No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable stay
Very pleasant friendly staff and atmosphere, the room very good and comfortable. Great gardens - would be wonderful in the summer

Reviewed by
rosemary t

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good staff, very comfortable stay in secluded area.

Reviewed by
james W

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A poor experience.
Our allocated room was in the Lodge, a few minutes walk from the main building. The room was not especially good, no wardrobe, only one chair in a twin room, an overhanging shelf on the headboard which made it uncomfortable to sit up in bed. The bed was however very comfortable.
We ordered a bar snack, fish and chips for my wife, steak pie mash and mushy peas for me. The fish and chips was overcooked and almost certainly a warmed up leftover. I received a chicken and leek pie and not a good one with garden peas, the mash was apparently microwaved with hard overcooked lumps. We complained but were told that we would not be charged for the meal, when I explained that we had paid cash at the bar I was told that a refund was not possible. We did receive a free drink.
The staff were friendly and helpful but appear not to be authorised to solve problems. We certainly had problems. I would certainly not stay at this or any other De Vere hotel again.
I do understand how difficult it is to get everything right in the hospitality industry but for me the key thing is how problems are resolved. In this instance resolution was absolutely abysmal. Sorry.

Reviewed by
Thomas McNeill

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms for great prices.
Lovely room, very quiet and clean. Enjoyed the stay will 100% stay again. Thank you!

Reviewed by
l thatcher

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and comfy
Very good

Reviewed by
W A A

From , England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, comfortable, warm and peaceful
Can really recommend this hotel. The location is very convenient yet so peaceful as it backs onto woods. We arrived very late but nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff who quickly sorted out moving us to a more convenient room. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We had secured a special deal through Laterooms and this was terrific value.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant accommodation
A pleasant room although some appliances weren't working and some maintenance was needed. Welcome felt rather cursory as though receptionist wasn't very interested. Previous customer and would come back.

Reviewed by
Alistair P

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and grounds lovely, was just very disappointed that we could not have dinner in ghe restaurant due to there be a wedding on. Apparently we should of had a email to inform us but we never, so we had room service which was not the same as sitting in a restaurant.

Reviewed by
June B

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short but relatively sweet!
Very comfy bar area, with very good bar food - and good personal service. I am nearly six feet tall, so be warned tall people, if you have a room in the courtyard annexe, the beds are a little short, and the rooms are small, but perfectly formed! Overall good stay

Reviewed by
Diana T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
clean and good value for money

Reviewed by
Joel I

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next