No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Gorse Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Heath Road , Woking, GU22 0QH
Small and intimate - Gorse Hill is a fine example of elegant country mansion architecture set in the heart of Surrey. Conveniently situated close to London, between the M25 and M3 - it’s an ideal location for touring the surrounding countryside or for those seeking a base outside the capital. Local attractions include family favourites, Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or you might prefer a blooming wonderful time at the Royal Horticultural Society’s Garden at Wisley. Rooms are located in the newly refurbished main house, courtyard and mews. Step out into the stunning grounds for a game croquet or tennis, and feel the world slip away. Guests can indulge in a delicious full English breakfast.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Gorse Hill, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and not at expense of quality!
Really nicely decorated hotel with a refreshing personal service to boot.
Tastefully decorated in greys and neutral shades.
So ok it's looking a tad tired but it was clean and of good size.
Shower attachment over bath was a bit of a phaff but given the price paid....
Breakfast was usual fare but attentive staff and warm smile sets you up.
Will stay again. Special mention to receptionist- great manner!

Reviewed by
JOHN H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Room
The room was in a house in the ground to the Hotel. The was basic, but was a bed for the night at a price in a quiet location.

Reviewed by
A McKegg

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall good
Quite dull decor but clean, food lovely and corinne at reception friendly.

Reviewed by
r m

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
What à beatful place to stay. Nice people.

Reviewed by
Paulien V

From Netherlands
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An interesting place to stay.A little difficult to locate!
Excellent hotel. Friendly staff. Good restaurant and bar area. Room was clean and tidy with everything you need for a nights rest. Quiet area. Good parking. Easy drive to Guildford. I would like to mention the post code was incorrect and didn't make the hotel easy to find! The receptionist was very apologetic and confirmed the code was not the right one for the hotel. But apart from that I would not hesitate to suggest staying here would be worthwhile and was very good value.

Reviewed by
Clifford L

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good staff, very comfortable stay in secluded area.

Reviewed by
james W

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable stay
Very pleasant friendly staff and atmosphere, the room very good and comfortable. Great gardens - would be wonderful in the summer

Reviewed by
rosemary t

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A poor experience.
Our allocated room was in the Lodge, a few minutes walk from the main building. The room was not especially good, no wardrobe, only one chair in a twin room, an overhanging shelf on the headboard which made it uncomfortable to sit up in bed. The bed was however very comfortable.
We ordered a bar snack, fish and chips for my wife, steak pie mash and mushy peas for me. The fish and chips was overcooked and almost certainly a warmed up leftover. I received a chicken and leek pie and not a good one with garden peas, the mash was apparently microwaved with hard overcooked lumps. We complained but were told that we would not be charged for the meal, when I explained that we had paid cash at the bar I was told that a refund was not possible. We did receive a free drink.
The staff were friendly and helpful but appear not to be authorised to solve problems. We certainly had problems. I would certainly not stay at this or any other De Vere hotel again.
I do understand how difficult it is to get everything right in the hospitality industry but for me the key thing is how problems are resolved. In this instance resolution was absolutely abysmal. Sorry.

Reviewed by
Thomas McNeill

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms for great prices.
Lovely room, very quiet and clean. Enjoyed the stay will 100% stay again. Thank you!

Reviewed by
l thatcher

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and comfy
Very good

Reviewed by
W A A

From , England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next