No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Churston Court Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Church Road,Churston Ferrers , Brixham, TQ5 0JE
Churston Court, situated in Churston near the hamlet of Galmpton, is set in the heart of the English Riviera and only minutes away from the attractions of the South Devon coast.

Brixham Harbour is 1 mile away, offering regular boat trips and fresh fish from our local fleet.

A magnificent, Grade I listed 12th Century Manor House, Churston Court has been skillfully restored to blend historic charm with contemporary comfort.

Experience a warm welcome, with large Inglenook fires and walls covered in original portraits, tapestries, armour & mirrors.

The Inn has 19 en-suite rooms, all finished to the highest standard. Many with four-poster beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers.

Enjoy a candlelit dinner in our A La Carte restaurant. Our menus, created by our Head Chef Andy Howard, are renown for their culinary excellence.
Picture of Churston Court Inn, Brixham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience
Wonderful place to stay for a romantic break. Helpful, friendly staff and superb quality throughout.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd definitely stay again!
Stayed in room 12, at the back of the hotel, so it was out of the way of the car park and outdoor drinking area. The room and ensuite were very clean and the service of the staff is flawless. I would definitely stay again, it is great value for money and I love the character of the building.

Reviewed by
Maria C

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent character hotel
Both my partner and I were taken back by the setting and character of this hotel, we have never stayed anywhere before so beautiful, every room filled with such traditional character, it was like going back in time to our ancester times. The setting and scenery of this hotel was breath taking so beautiful, it was like being in a fairy tale novel.
All the staff were friendly polite and very professional at all times,

Reviewed by
kathryn mccurry

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay.
We have stayed in a few places with four posters, expecting to find luxury with "Olde worlde" charm; many do not deliver but this building and, certainly the room we stayed in, delivered. It was a huge bed, very comfortable, (creaks somewhat, as do the floorboards) with a great en suite. The bar and restaurant were warm and welcoming,=...a little over the top with classic prints of historic figures, but the whole building was fascinating. Great area too with lovely walks, beaches etc. (Would not want to be anywhere near here in the summer though...too busy....we were here in march). we only ate in the bar...the first meal was great, the second, steak pie a little disappointing. Did not detract from the whole experience though. (No ghosts!)

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single leisure visitor
Lovely old building, helpful staff. Terrific location. Feels like you're way out on the wilds but you're not. Best of all worlds.

Reviewed by
Linda R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasure
If you look past the drafty old windows and price of the evening meal, (which was wonderful ) we had great stay. Thankyou to all the staff.

Reviewed by
john l

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fawlty Towers Experience
my wife & I arrived at the hotel on the evening 21st Feb to begin a celebration weekend for our 1st wedding anniversary only to be told there was a problem with the superior room we had booked in advance, apparently the boiler had broken down and there was no hot water in the room and would remain so for an indefinite period ( No explanation was given as to why we had not been notified of this prior to travelling). Due to the time of day we reluctantly accepted the superior room at a reduced rate combined with the exclusive use of a standard room for showering purposes. The superior room proved to be draughty due to a badly fitted window which a quantity of rolled up newspaper stuffed into the gap barely did the trick. The kettle and TV did not work, the former was replaced and new batteries had to be found for the remote before the latter sparked into life. we also found to our dismay when we came to have a shower that housekeeping had returned the room key to reception and the room had been re-allocated and we had to use another room. On the plus side the breakfasts were adequate and the restaurant staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Had we the foresight to peruse other reviews of the hotel we would certainly not have used it at all.

Reviewed by
A Gregory

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was fantastic the room was really clean and lovely facilities, the only complaint is it had a lovely big shower which didnt work and the water wasnt very hot apart from that I had a lovely stay staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a memorable weekend highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
N Ward

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Negatives :
Cold heating & hot water
Postives :
Spacoius room and very good value for money.

Reviewed by
P Lewis

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint
stayed here with family for just the one night, a really nice place to stay but it's just too dimly lit, i tripped over twice on unseen steps. the room (superior) was really nice and clean, the staff were nice and friendly but we didn't sample the food. Would love to go back for longer if we get the chance, highly recommend the place just make sure you eat plenty of carrots so you can see where you're going lol

Reviewed by
ANDREW HOPKINS

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next