No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Best Western Imperial Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Fraser Square , Fort William, PH33 6DW
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of Fort William, offering breathtaking views over Loch Linnhie and next to all the amenities of the town. All rooms are of a very high standard offering a lot of comfort and space. There are two bars in the hotel along with our award winning seafood restaurant. This hotel is highly recommended for every type visit may it be leisure or business.
Picture of The Best Western Imperial Hotel, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best Western Imperial Hotel
The hotel looked to have been refurbished in recent times, the room I stayed in was large with quality furniture and fittings. The lounge bar had a menu that ranged from pizzas to Indian meals and snacks to traditional pub items, I had a pizza and I can recommend it.
The cost of the menu items was reasonable and the service from the bar staff was also good.
Breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice and again the staff were very attentive.
The only thing that surprised me was that the car parking was restricted to on street parking at the side of the hotel, although there was a large car park about 15 metres from the front of the hotel run by the council that did not allow overnight parking. Surely a deal to be done there?
I would recommend the hotel for stay

Reviewed by
David C

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable short stay .
Only complaint - room windows were sealed with only the top slit for ventilation . Thus it was rather stuffy !

Reviewed by
R Bowie

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Great staff great location, poor standard of room, akin to a Blackpool B&B

Reviewed by
S McArdle

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very average hotel
The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. It was only average or below in all other aspects especially in relation to staff. No lift was a disaster especially wit a young child. Over priced for what it was.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central place to stay.
nice hotel, disappointed with the broken floor tiles and some grubby grout in bathroom and the pillows were not for me as they were like flat bricks couldn't wait to get home for a good sleep, all staff were really nice and the cleaners were very cheerie in the morning, we would stay here again if the price was a bit cheaper but all in all its a good place.

Reviewed by
WENDY M

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and overpriced
We had to book an 'executive room' as this was the only room left; for £160 I would have expected a lot more than a tiny room, with constant noise because of all the windows, whose TV didn't work properly (someone came up to fix it, but by morning it wasn't working again). From what I could tell, the word 'executive' was justified by the four-poster bed - but there were no curtains, just four awkward posts jutting out of it, so it's four-poster status was only theoretical really. And lugging our extremely heavy luggage up a flight of stairs was not much fun either. For the price, we were pretty disappointed.

Reviewed by
A Clare

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not book a room here !
Extremely overpriced for the standard of accommodation
Very disappointing .

Reviewed by
D Jeffrey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but expensive

Reviewed by
Anne P

From France
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last room left - but a lovely one at that
We stayed in Fort William for the purposes of climbing Ben Nevis which we did before arriving at the Best Great Western. The hotel was very easy to find, located in the heart of the city centre, and the staff were warm and welcoming. There looked to be a good atmosphere in the hotel bar when we arrived, but being exhausted from the climb we decided to go straight to the room to shower and sleep.
The room was well decorated and had a comfortable bed with an ensuite with great facilities. The hotel wifi was quick and easy to connect to. The hotel was slightly expensive for our budget, but being that I had left it last minute to book, the hotel can't really be blamed for this.

Reviewed by
Allan M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor and over priced
Grossly over priced for standard of accomodation. Staff polite and helpful. Room very cramped and shabby. Poor quality bed. No lifts, and lots of stairs. Would never stay there again

Reviewed by
Kim H

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next