No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coniston Hotel - A Recommended Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Coniston Cold , Skipton, BD23 4EA
On the Tour de France route for 2014 and nestled in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, just 7 miles from Skipton. The Coniston Hotel is the perfect place to stay for the Yorkshire Grand Depart 2014 in July 2014 and throughout the year. The property is part of the Coniston Estate which is home to the Shooting Ground, Falconry Centre, Land Rover Driving Experience, Fly-Fishing and much more. Hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, Free Car parking, a well-established restaurant the recent addition of the Huntsman's Lodge, with its roaring open fire centre piece and stunning views of the Yorkshire Dales. Occupying a magnificent setting surrounded by acres of stunning scenery, inspired by the hospitality of the Bannister family who have been part of the estate since the late 1960's, staff work tirelessly to ensure every guest becomes a regular visitor

Picture of The Coniston Hotel - A Recommended Hotel, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fabulous and relaxing stay in a beautiful location
We spent a wonderful weekend at the Coniston Hotel and couldnt fault the surroundings or the accomodation. The staff are excellent and the food is of a very high standard. I dont normally leave reviews however this hotel deserves to be recommended. we have already booked again for next year.

Reviewed by
J Britton

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay to visit Malham Cove
This is the ideal place to stay over on a walking tour of Malham Cove, the Limestone Pavement and Gordale Scar. The hotel is friendly and spacious, and breakfast is terrific.

Reviewed by
S Thom

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the Coniston
Lovely hotel, very clean, beautiful spot and I felt very safe, which is important for a woman travelling unaccompanied.

Reviewed by
Lisa G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stay

Reviewed by
David T

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
Superb location, lovely hotel with some beautiful views. The Huntsman's lodge is extremely relaxing and has a wonderful atmophere with it's beautiful central fire place.

Reviewed by
Michelle B

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and service was excellent. We would certainly use the hotel again. The room was spacious and had a lovely view over the lake.

Reviewed by
S Pepper

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not have wished for more.
Excellent hotel staff was warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was varied, wonderful choice of meals; the same can be said of breakfast, good choice to start the day off.
I cannot find fault in the Coniston; I look forward to staying again on more leisurely bases sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to perfect
The Coniston Hotel is not exactly what you would call cheap so it needs to work hard to fulfil expectations and it succeeds. The rooms are decent, although we were actually upgraded after a squeaky headboard almost ruined our first nights sleep. The showers in both the rooms we stayed in were amazing, an 11 out of 10 experience.
We had dinner off the A la Carte Menu in the restaurant having invited guests and the only trouble was selecting from an array of lovely things. The food was super. The next night tapas in the bar with the panorama of the lake was equally good.
Staff were all helpful and pleasant.
We took a walk around the lake on our first night which was a real treat for nature lovers and saw a Heron and Sparrowhawk amongst other things, all surprising and lovely.
Too many wasps on the patio and squeaky headboard seem to be the worst of it then, but these are minor quibbles.
The Coniston Hotel is a quality establishment with a can-do attitude from their young and enthusiastic staff.

Reviewed by
John Hogan

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed that dogs are allowed in any rooms
Lovely accommodation in good location. Very surprised that dogs are allowed in any of the rooms. Although our room was perfectly clean, my wife could sense a bit of a doggie smell from the carpet by the bed. I've nothing against dogs, but would of liked to have been warned about this before booking. I am not sure whether this hotel is encouraging dog owners, or perhaps is taking them to fill the place up. Either way, in my opinion, if the hotel accommodates dogs, they should stay in a wing, or at least rooms, set aside specially for them.

Reviewed by
barry r

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn break
This Is a lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Yorkshire. We had a classic room which had a lovely view of the lake. The bathroom had a shower over the bath but the bath was lower than most so this wasn't a problem. The bedroom had two comfortable chairs and a table so we were able to enjoy a cup of tea in comfort. We ate in both the dining room and the bar and found the service and food of a high standard. However we were surprised to see dogs allowed in the bar while we were eating.they were all well behaved but we could see a potential problem if they did not get on!

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next