No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 High Street, , , Emsworth, PO10 7AW
This grade II listed building is ideally situated in the centre of Emsworth, only a few miles from Portsmouth and Chichester. The Crown Hotel is an old Coaching Inn dating back to the sixteenth century and has been sympathetically furnished, creating a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. We have seven en-suite bedrooms that are all furnished with flat screen television, Free Wi-Fi, and tea and coffee making facilities.We also have a Twin room, and a Double, that share a seperate bathroom. Ample parking is available.We do accept guests travelling with dogs but there is a £10 per night charge for this.Our kitchen is open lunchtimes and evenings and all our dishes are prepared with fresh ingredients. We use local suppliers for our meat, game, fish and vegetables. We also have a good sized function room which is suitable for business meetings or parties. The Crown faces the town square of Emsworth, an historic port that still retains its attractive harbour side location. Originally built as a coaching inn for the main thoroughfare to Brighton, The Crown has long been a focal point of the town's life and history.
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Emsworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Music Nights
The hotel was generally very quiet and comfortable. BUT Friday night was Music Night and in our room the music was very loud until midnight. The hotel is very conveniently located for the attractive small town of Emsworth, Bus stops and railway station are handy.

Reviewed by
Jack L

From Keswick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well position in the centre of lovely Esmsworth,
Very welcoming staff. Rooms can be situated on top of fairly steep staircase. Good value.

Reviewed by
PAUL C

From Northolt, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old English Charm
The Crown has a wonderful atmosphere and being centrally situated to Emsworth was convenient for our needs. Bed was very comfortable. Room clean. Good food especially Sunday lunch.
Staff pleasant and attentive.
Have stayed twice now and would return.

Reviewed by
C Michell

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely old building with lots of character. Very friendly and helpful staff. and great food. Had a bit of trouble working out how to turn on the shower but small matter. Will definitely go again.

Reviewed by
John Kilvington

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay in quaint village
All good here apart from a couple of things which would have made our stay better. No hairdryer in room (may have been available on request but we were in a hurry and at the top of the building. Also bar closed at 10pm. We wanted a night cap!

Reviewed by
Valerie I

From Hampton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Accomodation & Tasty Food
Have been to eat here several times & always find the food very tasty, well presented & value for money.
This time stayed also & the 2 rooms we had were of a good standard. Paul & Veronica & the dog are welcoming hosts with much wit & repartie.
Emsworth has some great scenic sea walks also & ideal stop over for travellers wishing to Pompey, Chichester etc;

Reviewed by
martyn s

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfortunately did not realise it was a shared bathroom,it cannot have been very clear when i booked it,i would not have booked it.the room was basic but clean and a robe was provided for going to the bathroom. all the staff were very good,and the food was good.its a shame because with a little investment this could be a good destination.

Reviewed by
mark r

From Bury, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.