No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9 Annfield Road , Inverness, IV2 3HX
The Craigmonie Hotel reflects the perfect balance of traditional style and modern comfort with all the facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.
Our Leisure Facilites are open for the use of our hotel guests which include a heated swimming pool, sauna and mini gym at no extra cost.
Bedrooms at this welcoming hotel range from attractive, variable-sized standard, superior and four-poster rooms (at an additional cost, contact reception for further details). Each of the 40 bedrooms are en-suite, elegantly furnished and are equipped with a wide range of facilities in order to provide the highest level of guest comfort.

Children are welcome at the hotel at a cost of £15.00 per child per night from ages 6 - 16 years. (Children 0 - 5 years are free). Please inform the hotel prior to arrival.

Pets are also welcome at the hotel and are charged at £5.00 per animal per night. Please inform the hotel prior to arrival.

In order to do justice to a hotel of this quality, one would expect cuisine of the highest order and the Craigmonie Hotel will not disappoint in this respect. The Conservatory Restaurant offers a delightful menu, which caters for a wide range of tastes.

Picture of Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dark room overlooking a ventilation system and another wall of the building. Decor very tired and needs renovating. Doors on tight hinge so slam shut before you have a chance to shut them so very noisy. TV did not work properly, flickered through programmes.

Reviewed by
Emily G

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and friendly
The staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful.
The hotel was very clean but in need of a bit of maintenance.

Reviewed by
carol t

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel that accepts pets.
I struggle to find good hotels with pools that also accept dogs. Really enjoyed stay, very friendly and helpful staff, clean tho rooms need slight updating. Food was fine and quick service. However if i stayed again id like it a bit cheaper as was slightly expensive for 2 nights stay. Would visit again.

Reviewed by
s esson

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure should be dropped from the hotel name
Needing a short break away from work,etc we looked to going to Inverness for a couple of nights. The hotel we normally stay in was fully booked so we looked at Late rooms.com to check what was available with 'Leisure' facilities - up popped the Craigmonie - it sounded ideal and after looking at some of the comments on 'Trip Advisor' I duly booked 2 nights bed & breakfast at a cost of £140.00 a night. By no means cheap, but thinking we would have the use of the facilities of the pool, steam/sauna room it would be worth it.
On arrival we were the only car in the car park apart from a tour company coach - warning bells straight away. When we booked in we were told if we wanted to use the pool or sauna to let the receptionist know at least 10 minutes prior so she could put the sauna on - seemed odd but that's what we did the next day. The 'leisure' facilities are a disgrace. There are no words to describe the corridor that you use to get there. And once there the roof is falling to bits, there was scum around the edge of the pool, vents on the floor were dirty and to make matters worse after only 10 minutes in the freezing pool we decided to go to the sauna to warm up only to discover the receptionist hadn't even bothered to put it on!
Our room 110 was cramped, dated and very stuffy. Window opened fine but there was no latch on which you could leave it open even the tiniest bit, therefore it was either close it or prop it open with something which is what we had to do.
Bathroom was clean with fresh towels and toiletries. The shower however had no force and there was just a trickle of water came through.
We did have dinner on our first night and the meal was excellent. Breakfast on both mornings was also very good.
The fact this hotel has been awarded 3 stars must be down to the excellent food and the lovely staff that served it. No other reason. We certainly would not stay here again and would not recommend it to any of our friends.
The Craigmonie was possibly a lovely hotel 20 years ago and by the look of it it has been about that length of time since any money was spent on the upkeep of it.

Reviewed by
Hilary R

From Thurso, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Nice clean rooms with a pool and spa to match. Tha breakfast was really nice. Its about a mile from the center of town and a fair walk.

Reviewed by
Karl D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get in the decorators
We stayed in this hotel, in the very same room, three years ago. The room needed tarting up back then and nothing has been done in the interim. The paint is still flaking off the windowsills, there is a hole in the wall by the bed and the bath surround has black mould and needs re-siliconing and cleaning up. The skirting boards look as if they haven't been dusted since they were installed many years ago and the whole room had an air of grubbiness. The corridors are the same, with scuffed walls and tatty paintwork. All it needs is a bit of care and attention. The public rooms downstairs are fine, although a bit tired. Small points of detail: Only one toothglass in the bathroom; nowhere to sit and do your makeup in a mirror; the TV was fixed to the wall facing away from the bed. Having said all that, the level of service was good with friendly, helpful staff, so the overall impression was a happy one as far as general ambience went. The same can't be said about value for money: way too expensive for what you get. A final point: the hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet, leafy road and yet only ten minutes walk from the centre of town. The bottom line is, I would only stay here again if I could get a good deal on the room.

Reviewed by
Peggy B

From Isle of Harris, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room accommodation
The room itself was quite "tired", and would have benefitted from some updating. The TV was on the wall, but was above the desk, which meant you could only watch it from the bed. The room overlooked the roof of what i assume was the kitchen, as i could smell cooking, particularly oil, which was slightly unpleasant. The room was also opposite the lift, which did not open and close quietly. Thankfully, the lift was not used much. However, the bathroom was excellent and very modern, with a very large shower cubicle. The service and food were very good, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
K Wright

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and very nice hotel
Late booking and only single room available, was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the room. Very comfortable bed and very nice en-suite shower room. Room was quite overnight leading to a good nights rest. Was only there for one night(as they were fully booked the rest of the weekend, so must be populate), but had a quick look at the lounge, bar and restaurant and these were very nice, bar and vistors lounge looked nice and cosy :) Breakfast was usual cooked & uncooked buffet affair, but all the food was cooked well and very tasty, and large selection of items to choose from and plenty of tea/coffee and toast available (made fresh and taken to your table). Also, fairly short walk into center of town. Will be booking again when back in Inverness.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not to be repeated
Personally wouldn't stay again, double bed 2 singles put together and very uncomfortable, very thin walls, so very noisy guests even if they were trying to be quiet. Heating not working in room, was fixed that evening but was off again next morning. Only good point was the food, dinner and breakfast enjoyable.

Reviewed by
K Matthew

From Kilwinning, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Room was excellent big comfortable bed good tv and very modern bathroom. We had dinner at the hotel which was very good too . Tasty good sized portions and nice hot plates. Went for breakfast the following morning quite disappointed nothing looked very appealing. It was self service so I had some fruit and yogurt my partner had a cooked breakfast which looked like it had sat for at least 2 hours. Over all lovely stay at the hotel . Will be back again.

Reviewed by
Melanie F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next