No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Porth Avallen Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sea Road, Carlyon Bay , St Austell, PL25 3SG
With our 28 well appointed en-suite rooms we are the best kept secret in Cornwall. Our spectacular cliff top location and 180 degree sea view over St Austell Bay, makes us the ideal place to stay and explore Cornwall's many attractions, such as The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan to name but a few. Our award-winning chefs work closely with Cornish suppliers to bring you the very best and freshest seasonal produce. We have a selection of Superior, Luxury and Standard en-suite rooms.
The Porth Avallen Hotel is the ideal venue for any celebration and we can cater for groups of up to 150 persons.
Our saying is: The only thing we overlook is the bay!
Picture of Porth Avallen Hotel, St Austell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming, but BADLY in need of updating.
I read a few reviews of this hotel on another site and, as is my usual course of action, ignored the bad ones, as I find most people entirely too precious/expecting entirely too much of small hotels and have rarely had reason to complain from personal experience. For once I wish I hadn't ignored them. This hotel came with two loud warnings, amid the din of your usual review site moaning: decor (value for money) and water pressure. And I must say they were fair warnings, even for the least precious holiday makers among us. While the staff were spectacularly friendly and helpful, the hotel is...simply put...desperate for an update. The decor is dated, which would be charming, in a mid-70s, country kitsch sort of way; if the beds weren't clearly past their shelf life (my partner actually took two days to recover form the back ache that the bed gave him), the wallpaper weren't peeling, and the shower pressure coudn't be more aptly described as...a trickle. All of this is a fantastic shame, as the place sits atop a truly gorgeous cliff, offering stunning sea views (GREAT for tea/brekkie overlooking the sea), and its proximity to the little fishing village of Charlestown/the rest of Cornwall really is ideal. Alltogether a disappointing stay, despite the best efforts of a few thoroughly charming members of staff. Please, management - this could be a real gem, but someone MUST wash the dust off!

Reviewed by
Hillary C

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Friendly staff, upgraded our rooms to sea view, really great views. Breakfast was really good too. Only downside was the weather, being up so high, the hotel was hit by wind and rain which woke us up but it didn't affect our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location for visiting Cornwall, and close to the Eden Project.

Reviewed by
S Ponting

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a hotel on Carlyon Bay
We had a spacious and well appointed room that had a panoramic view over Carlyon Bay. We chose to eat in the bar and, although the winter menu was in operation, food was excellent and beautifully presented. All of this was topped off by the enthusiasm and energy of the owner, who always seemed to be available with good advice on menu, wines, places to visit, and was never short of a good anecdote. While there we visited the Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan which were just c 20 minutes away. We stayed for just two nights but wished that we had planned to stay longer. We had a really great time.

Reviewed by
Ian Bryden

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful. Customer service made our stay. Rooms were maybe a little dated, but clean and comfy. Location was great - beautiful views when the weather allowed. Hotel was right next to the coastal path - lovely walk to the pub. Ate in the hotel one evening, food was really good.

Reviewed by
Y Hawtin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed luxury
Staff were welcoming and made every effort to accommodate my dietary requirements. Easily accessible, quiet location, lovely ambience, superb food. Will visit again

Reviewed by
Marjorie Evans

From Chepstow, Wales
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just annoyed that after being advised they could cater for my food allergy, we arrived early knowing we couldn't check in but wanted to confirm they had noted my lactose allergy. The guy on reception snapped and said you can't check in till three, have you bought your own milk. He said he would sort, when it come to breakfast no soya milk. Waitress bless her sorted after a wait. Manager and receptionist just blamed each other and then I was told people normally bring there own, surely not ig hotel say they will sort. Hotel itself is very clean and in a stunning location

Reviewed by
stephen m

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
The Porth Avallen is a fantastic and comfortable hotel, with fantastic views, peaceful gardens and their customer service impeccable.
The decor of the rooms maybe slightly dated but they are spotless and comfortable.
The Restaurant menu is fantastic as is The Brasserie menu , the food being of high quality and ample servings.
I couldn't find fault with the staff or services and although I was visiting on business I intend to return for a personal visit.
Great hotel, worthy of more than 3***.

Reviewed by
M Hughes

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position
Excellent position friendly staff although missing a few touches of class.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good choice
A beautiful location and we were blessed with a superior room with a glorious view of the Bay. Good facilities. Friendly staff - though manager possibly over zealous with enforcement of "leave the key" when leaving building. Hair dryer in bathroom looked a danger. Paint missing from bedroom door surround, but reasonably small issues that did not detract from an enjoyable 3 night stay. Food was ample and good quality. Several German guests. Ample car parking. Road outside was not busy.

Reviewed by
James E

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Very friendly staff, food was excellent and the view was beautiful. Definitely made the stay more enjoyable. Would certainly recommend and will be returning.

Reviewed by
jody W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next