No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Chollerford Near Hexham, Northumberland, NE46 4EW
Priding itself on its warm and friendly 'Northern Hospitality', the George Hotel is set on the banks of the North Tyne in a beautiful setting overlooking Chesters Roman Bridge and Hadrian's Wall beyond. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and good walking, the Hotel boasts open fires, friendly staff and locally sourced and freshly prepared food. Five miles from Hexham, voted Britain's most picturesque market town by Country Life magazine, the Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a short break.
Picture of The George Hotel, Northumberland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On entering room found bathroom light left on along with extractor - reason strong smell of solvent.
Had to leave light on all night to keep smell down to a controlled level.
Bathroom panel cut in two
Found large gap under window frame which let in a draft.
One sash on window found to be broken.
Inside window ledge not level
Corridor to and from room to reception poorly lighted.
Whole place needs a good dish of painting and decorating.
Staff in dining room very pleasant and helpful.
Last stayed in Hotel 10 years ago gone down in my estimation.

Reviewed by
derek c

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay
Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed each time. Staff are great and can't fault the value for money the hotel offers. It is needing a bit of work done but is generally clean, warm and comfortable. Will be back.

Reviewed by
I Black

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice exterier but needs work inside
First impressions of the hotel were very nice, clean and friendly. We walked to our room and were greeted by an odd smell which I can only think was coming from the beauty room we walked past. We got to our room which on first impressions was nice and comfortable the only thing that let it down was the bathroom. The ceiling was mouldy and there were numerous cracked tiles. We decided to venture to the leisure facilities, after walking through a dark hallway it did not appear that the light sensors were working, we were then straight into the gym with no direction of where we needed to go. The changing rooms need a lot of attention as well as the swimming pool. The sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi all looked relatively new and well kept. We ate in the hotel restaurant which we could not fault, the steak was beautifully cooked. We headed off into the lounge and sat by the fire which was lovely. The staff were all friendly and helpful. All in all was not too bad for one night away but a bit of work could be done.

Reviewed by
C George

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the evening meal was lovely I felt that it was expensive for the amount of food we had.

Reviewed by
Alison Robinson

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel
Pretty building in a beautiful and central location, spoiled by the interior being modern and without character. Bedroom/bathroom were very spacious however the lighting in the bedroom was awful.

Reviewed by
J Dobie

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Decided we required a quick break to recharge the batteries and the stay certainly did that for us both. Staff were very friendly and helpful, accommodation was spot on and relaxing in the pool facilities was just what we needed. Great stay.

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
The stay was made most enjoyable from the moment we arrived at the rececption , to the staff in the resturant and bar they all great . the food was really good and served by lovely waitresses would love to come and stay again

Reviewed by
BRIAN BROMILOW

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very nice but it dos need updating. In our bathroom there was mould on the ceiling (no extractor fan) broken toilet handle, the toilet was very brown and needed a lot of cleaning. There was a crack in the basin wish is very unhygienic. Other than that the hotel was bery pleasant good food and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
K Pettard

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location
We had a large room with a large corner window overlooking the garden, the North Tyne river, the beautiful bridge spanning the river and the hills behind. We could have laid in bed all day admiring this wonderful view. We could not fault the room, service, food or location, and there is the added bonus of a swim in the indoor swimming pool after a long day walking the Wall. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff. We took our Great Dane and she was made very welcome.

Reviewed by
V R

From Bedale, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next