No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Swan Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ravenstonedale, , , Kirkby Stephen, CA17 4NG
Awarded AA PUB OF THE YEAR - ENGLAND 2012/13, The Black Swan is a welcoming hotel and village Inn situated in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in the conservation village of Ravenstonedale. The hotel has a 4 Star AA rating. CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2009, CAMRA (Westmorland) Pub of the Year 2012, Finalist Publican Pub of the Year Awards. The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building, built from Lakeland stone and maintains much of its original charm and character. Perfect for walking the Howgill fells or touring the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. The picturesque village of Ravenstonedale lies in an area of outstanding natural beauty. While the surroundings are idyllic and offer visitors peace and tranquility Ravenstonedale is an ideal location from which to explore the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks. Ravenstonedale lies at the foot of the Howgill fells and offers excellent opportunities for walking. Walkers can access the hills a short distance from the Black Swan. The Black Swan Hotel is close to the Coast-to-Coast walk. This makes it a convenient point for an overnight stay. A family run hotel that offers a relaxed, informal home-from-home where our guests can enjoy excellent home cooked food, wines and ales, along with great coffee and gorgeous home-made cakes and scones. We have recently refurbished and restored the public areas of the hotel which retain many original period features and character. Our dining rooms are beautifully decorated and are elegant, yet informal, where our guests can enjoy lunch or dinner daily.
Picture of Black Swan Hotel, Kirkby Stephen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable Stay

Reviewed by
W Hinchliffe

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and excellent food
A warm welcome to the Black Swan from friendly and efficient staff. The bathroom looked as though it had been newly refurbished, hot water and top quality toiletries.
Excellent menu served by knowledgeable staff.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Size of room,Cost of upgrade..........Food that was sent back by customers,Wrong orders.
We booked our standard room online and it was very well presented but a real lack of space to hang up our clothes and nowhere to sit and relax only a couple of upright chairs, as we were staying for three nights and didn't want to spent all evening in the bar we decided to upgrade and although the room was very nice indeed it was quite an expensive option that we hadn't budgeted for.....At breakfast which again was nicely presented we never got exactly what we ordered. Twice we saw people returning their main courses (Ribs and a Steak)

Reviewed by
Douglas Stewart

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay !!!!!!
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed by
Daren Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb
Great room. eEtremely friendly and helpful staff. Food excellent. Would go back tomorrow.

Reviewed by
NIGEL W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrific
We stayed having had lunch in the streamside garden in the past and wanted to try a couple of nights. What a great experience. Very engaged onsite patrons, young and friendly staff. Perfect little ensuite 'standard' room at very good value for money. Really great breakfast with just so much choice. Great beers, wonderful food, lovely atmosphere about the place. Looking forward to a return visit asap. Don't go - you may take our room reservation!

Reviewed by
S Thorn

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking Group
Having chosen the wettest weekend we could, a bedraggled set of walkers were welcomed in with smiles wet muddy boots and all. Gear was taken away to dry.
A wonderfully warm reception from all staff all throughout the weekend.
There will be plans to return

Reviewed by
John Richardson

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend break
An excellent weekend with fantastic food, friendly and attentive staff and all set in a picturesque village, which is in a perfect location for walking or site seeing or simply relaxing. The menu was detailed and offered information for specific dietary needs, including coeliac. This makes a great difference to those who need to maintain a diet but still wish to chose from the menu.

Reviewed by
M Owen

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time I have visited. The location is lovely and quiet, the room fantastic and the service and menu impeccable. I would recommend staying here for a relaxing getaway

Reviewed by
Samantha D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather dated accommodation given the price paid.
Advertised as having WiFi. The only area this could be connected was a small area of the bar. After making my reservation I received an email asking if I could inform the hotel as to if I would be eating, if so, what time and in the bar or restaurant. I don't actually know whether I will be hungary or what I want to eat 24 hours ahead! Staff were very pleasant and helpful though. I just found the accommodation required updating and this isnt reflected in the tarriff.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next