No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cotford Hotel

3AA Telah dinilai Hotel Ratings explained
51 Graham Road , Malvern, WR14 2HU
Beautiful family run Victorian hotel, built in 1851. It retains its original charm and character with the luxury of modern amenities. All of the bedrooms are conveniently en-suite and non-smoking with satellite television, telephone, high speed Internet connection,, radio, hairdryer and tea-making facilities. Our restaurant has recently gained its first AA rosette and is of a very high standard offering fresh, home-made food with a varied menu which changes regularly. The Cotford is just a few minutes walk from Malvern Town Centre, Theatre, Cinema and Hills but is set away from the road in its own beautiful, mature gardens to add peace and tranquility to your stay.The Cotford Hotel's truly unique gothic atmosphere and antiquated ambience must be experienced first-hand to to do it justice!
Picture of The Cotford Hotel, Malvern at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best
could not fault it would not hesitate in recommeding the hotel to anyone .staff were extremly helpfull and polite .

Reviewed by
glyn thomas

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

interesting and tasty food. Quiet room with good blackout. Pleasant helpful staff. Good location for the theatre.

Reviewed by
Marion S

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family run hotel very close to central Great Malvern but very quiet
We chose the Cotford as being close to the Malverns for a last minute getaway weekend over the August bank holiday. The hotel was easy to find and only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Great Malvern - far enough away to be lovely and quiet but close enough to get into the centre easily. We were greeted on arrival by Hector, the Airedale Terrier which was lovely - for those who don't like dogs don't be put off as Hector was very gentlemanly with none of the jumping up stuff you'd expect from a badly-trained dog!
We arrived at around 12:45 as the website we had booked through said that check-in was available from 12pm. We were told it was actually 2pm check-in onm arrival so they kindly stored our bags. Only a minor gripe really, and it gave us chance to look around the beautiful gardens around the hotel which have to be the best I've seen for a hotel of this size. There was also a wedding on when we arrived and the staff were understandably busy, but we didn't feel as though we had been shoved to one side.
When we checked in we were in room 16 which is at the back of the hotel and quiet. It is the smallest double room in the hotel (as I was told later by the owner) but in this case the description 'small yet perfectly formed' was appropriate - a lovely room tucked in the eaves, nice bathroom, really all we needed - if you like a lot of room one of the larger deluxe bedrooms may suit better, but we were perfectly happy.
We stayed 2 nights - the first night we couldn't get into the restaurant as it was full, but we booked for the second night - the meal and service were superb.
Apparently all the bedrooms have been recently refurbished - of course I couldn't verify that but ours certainly has been, there is also a lovely contempary bar, the entrance lobby, lounge, and dining room are more traditional but well looked after.
Breakfast was included in our booking and is an excellent selection as you would expect from a hotel of this quality.
Overall a great experience - I would come back for another break in the Malverns just to stay in this hotel again! Please keep up this great standard!
P & J

Reviewed by
Paul R

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
It began as any normal saturday morning: well, for myself and my baby son Teddy it did anyway: with croissants. And peanut butter. And some animated television. But this was no ordinary Saturday: this was the day that our friends Sarah and Paul were joining in the wonderful institution of marriage! As we live 100 miles apart, it was down to trusty old Laterooms to find us the cheapest and closest hotel available. So The Cotford Hotel it was...
The Cotford is a majestic little gem a stone's throw from the centre of the lovely (but hilly) little town of Malvern. We were greeted by the very noble, yet somewhat aloof resident hound Hector (we had been calling him Victor, so perhaps this explains the haughtiness!). Having paid only £80 for a single room, we were expecting somewhere only to bed down for the night. Luckily, our senses were in for quite a treat: beautiful gothic windows, plush sofas, antique dressers. The cotford is exactly how I would choose to have my own home, if I were to come into some good fortune! Knowing that this is pretty darn unlikely, was the only thing that put a dampener on our stay.
Despite it's lovliness, the staff , and even the other residents were all so friendly, and there was absolutely nothing stuffy about the place.
Our room was crystal clean, cosy, and comfortable. There were lots of luxurious little treats in the bathroom, and some hi-tech gadgets (by my standards- an ipod docking station and alarm clock). Teddy particularly liked the empty chest of drawers, which he promptly hid all of my footwear in. Breakfast was very tasty: Teddy would recommend the hot homemade croissants.
In comparison to a certain 4* "luxury" chain hotel that we recently stayed in, this place was like heaven itself. Quite simply, this is a palce where you feel like you're being spoiled, and really, that's exactly what a hotel should do. Thankyou very much for our lovely stay.
Hollie and Teddy C.

Reviewed by
Hollie C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
Again, another relaxing time spent here with helpful and friendly staff. We stayed here a few weeks ago and decided to bring my parents in law and they enjoyed it as much as we did. We enjoyed being able to sit in the comfortable lounge in the evening with a drink. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated with everything you could wish for.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food - wonderful. Accommodation - well ...
I spent three nights at the Cotsford Hotel (Sunday to Tuesday): I had been to a conference and was spending a couple of extra days in Malvern. The hotel has been recently renovated, the decor is impressive, and the communal areas are fresh and comfortable. However, I was disappointed to find that the room I had been allocated was small and dark (it only had one small window which faced onto a wall.) There was also an unpleasant smell. I opened the window to dilute it, whereupon it was replaced with the smell of cooking! The following morning, the output from the shower turned out to be feeble (one thing to which I look forward when staying at a hotel is that invigorating blast of hot water, so this was very disappointing.)
I complained about the smell in the room, and was told that it was probably the carpet, which was brand new (the carpet did have a smell - but it was not unpleasant, and certainly wasn't the whole story.) I asked if I could move to another room, and was told that the only room available was even smaller than my current one: however, I found that this room (no.7), although tiny, faced south, with a view over the garden, and was light and welcoming - so I agreed to move (finding room for my luggage was a bit of a problem, but I managed it.) (I was told that single rooms are always small, and I should have booked a double or twin for single occupancy. Fair comment - but this would have cost a lot more! Solo travellers (especially businessmen) must be one of the mainstays of the hotel trade - so why is it that they so often seem to get a poor deal?)
The publicity about the hotel (both the brochures and the web page) give the impression of a warm and friendly welcome. All I can say is that this was not my experience. During my entire stay, I was not once asked why I was in Malvern, what my plans were, or (even when I checked out) whether I had enjoyed my stay.
I ate in the restaurant on two of the three evenings - and found, as other reviewers have remarked, that the food was outstanding, fully justifying the two AA rosettes. The desserts were the stars of the show - the fruit salad which I had on the first evening was served with a homemade lavender ice-cream, which I will remember for a long time.
I would definitely eat at the restaurant again. Whether I would stay at the hotel would depend on whether a double or twin room was available (and whether the performance of the showers had been improved!)

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we were looking for
We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. The room was newly decorated and appointed to a high standard and the shower room was clean with towels and toiletries of a high standard. The hotel has been decorated to a high standard to be in keeping with the Victorian building. A really comfortable and relaxed stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
The accommodation was fine though small and the room was rather hot. I have stayed here before but it would never be my choice of accommodation in this area as I do not feel it offers good facilities (Wifi, workspace etc in the room) or value for money.

Reviewed by
Julie E

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.