very interesting. Overall, a comfortable stay and a hotel that I would recommend to other short-stay visitors to Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
Steve Moss

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcome by Buiscuit the dog and her human friends, helpful and pleasant. My room was spacious and clean. The only downside was breakfast was served between 8.00am and 9.00am which was a little early for us holiday makers!

Reviewed by
Gail A

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly, really clean and comfortable. The rooms are amazing considering the great price.

Reviewed by
B Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why call this a hotel?
Absolutely nothing to complain about because my employer paid the bill. Even the boiled eggs at breakfast were cooked to perfection and this is a dying art, sadly.
Privately though, a hotel without a bar and restaurant? As such, over-priced. The Lion Hotel (discovered later) just 200 yards away represents much better value for money.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take care with the roads!
Handy for the city centre, but car access is difficult to find due to the road recently being blocked off by the council as a trial one way system!
Great bacon with the cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy guest
would definitely place Sandford House at the top of my list for a return visit to Shrewsbury and would have no hesitation recommending to friends.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Winsford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick alternative to original booking which was out in the country. Sandford Hotel was very central and convenient for town of Shrewsbury. Found rooms a little noisy, echoey. Food plentiful and adequate but not inspired.

Reviewed by
P Fanshawe

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandford House 5/10/13
Good hotel, staff friendly offering advice on where to go in Shrewsbury on arrival.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
I stayed at Sandford House Hotel last Saturday night, and my overall impression was poor. I'm not surprised that I was asked to pay in advance, as I would have been reluctant to pay the full price after my experience. The location seemed good at first- close to the river and the town. However the room was very hot, even though we had the window open. This meant that I hardly slept at all as there was noise from people going home from pubs until 4am. The light in the bathroom and the fan were faulty and would not switch off either. Breakfast was very uninspiring in a very dated dining room, served by a less than friendly girl whose accent was difficult to understand.

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next