No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Corran Esplanade , Oban, PA34 5AE
Set on the edge of Oban's picturesque Esplanade, Oban Bay Hotel & Spa is the ideal base from which to explore Scotland’s west coast. Convenient for the train and ferry terminals it is ideal for both leisure and business guests.

Our spacious sun lounge offers a panoramic view of the bay, the island of Kerrera and the mountains of Mull.

The modern bedrooms and luxurious suites are appointed to a very high standard. There are limited sea view rooms (six in total), which are very popular and are fast sellers.

The Rannachan Restaurant has both a table d’hôte and à la carte menu featuring fresh, local seafood and our stylish bar serves meals throughout the day.
Relax in our mini Sonas Spa and enjoy our steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub – with views of the bay. Pamper yourself and book a spa treatment (we recommend that you book prior to arrival).
View treatments available here

The Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has limited parking available and requires to be pre-booked prior to arrival, this is chargeable at £5 per day, alternatively there are free parking facilities within one minute walk of the hotel.

There’s much to see and do in the area including: whale watching, trips to Mull & Iona, Oban Sea Life Sanctuary, ancient castles, Oban Distillery, golfing, kayaking to name just a few.

Picture of Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired mattresses
Room was characterless but adequate, compact, clean and dry. The mattress was tired with springs poking out everywhere and squeeked with every movement. The shower was a tight fit for one. Not good value for money compared to many other hotels but seems "Oban" can charge this sort of money for tired old fashioned basic rooms. Breakfast was good and the public areas of the hotel are pleasant. Nice views over the bay and the town from the front (only a few rooms have these views - best to check direct with the hotel when booking and not trust the advertised vacancy).

Reviewed by
iain g

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a bit of modernising but nice enough
Nice hotel, we had a very small room which was fine for two nights. it definitely needs a bit of modernising quite tired, bed wasn't very comfortable either. Worst things was the really bad damp smell which meant we had to have windows open a lot. Quiet enough tho and food was ok only had breakfast. we didn't use spa facilities so can't comment on that, although we did nearly slip walking past the spa to our room. nicely located a short walk into Oban. Would probably stay again tho but suggestion to redecorate and furnish and replace the mattress would make it even better.

Reviewed by
G ATKINSON-COOPER

From Stevenston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Hotel staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful. We needed an early breakfast on our first morning. The dining room was already staffed when we went down and we could have had a full breakfast if we had wanted it. The hotel is clean and the view from the front lounge is spectacular.

Reviewed by
Yvonne R

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent , friendly staff, food good, lovely location

Reviewed by
Owen Mackinnon

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break experience
Hotel room small and old fashioned but ok. No bath which is ok but shower was designed for a very tiny person and no pleasure to use. A large man would never fit

Reviewed by
E DEWAR

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Room was at the back - OK but very creaky floorboards.
Shower cubicle small but adequate.
Bed comfortable.
Breakfast was exceptionally good with great service.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
Bill H

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
had been to oban before for work purposes and knew it was a nice wee town with great bars and restaurants and a ferry link to the beautiful island of Mull so I decided to take my wife their for our anniversary. I was impressed with the hotel, it sits right on the promenade with a fantastic view over the water from the bar. The breakfast was top notch, highly recommend the house breakfast the haggis and black pudding was superb compliments to the chef. The room was adequate but right at the back of the hotel with not much to look at out the window but never the less enjoyed my stay and would probally look for this hotel again if staying in oban

Reviewed by
D Campbell

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here many times. Excellent hotel. We will be back next time we come to Oban.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy and Cheerful.
The staff throughout the hotel were very attentive and nothing seemed to be to much bother for them, they were always happy and cheerful. The room was clean and spacious, although I did not like the coffee that was on the hospitality tray.. The food in the dining room was excellent and good value for money. I am looking forward to staying there again.

Reviewed by
s mccann

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smashing overnight stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our night away. Hotel lovely, clean and welcoming. Everyone including other guests very friendly!

Reviewed by
M Currie

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next