No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
j burnett

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 star heaven
Lovely comfortable room in the Lodge, only drawback was steep narrow stairs to first
floor which made carrying luggage up difficult

Reviewed by
Ann G

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay
We had arrived earlie than we thought and would have like some info of the area in our room, but other than that it was a very pleasant stay, the staff were very attentive and our room was clean and quiet.. We would certainly stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
t butler

From york, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
My teenage daughter and I enjoyed our stay at De Vere Gorse Hill for a university open day visit. Very welcoming and Pleasant surroundings. Thankyou. We arrived late and left early. All was satisfactory, not quite as clean as expected but beds comfortable and room was nice. Service was good and efficient. I wasn't Wowed! But it was a pleasant stay and fairly priced on a late deal. Breakfast was displayed beautifully and very good. Compliments to chef!

Reviewed by
S Morgan

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meal in the bar
whilst the restaurant looked good, it was very empty, a place you could hear yourself cut a carrot!!
i ate in the bar, good table, good pub food and good pint, watching sky sports.. if thats what you like with a bit of luxury surroundings... spot on !!!

Reviewed by
Patrick Q

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wasn't happy about the automatic credit card fee and the assumption that the customer would be happy to make a charitable donation.

Reviewed by
N Woodrow

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conference Facility, with Good Touches of Hotel
This is basically a conference facility that also provides rooms on a hotel basis. The rooms are spread around various out-buildings, all close to the main country house facility. My room was fine: a reasonable size with a pretty good bathroom, all neat and tidy and very clean. Breakfast and lunch are both buffet style (remember it's a conference centre), but quality was high. Lovely location amidst mature trees.

Reviewed by
Greg H

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Great location and country setting. Room was fairly basic but everything worked perfectly and was spotlessly clean throughout. Wi-Fi worked well and staff were excellent helpful and very efficient. Stayed here several times before and the venues concept is a winner for value for money

Reviewed by
J Beugel

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

De Vere, Gorse Hill
Nice looking hotel, lovely grounds, room modern, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming. Let down by disappointing food at dinner, though breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
V Parker

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisey rooms
Stayed in the main building and you could hear other peoples TV's very clearly in the evening

Reviewed by
Patrick D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next