No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Churston Court Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Church Road,Churston Ferrers , Brixham, TQ5 0JE
Churston Court, situated in Churston near the hamlet of Galmpton, is set in the heart of the English Riviera and only minutes away from the attractions of the South Devon coast.

Brixham Harbour is 1 mile away, offering regular boat trips and fresh fish from our local fleet.

A magnificent, Grade I listed 12th Century Manor House, Churston Court has been skillfully restored to blend historic charm with contemporary comfort.

Experience a warm welcome, with large Inglenook fires and walls covered in original portraits, tapestries, armour & mirrors.

The Inn has 19 en-suite rooms, all finished to the highest standard. Many with four-poster beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers.

Enjoy a candlelit dinner in our A La Carte restaurant. Our menus, created by our Head Chef Andy Howard, are renown for their culinary excellence.
Picture of Churston Court Inn, Brixham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning hotel
I just want to say this hotel is amazing . We booked it last minute for a bank holiday treat for one night and wow wish we could have stayed longer . The bedroom was large with four poster bed , decor was lovely .. And as for the food , both myself and my partner both agreed it was one of the nicest meals we've had .. That impressed were booking again in December 😊

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent food and service but the room was not worth what we paid
Lovely old hotel with alot of history and character. Room was very small taken up by a four poster bed. No room to put makeup etc. I had to take the mirror off the wall to see to dry my hair as it was not near a plug. Shower was awful no power . Room near the boiler room so it was very noisy along with very creaky floorboards. No view just a view of the staff smoking area through a small window. cobwebs evident in pub and restaurant added to old world theme. Food and staff were excellent could not fault them.

Reviewed by
l lawrence

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting friends
We have stayed at Churston Court previously and had the same room both times. Very comfortable and a good size bathroom. There was no hairdryer in the room however, when we contacted reception they were able to supply one. This should be pointed out when checking in and not something you discover after showering and washing your hair. As our visit was during the summer months it was very warm in the room even with the window open which made sleeping difficult. We would prefer a much lighter duvet or indeed a top sheet so that the duvet could be removed.

Reviewed by
Geoff T

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Days at the Churston
Upon arrival we were upgraded to a superior room (James Ist) which had a lovely 4 poster and the bathroom had both a roll top bath and walk in shower, the room was very clean and tidy but was quite dark due to the dark colour on the walls. The food from the bar menu was lovely and the portions were a fair size, however the breakfast was nice but the choices were limited, there was no pastries or yogurts, it was the same fruit every day. Outside was in need of a good sort out the furniture needs replacing as the glass table was cracked the whole area was just generally untidy.
We walked to Brixham as it stated it was 10 minutes away but it took a lot longer we took a taxi back to the hotel and in fact used them on a couple of occasions as it was just as cheap to use them rather than paying for car parking which was limited to 3 hours in the evening.
The staff were polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jonathan King

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay

Reviewed by
paul greenfield

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience
Wonderful place to stay for a romantic break. Helpful, friendly staff and superb quality throughout.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, clean, historical
I really enjoyed my 3 night stay here. We stayed in the Thomas Beckett room which was of a very good size, very clean and had a wonderfully comfortable bed. Bathroom was very good too with the choice of a roll top freestanding bath or shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovey and there was a really good choice of cold and hot food. We enjoyed sitting at the bar and took advantage of the large seating area outside on the grass. Would definitely go back if I was in the area and think it was very god value for money.

Reviewed by
R Baker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

12th century country retreat
Quiet location in pleasant countryside with plenty of parking.The décor is as it advertises traditional with period furnishing, lovely outside seating area which was much more inviting than the poorly lit dinning room. First night was in a four poster the room was small and mattress uncomfortable, I was moved without any problem the next night to a much nicer room with comfy bed and plenty of space. The management are clearly trying to keep the internal appearance of a 12th century property but lacks a homely feel for that reason I only had breakfast eating elsewhere in the evenings. I personally would not stay again but am sure suits many other people tastes

Reviewed by
Angela R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd definitely stay again!
Stayed in room 12, at the back of the hotel, so it was out of the way of the car park and outdoor drinking area. The room and ensuite were very clean and the service of the staff is flawless. I would definitely stay again, it is great value for money and I love the character of the building.

Reviewed by
Maria C

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent character hotel
Both my partner and I were taken back by the setting and character of this hotel, we have never stayed anywhere before so beautiful, every room filled with such traditional character, it was like going back in time to our ancester times. The setting and scenery of this hotel was breath taking so beautiful, it was like being in a fairy tale novel.
All the staff were friendly polite and very professional at all times,

Reviewed by
kathryn mccurry

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next