Porth Avallen Hotel

3

Sea Road, Carlyon Bay, St Austell, PL25 3SG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tina C

  • September 2014

Great hotel

We had a fantastic overnight stay.

The room, staff and food were all excellent. Could not fault it at all

  • Hillary C

  • January 2014

Charming, but BADLY in need of updating.

I read a few reviews of this hotel on another site and, as is my usual course of action, ignored the bad ones, as I find most people entirely too precious/expecting entirely too much of small hotels and have rarely had reason to complain from personal experience.

For once I wish I hadn't ignored them. This hotel came with two loud warnings, amid the din of your usual review site moaning: decor (value for money) and water pressure. And I must say they were fair warnings, even for the least precious holiday makers among us. While the staff were spectacularly friendly and helpful, the hotel is...simply put...desperate for an update. The decor is dated, which would be charming, in a mid-70s, country kitsch sort of way; if the beds weren't clearly past their shelf life (my partner actually took two days to recover form the back ache that the bed gave him), the wallpaper weren't peeling, and the shower pressure coudn't be more aptly described as...a trickle. All of this is a fantastic shame, as the place sits atop a truly gorgeous cliff, offering stunning sea views (GREAT for tea/brekkie overlooking the sea), and its proximity to the little fishing village of Charlestown/the rest of Cornwall really is ideal. Alltogether a disappointing stay, despite the best efforts of a few thoroughly charming members of staff. Please, management - this could be a real gem, but someone MUST wash the dust off!

  • Y Hawtin

  • January 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Customer service made our stay. Rooms were maybe a little dated, but clean and comfy. Location was great - beautiful views when the weather allowed. Hotel was right next to the coastal path - lovely walk to the pub. Ate in the hotel one evening, food was really good.

  • S Ponting

  • October 2013

Great views

Friendly staff, upgraded our rooms to sea view, really great views.

Breakfast was really good too. Only downside was the weather, being up so high, the hotel was hit by wind and rain which woke us up but it didn't affect our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location for visiting Cornwall, and close to the Eden Project.

  • Ian Bryden

  • October 2013

Gem of a hotel on Carlyon Bay

We had a spacious and well appointed room that had a panoramic view over Carlyon Bay.

We chose to eat in the bar and, although the winter menu was in operation, food was excellent and beautifully presented. All of this was topped off by the enthusiasm and energy of the owner, who always seemed to be available with good advice on menu, wines, places to visit, and was never short of a good anecdote. While there we visited the Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan which were just c 20 minutes away. We stayed for just two nights but wished that we had planned to stay longer. We had a really great time.

  • Marjorie Evans

  • September 2013

Relaxed luxury

Staff were welcoming and made every effort to accommodate my dietary requirements.

Easily accessible, quiet location, lovely ambience, superb food. Will visit again

  • stephen m

  • September 2013

Just annoyed that after being advised they could cater for my food allergy, we arrived early knowing we couldn't check in but wanted to confirm they had noted my lactose allergy.

The guy on reception snapped and said you can't check in till three, have you bought your own milk. He said he would sort, when it come to breakfast no soya milk. Waitress bless her sorted after a wait. Manager and receptionist just blamed each other and then I was told people normally bring there own, surely not ig hotel say they will sort. Hotel itself is very clean and in a stunning location

  • M Hughes

  • August 2013

Fantastic hotel

The Porth Avallen is a fantastic and comfortable hotel, with fantastic views, peaceful gardens and their customer service impeccable.

The decor of the rooms maybe slightly dated but they are spotless and comfortable.

The Restaurant menu is fantastic as is The Brasserie menu , the food being of high quality and ample servings. I couldn't find fault with the staff or services and although I was visiting on business I intend to return for a personal visit. Great hotel, worthy of more than 3***.

  • Tim C

  • August 2013

Excellent position

Excellent position friendly staff although missing a few touches of class.

  • James E

  • August 2013

A very good choice

A beautiful location and we were blessed with a superior room with a glorious view of the Bay.

Good facilities. Friendly staff - though manager possibly over zealous with enforcement of "leave the key" when leaving building. Hair dryer in bathroom looked a danger. Paint missing from bedroom door surround, but reasonably small issues that did not detract from an enjoyable 3 night stay. Food was ample and good quality. Several German guests. Ample car parking. Road outside was not busy.