No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great location
A very nice hotel complex in a pleasant location

Reviewed by
Nathan J

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, excellent staff.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout, the evening meal food was good, Breakfast was ok but we thought it a bit pricey. We stayed one night on business, its perfect for that.
The hotel has a nice ambience, lovely grounds, quiet.

Reviewed by
Tim F

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Comfortable, clean and good value

Reviewed by
G HANSEL

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
The staff made us feel very welcome from the point of arrival. Rooms were clean and had everything you would expect. The breakfast was lovely and fresh. We will certainly return. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and Secluded
I did not see much of the Hotel as I arrived quite late but the hotel staff were amazing and very helpful. I would stay again

Reviewed by
Rainon A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Apart from black mold on bath sealant the room was clean and presentable

Reviewed by
Elaine N

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night

Reviewed by
A M

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised for the price.
Lovely little room in a lodge outside main building. It was a small room (smaller than all hotels I've stayed in) with a bathroom that was bigger than most hotels. Although it appeared clean it did smell a bit damp or musty. Bathroom could do with some work and wasn't spotless but these things didn't bother me as I knew at the price I paid it was better than anywhere else. Staff were lovely throughout and the bar was lovely and very relaxing.

Reviewed by
D Gallagher

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambiguous charges
My stay at the DeVere Gorse Hill was fine and the staff very helpful. However, breakfast on Friday cost £2 more than breakfast on Thursday for exactly the same thing, and the bill included a 'charity donation' and a credit card charge before I had paid it. I had to query both and get them removed, but the unwary might not notice.

Reviewed by
C Marsh

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely venue with beautiful surroundings.
Reception staff friendly and informative explaining history of the building etc
Great room will be staying again

Reviewed by
Tamar-Eleanor Cabourne

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next