No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Chollerford Near Hexham, Northumberland, NE46 4EW
Priding itself on its warm and friendly 'Northern Hospitality', the George Hotel is set on the banks of the North Tyne in a beautiful setting overlooking Chesters Roman Bridge and Hadrian's Wall beyond. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and good walking, the Hotel boasts open fires, friendly staff and locally sourced and freshly prepared food. Five miles from Hexham, voted Britain's most picturesque market town by Country Life magazine, the Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a short break.
Picture of The George Hotel, Northumberland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
The stay was made most enjoyable from the moment we arrived at the rececption , to the staff in the resturant and bar they all great . the food was really good and served by lovely waitresses would love to come and stay again

Reviewed by
BRIAN BROMILOW

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very nice but it dos need updating. In our bathroom there was mould on the ceiling (no extractor fan) broken toilet handle, the toilet was very brown and needed a lot of cleaning. There was a crack in the basin wish is very unhygienic. Other than that the hotel was bery pleasant good food and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
K Pettard

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location
We had a large room with a large corner window overlooking the garden, the North Tyne river, the beautiful bridge spanning the river and the hills behind. We could have laid in bed all day admiring this wonderful view. We could not fault the room, service, food or location, and there is the added bonus of a swim in the indoor swimming pool after a long day walking the Wall. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff. We took our Great Dane and she was made very welcome.

Reviewed by
V R

From Bedale, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
The room was dated - in the 'newer' part of the hotel - probably built in the 70s and not refurbished since. The bathroom was very shabby - we didn't really want to use the shower, which was over the bath, and the controls were in a very awkward position.
The dining room felt like it was stuck in a time warp, with no atmosphere and again dated decor. It was like sitting in a canteen. The food was overpriced and of poor quality. Mealtimes are also very limited - especially for such a big hotel.
I think this hotel takes advantage of its 'captive' audience, as many of the guests either arrive by coach on package deals, or are on foot (doing the Hadrian's Wall Trail.) There is nowhere else nearby to eat.
We were actually told how bad this hotel was by some other walkers that we met.
The only positive things I can really say are that the staff serving the meals were pleasant and helpful, and that the hotel has nice grounds by the river.

Reviewed by
K Petrie

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was clean and modern in the communal areas.The grounds of the hotel were lovely.Couldn't fault the staff,we were with our young son and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Reviewed by
Kelly G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Situated on one end of the Hadrian's wall 'road' this was a perfect base to explore the Roman sites. The room was fine but we did get some TV noise coming from adjacent rooms. The bathroom and corridors were a bit tired but clean enough. Food was nothing special but service in the restaurant was good. Friendly atmosphere in general.

Reviewed by
S Mackenzie

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good experience
Food was very ordinary, Chefs Special - Roast Chicken with roast potatoes!!

Reviewed by
Gary F

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George
Couldn't fault hotel and staff but shame pool was so cold and jacuzzi wasn't working.pool needs revamped,found it shabby.

Reviewed by
A Thompson

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal as no wifi and room very cold..
On plus side food was very good and staff very polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
James D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next