No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely venue with beautiful surroundings.
Reception staff friendly and informative explaining history of the building etc
Great room will be staying again

Reviewed by
Tamar-Eleanor Cabourne

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Fabulous
Often stay at B & B's / Hotels on our weekends off, and have not met with the standard or service which we received at De Vere Venues Gorse Hill Woking. We were both really sorry to leave and go home but had to.
A big thank you and well done to all the staff concerned.

Reviewed by
M Coetzee

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ask for a Room in the Main Hotel rather than The Lodge
As the other reviews have said, the hotel is in a lovely location, the staff are v.attentive, cooked breakfast was v.good and the main hotel itself is really nice. However, we booked through Late Rooms at £66 for a double which was excellent value but we were put in the separate Lodge building which was very shabby in the general areas and there is very little natural light in the rooms. We noticed several staff leaving the Lodge so think it is used as staff quarters. If you decide to stay here, ask to be accommodated in the main hotel.

Reviewed by
Debra B

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely settings
Everything about the hotel was good apart from the bar food which was almost inedible, luke warm and flavourless.. Didn't complain because you would hope that somebody would notice that your food was hardly touched and ask if everything was ok but nobody came near the table whilst we were still there.

Reviewed by
D Sharp

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived very late. No trouble checking in. Reasonable price. Better cooked breakfast than many.

Reviewed by
Christian D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic for the money
Booked this hotel a week before our visit down to Thorpe park, and out of all the hotels I looked at and researched this one came up best on reviews and quality for the room, plus the added bonus of how affordable it was!
Staff were really friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they were planning on stopping down near the area!

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great character hotel
Only stayed 1 night but was made very comfortable

Reviewed by
d how

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't believe what I paid for this hotel.
This was cheaper than a travelodge. Great hotel in lovely grounds. I paid £64 b&b. Venue like this you would expect to pay a lot more for. Very highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
simon rulton

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
Upon arrival we were greeted by the lady at reception who was lovely, she explained when the dining room was open and times food was served as we arrived around 5pm. Our room was on the top floor of the main mansion, it was lovely. The room was a good size, it had lovely views of the beautiful gardens, the bathroom was ok, it had a tiny bit of mould on the grout in the corner of the bath, it was noticeable however nothing to really gripe about. The room was clean, the bed was sooo comfy!! (It was a good firm mattress!)
We decided to have our evening meal in the bar area which has a different menu to the dining room. The food was good, I would describe it as cheap and cheerful, but tasty all the same! We also ordered room service (no extra cost) and the service was great.
Overall we had a great stay at Gorse Hill and should we be visiting the area in the future this hotel would be the top of my list! Extremely glad I didn't book travel lodge!!!

Reviewed by
K Walker

From Bacup, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful venue. Top class service.

Reviewed by
Diana Brady

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next