Reviews - The Best Western Imperial Hotel


Fraser Square, Fort William, PH33 6DW

Price From 91.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (37)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Davis

  • September 2015

Nice Room BUT

We had a lovely room with a view of the Loch but the choice and quality of the food was not very good at all

  • jayne mearns

  • September 2015

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but we're old fashioned and certainly no to the standard I was expecting for a pricey 'delux' room.

The breakfast was very poor, with the cooked breakfast tasting of spices used on the evening menu. The service was also poor at breakfast as our order was taken but then forgotten about, we had to ask three seperate members of staff for our breakfast!

  • C Duffy

  • August 2015

The Best Western Imperial Hotel

Only saving grace was the convenience for the Jacobite Train.

Room 40 on the top floor with no lift difficult for a couple in their 70's. Window would not shut. Shower hot water would not come through without first running the sink tap. Difficulty parking. Pleasant reception lady and lady behind the bar but the rest of the staff did not smile at all. As the most expensive 2 night stay out of 3 other Scottish Hotels this was by far the worst value for money.

  • G Graham

  • June 2015

Give this one a pass...

Friendly staff could not make up for shower that didn't work, dated furnishings, meagre breakfast selection and bad beds.

Getting to room 47, the last room, is like walking a maze with your suit

case. Did not get any discount, even when we explained that the shower didn't work. Very overpriced.

  • James A

  • April 2015

Great staff. Good soup in the Italian.

Good location, decent enough hotel, however our stay was ruined by the wafer thin walls allowing us to be kept from relaxing in the afternoon by the adjoining room having a loud swearing competition.

At night it turned into a sleeping vs banging on the door competition. We were looking forward to our train back south the next day and the scenery. Most of the time was spent catching up on our sleep. Friendly staff on arrival and at breakfast, but lacking when needed out of hours. Will go elsewhere next time in Fort William.

  • Alanna M

  • April 2015


Ideally located, very central.

We stayed in the executive room, it was lovely. Bed really comfortable. Staff were really helpful, particularly when we arrived late and couldn't find a parking space. If you are planning a cooked breakfast go early, when we got there it was very busy and so a bit of a wait in spite of how hard the staff were working.

  • E Rice

  • March 2015

The Best Western Imperial Hotel

excellent place to stay this is the second time we stayed at this hotel i would recommend this hotel.

  • Geoff H

  • February 2015

Very good location, simple but functional rooms, decent value for money

  • Sean M

  • December 2014


It was fine, no problems

  • David C

  • November 2014

The Best Western Imperial Hotel

The hotel looked to have been refurbished in recent times, the room I stayed in was large with quality furniture and fittings.

The lounge bar had a menu that ranged from pizzas to Indian meals and snacks to traditional pub items, I had a pizza and I can recommend it.

The cost of the menu items was reasonable and the service from the bar staff was also good. Breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice and again the staff were very attentive.

The only thing that surprised me was that the car parking was restricted to on street parking at the side of the hotel, although there was a large car park about 15 metres from the front of the hotel run by the council that did not allow overnight parking. Surely a deal to be done there. I would recommend the hotel for stay