Reviews - Oban Bay Hotel & Spa


Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA34 5AE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Brodie

  • September 2015

Great staff and exceptional views

I was staying at the hotel as I had to attend an event in Oban.

The staff were such lovely people, very friendly and helpful and always smiling. I would happily come back and stay for leisure. The room was a good size considering it was a single and the view out to Oban bay was simply stunning.

  • Mardi A

  • July 2015

hotel on the waterfront

We did really like this hotel especially the very attentive and friendly staff.

Breakfast was particularly well presented and varied. The veranda was a popular evening gathering spot with great windows viewing the water. Quite a fun place with much socializing between guests. In good weather the outdoor patio was also very good. Sort of a misdirection with saying there was a lift though as we did have an elderly person who needed to go up several flights to actually get to lift definitely not for the wheelchair bound. Also the parking is minimal but there really is free available literally 2 minutes walk. We would definitely recommend this to our friends except those who cant take stairs.

  • Judy T

  • July 2015

Great location Excellent Restaurant

Some of the areas of this hotel are rather dated and tired, especially the bathroom in our room which was in need of an upgrade.

however it has some excellent features, especially the conservatory bar overlooking the Sea. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly and efficient, especially Mary who helped us with many questions about the area. The restaurant food was superb, the best we have had on our UK travels, we had dinner and breakfast and would highly recommend, the waiting staff were also extremely efficient.

  • geraldine sibbald

  • May 2015

great hotel - but must say your staff are youre best commodity

had a lovely weekend for our wedding anniversary ..

room was lovely - reason for a 4* was that the bathroom lights didnt work and we had to shower in a very dim lit room and the shower cubicle is really snug - we reported the lighting situation and were given complimentary dinner as an apology, so cant be faulted on response. we will be back. Food and drinks manager was a lovely guy .. nothing was too much. thanks for a lovely stay.


  • April 2015

Fantastic hotel

From beginning to end we loved every minute of our stay here..

The food was exceptional, staff were so prompt, helpful and just lovely, we ate a bar meal in sun room looking on to the bay. The bar was well stocked, breakfast was superb. Local products were used. Hot tub and steam room and sauna with a massage chair was great fun. We had a suite which had double aspect windows looking on to the sea. King size 4 poster, couches and arm chair, tv, wifi, huge ensuite . Would definitely recommend

  • susan w

  • April 2015

Happy Traveller

Beautiful hotel and location.

Excellent food. Reception desk staff went over and above expectations, to help me fax/scan and email Canada.

  • M Johnston

  • April 2015

The twin room was fine but the double room had a very very uncomfortable bed.

My husband and I did not have a good night sleep.When I mentioned it at reception when we checked out,the girl said that some rooms had new matteresses but not the room we were in. Very disappointed.

  • steve c

  • March 2015

Spectacular location, excellent accommodation.

Fantastic location right on the promenade and a short ten minute stroll to the town centre.

Room was in the rear annexe of the hotel and acceptable considering the tarrif in reception quoted a price over twice as much as we paid. We still had a view of the sea. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the bar one night which was also very good. The restaurant was, I'm sure, excellent, but quite expensive. Outdoor hot-tub and sauna and steam room were an excellent way to unwind after long days of enjoyment. Highly recommended.

  • Christine G

  • March 2015

Good hotel in great location.

Only stayed for one night as a birthday treat but managed to use all the facilities including the outside hot tub.

Breakfast was lovely and staff were very welcoming. Evening meal was lovely however with a fussy teenage daughter, menu did not suit her appetite of the value meals - she ended up with a steak which she thoroughly enjoyed but quite an expensive treat for a 14 year old, therefore maybe some alternative options for teenagers i.e. burgers. This aside, we all thorougly enjoyed our meal. Only other thing, our room was at the back, clean and tidy but very dark - we could not see in the wardrobe. The lighting should definitely be looked at perhaps another lamp. Overall none of this has put me off this hotel and we will be back again soon.

  • karolina b

  • February 2015

Charming hotel

Good location, very quiet and relaxing atmosphere, staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast was amazing.

We enjoyed our stay and would come back.