No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Corran Esplanade , Oban, PA34 5AE
Set on the edge of Oban's picturesque Esplanade, Oban Bay Hotel & Spa is the ideal base from which to explore Scotland’s west coast. Convenient for the train and ferry terminals it is ideal for both leisure and business guests.

The modern bedrooms and luxurious suites are appointed to a very high standard. There are limited sea view rooms (six in total), which are very popular and are fast sellers.

Our spacious sun lounge offers a panoramic view of the bay, the island of Kerrera and the mountains of Mull.

The Rannachan Restaurant has both a table d’hôte and à la carte menu featuring fresh, local seafood and our stylish bar serves meals throughout the day.

Relax in our mini Sonas Spa and enjoy our steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub – with views of the bay. Pamper yourself and book a spa treatment (we recommend that you book prior to arrival).
View treatments available here

The Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has limited parking available and requires to be pre-booked prior to arrival, this is chargeable at £5 per day, alternatively there are free parking facilities within one minute walk of the hotel.

There’s much to see and do in the area including: whale watching, trips to Mull & Iona, Oban Sea Life Sanctuary, ancient castles, Oban Distillery, golfing, kayaking to name just a few.

December 6th, 12th 13th, 19th and 20th
Due to festive party nights in the Rannachan Restaurant we will be offering High Tea in the Sun Lounge from 3 pm – 6 pm as an alternative to our usual restaurant menu.
Picture of Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel
Good location, very quiet and relaxing atmosphere, staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast was amazing. We enjoyed our stay and would come back.

Reviewed by
karolina b

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely not as appears on website. Disappointed but food excellent
very disappointed in room. very small, not clean, dirty smoke stained net curtain with smoke stains around the windows. very dated bathroom and definitely not all as it seems on the website. staff friendly enough but when i requested an upgrade this was not possible i was advised. disappointing. food however was excellent. we showed up just after 2pm amd was asked to go away till 3pm which was disappointing as it was very cold outside and was snowing.

Reviewed by
D Gardiner

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel and spa
Beautiful location, quiet and close to town centre. Good wee spa facilities , great food and very comfortable rooms! Very happy and would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
R Gallacher

From Dunlop, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem in oban
After a 6 hour drive to oban and arriving at the hotel, it was pleasing to see it was a home from home place, the receptionist booked us in and explained where our room was as this hotel has over 300 room's. As I walked into the room it was very warm, which is just what you need from coming in from a cold night, tea and coffee are already in the room so you are able to make a hot drink. At night it was very quiet as I stayed at the back of the hotel, the bed was very comfy so had 2 good night's sleep. The hotel has excellent spa facilities, steam room, hot room, and a massaging chair which made myself feel refreshed and renewed for the drive back home. I would recommend this hotel if your planning a break away as the hotel is situated in a quint place with view's of oban bay on it's door step, oban has all you need for a memorable place to visit and stay.

Reviewed by
i fogarty

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Nice hotel, nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about either. Room was basic, food was really nice, spa was limited!

Reviewed by
Janet T

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
I can't really say much about the hotel as I was hardly ever there having business elsewhere. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The breakfast room didn't have a continental buffet but continental may have been available. I didn't ask. The cooked breakfast was very good but I didn't have any other meals at the hotel. The kitchen is closed at night so there is no food available if you arrive back late at night. I would however stay there again.

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One nite girly stay
3pm check in not good. Room very dusty. Shortage of plug sockets. Bedding didn't fit bed properly and failed to cover up dirty mattress. Nothing to much hassle for friendly staff. Breakfast a bit chaotic but lovely. Spa treatments very expensive.

Reviewed by
M McNeill

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Our 2 night stay was part of a break across Scotland. (Oban, Fort William, Pitlochry & Stirling) We have stayed at The Oban Bay hotel on a number of occasion and always enjoy it. The hotel is very good with Spa, Hot tub etc and the food is excellent. The room is a decent size, the only issue is the shower was quite small and the water pressure is quite low. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay here again.

Reviewed by
F Cowan

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a nice relaxing stay here, staff very friendly, would recommend to a friend. Rooms clean and fresh towels everyday for the time we were here. Although only having breakfast here it was very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
G Boyle

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The main problem we had with the hotel was lack of parking spaces and in the bedroom the lighting was such that you required a torch to see what was in the wardrobe, but otherwise service and food were excellent

Reviewed by
M Fraser

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next