No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Great location and country setting. Room was fairly basic but everything worked perfectly and was spotlessly clean throughout. Wi-Fi worked well and staff were excellent helpful and very efficient. Stayed here several times before and the venues concept is a winner for value for money

Reviewed by
J Beugel

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

De Vere, Gorse Hill
Nice looking hotel, lovely grounds, room modern, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming. Let down by disappointing food at dinner, though breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
V Parker

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisey rooms
Stayed in the main building and you could hear other peoples TV's very clearly in the evening

Reviewed by
Patrick D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I spent two nights at this hotel , there is the large old hotel that you see in all the pictures but you dont see the rooms away from the hotel in the gate house, I was placed in one of these rooms, the room was tied and smelt quite bad of damp as did the hall way, I did speak to the receptionist who told me they would get house keeping to clean it for the next people ?? usefull , I also left a comments form but I've had no reply to date. Its a few minutes walk upto the hotel where the bar food and breakfast is very good, the walk is no problem unless its raining or very cold just be aware of it if your thinking of staying, dont think I'll use this hotel again .

Reviewed by
m kidd

From Lichfield, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
Stayed here for one night. Arrived at the hotel at midnight. Left the hotel at 9am. Short and sweet really. Seemed like a very nice place. Breakfast £7.50 each was good. Very hot which is good for a buffet. Room was clean and modern. Lovely bed. Bathroom was a bit dark but ok.

Reviewed by
M TANDY

From OLD HUNSTANTON, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!
We booked this hotel last minute and weren't really sure what to expect. The photo didn't really do it justice. It was a stunning hotel, set in fantastic grounds and in a lovely location. Pretty good value for money too. If we ever head back to that area we would stay there again and we've already recommended it.

Reviewed by
C Langdon

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to detail poor
The place is nice as you drive up and you have a sense of quality but the customer service is average, the receptionists communication was poor, the food we ordered to our room as the restaurant was closed due to a wedding was pretty good but the 2nd night they forgot our order after 30 mins and then when the food arrived it was average at best, tripled cooked chips that weren't cooked through properly. Can see why it is only 3 star and really expect better for the money you pay unless on a great deal. Basically it appears nice from the outside but their attention to detail is pretty poor.

Reviewed by
Ben W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful when I arrived. However, the room was dusty - especially on bedside table, lamp and phone (reported at checkput). The windows in the room did not shut properly and remained open all night, which was fine as it was warm (reported at checkout). Bar staff were not very helpful - I sat for about 10mins and as nobody came up to me I went to the bar to order. They brought me my meal, but I had to ask for a knife and fork - the same thing happened with dessert - I had to ask for a spoon. I was the only one in the bar area and the staff talked about various personal issues with each other, which I felt was inappropriate in front of a customer. I will not be staying at the hotel again - much better service and value for money at a Premier Inn.

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorse Hill
Nice location but starting to look a bit tired. Customer interaction was almost non existent

Reviewed by
J Miller

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another Business Stay
Excellent value at offer rate in pleasant room in Lodge. Breakfast ok but food not very warm.Good service.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next