The George Hotel

3

Chollerford Near Hexham, Northumberland, NE46 4EW

Price From 148.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (31)

61% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Charlton

  • April 2015

Great value pleasant surprise

Great value for money, in a beautiful location.

The hotel is clearly set up for coach parties, however was friendly and clean with good facilities. Whilst parts could do with a update, this is a throughly pleasant hotel to stay in. Highly recommended for a short break away, or a stop whilst seeing the sights of Northumberland

  • Alan D

  • March 2015

A disappointing stay

We managed to get the last room available.

The bathroom is in need of refitting. Toilet flush falling off wall. Waste bin rusted. Bath dirty. Cob webs in room and window did not close easily. Room was best approached by a trek through the garden. Linen clean. Breakfast was acceptable, although the food had obviously been kept hot for some while.

  • S Lee

  • March 2015

excellent

Brilliant service food was amazing.

Good value we will definitely return. Maybe in the summer. Wonderful setting.

  • Paul W

  • February 2015

.

.

  • derek c

  • January 2015

On entering room found bathroom light left on along with extractor - reason strong smell of solvent.

Had to leave light on all night to keep smell down to a controlled level. Bathroom panel cut in two

Found large gap under window frame which let in a draft. One sash on window found to be broken. Inside window ledge not level

Corridor to and from room to reception poorly lighted. Whole place needs a good dish of painting and decorating. Staff in dining room very pleasant and helpful. Last stayed in Hotel 10 years ago gone down in my estimation.

  • I Black

  • January 2015

Good value stay

Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed each time.

Staff are great and can't fault the value for money the hotel offers. It is needing a bit of work done but is generally clean, warm and comfortable. Will be back.

  • C George

  • December 2014

Nice exterier but needs work inside

First impressions of the hotel were very nice, clean and friendly.

We walked to our room and were greeted by an odd smell which I can only think was coming from the beauty room we walked past. We got to our room which on first impressions was nice and comfortable the only thing that let it down was the bathroom. The ceiling was mouldy and there were numerous cracked tiles. We decided to venture to the leisure facilities, after walking through a dark hallway it did not appear that the light sensors were working, we were then straight into the gym with no direction of where we needed to go. The changing rooms need a lot of attention as well as the swimming pool. The sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi all looked relatively new and well kept. We ate in the hotel restaurant which we could not fault, the steak was beautifully cooked. We headed off into the lounge and sat by the fire which was lovely. The staff were all friendly and helpful. All in all was not too bad for one night away but a bit of work could be done.

  • Alison Robinson

  • November 2014

Although the evening meal was lovely I felt that it was expensive for the amount of food we had.

  • J Dobie

  • October 2014

George Hotel

Pretty building in a beautiful and central location, spoiled by the interior being modern and without character.

Bedroom/bathroom were very spacious however the lighting in the bedroom was awful.

  • Kevin F

  • September 2014

Very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Decided we required a quick break to recharge the batteries and the stay certainly did that for us both.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, accommodation was spot on and relaxing in the pool facilities was just what we needed. Great stay.