No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Corran Esplanade , Oban, PA34 5AE
Set on the edge of Oban's picturesque Esplanade, Oban Bay Hotel & Spa is the ideal base from which to explore Scotland’s west coast. Convenient for the train and ferry terminals it is ideal for both leisure and business guests.

Our spacious sun lounge offers a panoramic view of the bay, the island of Kerrera and the mountains of Mull.

The modern bedrooms and luxurious suites are appointed to a very high standard. There are limited sea view rooms (six in total), which are very popular and are fast sellers.

The Rannachan Restaurant has both a table d’hôte and à la carte menu featuring fresh, local seafood and our stylish bar serves meals throughout the day.
Relax in our mini Sonas Spa and enjoy our steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub – with views of the bay. Pamper yourself and book a spa treatment (we recommend that you book prior to arrival).
View treatments available here

The Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has limited parking available and requires to be pre-booked prior to arrival, this is chargeable at £5 per day, alternatively there are free parking facilities within one minute walk of the hotel.

There’s much to see and do in the area including: whale watching, trips to Mull & Iona, Oban Sea Life Sanctuary, ancient castles, Oban Distillery, golfing, kayaking to name just a few.

Picture of Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Room was at the back - OK but very creaky floorboards.
Shower cubicle small but adequate.
Bed comfortable.
Breakfast was exceptionally good with great service.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
Bill H

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
had been to oban before for work purposes and knew it was a nice wee town with great bars and restaurants and a ferry link to the beautiful island of Mull so I decided to take my wife their for our anniversary. I was impressed with the hotel, it sits right on the promenade with a fantastic view over the water from the bar. The breakfast was top notch, highly recommend the house breakfast the haggis and black pudding was superb compliments to the chef. The room was adequate but right at the back of the hotel with not much to look at out the window but never the less enjoyed my stay and would probally look for this hotel again if staying in oban

Reviewed by
D Campbell

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here many times. Excellent hotel. We will be back next time we come to Oban.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy and Cheerful.
The staff throughout the hotel were very attentive and nothing seemed to be to much bother for them, they were always happy and cheerful. The room was clean and spacious, although I did not like the coffee that was on the hospitality tray.. The food in the dining room was excellent and good value for money. I am looking forward to staying there again.

Reviewed by
s mccann

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smashing overnight stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our night away. Hotel lovely, clean and welcoming. Everyone including other guests very friendly!

Reviewed by
M Currie

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice cozy room near the back of the hotel the views from the lounge and bar are spectacular a

Reviewed by
Owen Curran

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oban - Our favourite place
We have visited Oban on many occasions and it is a place we love. This is our first stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. On arrival, the Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Our room to the front of the hotel was lovely, the view amazing.
The staff in the dining room were again very pleasant and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
D Beatson

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, would return
Had a great stay at this hotel, room was lovely and clean. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the hotel is a great location on the water front and a 5 min walk from the centre of Oban.

Reviewed by
S McLaughlin

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I cant thank the staff enough for the warm welcome and wonderful service. Every one looked after us so well and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to any one.

Reviewed by
Elaine Simm

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel
Our stay was very comfortable, breakfast and evening meals were superb. The dining room staff were excellent. Only downside was that the hot tub was not working!

Reviewed by
Sandra C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next