No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coniston Hotel - A Recommended Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Coniston Cold , Skipton, BD23 4EA
Set on the1400 acre Coniston Estate the hotel is on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales offering beautiful scenic views & free Wi-Fi. It has 2
excellent restaurants, Macleod's, known as one of the best locally for celebrating all occasions from a romantic evening for 2 to a family
get-together. The Huntsmans Lodge with its feature fire is a popular meeting point for those meeting between Leeds and the Lakes; serving morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals overlooking the lake.
Both restaurants have an extensive wine list. The hotel also has a falconry centre, CPSA shooting ground, Land Rover Experience, Archery, fishing and walking trails

There are 3 categories of bedrooms at Coniston Hotel each have a private bathroom and tea & coffee facilities. All rooms have a TV & trouser press and some have cosy seating areas and views of the lake.

Macleod's bar has log fire and is popular with the locals & guests alike and the Shop has a range of interesting local & rural gifts

Surrounded by the beautiful Yorkshire Dales countryside, the Coniston Estate is perfectly located within 15 minutes of Settle, Skipton and Malham and is ideal for breaking a journey between Scotland or the Lakes and West Yorkshire
Picture of The Coniston Hotel - A Recommended Hotel, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cramped Standard Rooms
Although the hotel had exceptional service and a great breakfast menu. Unfortunately the standard room I stayed in was extremely small and dated. When you spend the extra money to stay in 4* accommodation you expect more from a room and this was lacking. I would stay here again but would up grade to one of their more expensive offerings... Maybe then I'd get the room I craved.

Reviewed by
K Livesey

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

coniston hotel
beautiful setting.staff friendly and courteous

Reviewed by
d saunders

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour de France trip
This was the only hotel left with a room for our Tour de France trip. Was therefore quite expensive but everything about the hotel was great - staff friendly, beautiful grounds, good bar food/drinks/view.
The restaurant is expensive and food not really better than the excellent bar food, and view not as good but that is a minor quibble.
The front of the hotel looks nothing special, but the views from the back are spectacular. Recommended if you want a luxurious treat.

Reviewed by
Neil W

From South Croydon, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish we could have stayed longer
We stayed for one night whilst in Yorkshire to watch the Tour de France. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was great, the grounds particularly beautiful and we only wish we could have had more time to enjoy them!

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel but not like the pictures online
A good overall hotel however the room did not resemble the pictures on the website. No upgrade as detailed within the advertised offer. Very polite and helpfull staff, great food but pricey bar (£4.15 for a fresh orange and lemonade drink). We will go back.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country hotel
Booked a short notice one night break in a 'classic' room (thiis means in the main building, so no lake view or patio, if you want this, book a luxury room), very clean, spacious and comfortable. Ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. What stood out however was the service. I don't eat dairy, so was offered a choice of dairy free desserts, which is very rare. The staff throughout were really pleasant and helpful. The hotel has various walks around the grounds, or other activities available. Recommended.

Reviewed by
V Burgess

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coniston
A large hotel in estate grounds. Our room proved to be at the far end of the hotel - much too far for my husband to walk but when I mentioned this at Reception, we were moved to another room nearer the entrance. This was, I think ,a 'luxury' room and we were given a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates. However, at checking out, the bill was for £455 for the room, not the £341 on our booking form. No mention was made of an increased charge when we changed rooms, and the amount was amended when I showed my booking form, but an apology would have been nice.
The room was extremely comfortable, my only quibble was that the only toiletries were soap and a tube of shampoo - for a hotel of this calibre I did expect shower gel!
There is a comfortable lounge which doubles as a dining room so if this is used as a lounge there is a lot of furniture moving to ready it for lunch or dinner and a few arm chairs in the Reception area, with another small bar area with comfortable seats. Possibly this does not matter for most guests who would be out during the day, but my husband cannot walk well and prefers to stay in the hotel while I go out (he had no complaint, but, again, for a hotel of this size there seemed remarkably few places for guests to relax., This was particularly evident on the Sunday as there was a large wedding party which had closed off much of the hotel to other guests.
The food was excellent, especially the afternoon tea! I was somewhat disappointed with the Continental breakfast menu as there was no choice of croissants and pastries - it was the hotel's choice - two plain croissants and two danish pastries. Perhaps I am spoiled, but i do like to choose my own danish pastries - I cannot eat icing and they all had icing on them, Again, only a minor detail but breakfast is a large part of my holiday!
The hotel is on a large estate and there is a map of the estate with several walks, which were very enjoyable and the map directions easy to follow. The lake is attractive and the whole area well-kept and well signed..
The negative comments I have made are only small, but most could be easily remedied I think. Any review of a hotel will be coloured by previous experience and several of the hotels we stayed in last year, while in most cases smaller, certainly gave much better value for money, but we had an enjoyable break in pleasant, comfortable surroundings. Perhaps it should be pointed out that the hotel is on it's own out in the countryside, and while that suited us it might not suit everyone.

Reviewed by
Hilda Bowler

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable experience
I found the hotel very quiet and enjoyable. It catered for everything that myself and my partner were looking for. We used it firstly as a base to start of from to explore York and the surrounding area although when we arrived and saw the standard of the hotel and the friendly staff and facilities the hotel had we spent more time there and even extended our visit by a day. The hotel was quiet, the staff extremely helpful and the falconry experience was well worth the money.
My only negative point is the my partner is vegetarian, more possible options on menu

Reviewed by
William Neil Sloan

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night Away
Took my wife with me and we had a lovely night. The bar areas with the fires was very nice creating a relaxed atmosphere. The food was excellent and we had a lovely meal together.

Reviewed by
Steve Sudlow

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and very comfortable stay.
Our room was excellent with a patio and view over the countryside. The hotel is set in splendid surroundings with a lovely woodland walk down to the lake. All the staff were cheerful and helpful - beds extremely comfortable - water hot and the food was excellent. We had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Cotton

From Great Missenden, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next