No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Churston Court Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Church Road,Churston Ferrers , Brixham, TQ5 0JE
Churston Court, situated in Churston near the hamlet of Galmpton, is set in the heart of the English Riviera and only minutes away from the attractions of the South Devon coast.

Brixham Harbour is 1 mile away, offering regular boat trips and fresh fish from our local fleet.

A magnificent, Grade I listed 12th Century Manor House, Churston Court has been skillfully restored to blend historic charm with contemporary comfort.

Experience a warm welcome, with large Inglenook fires and walls covered in original portraits, tapestries, armour & mirrors.

The Inn has 19 en-suite rooms, all finished to the highest standard. Many with four-poster beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers.

Enjoy a candlelit dinner in our A La Carte restaurant. Our menus, created by our Head Chef Andy Howard, are renown for their culinary excellence.
Picture of Churston Court Inn, Brixham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend getaway
We booked this hotel for a getaway after a bad few months, and it was just what the Dr ordered the starf made us fill like old friends, the room that we had was A1 with a roll top bath and separate shower, the food was top rate. We have all ready booked for Christmas,

Reviewed by
S Turner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No ghost!
In spite of the reputation of the hotel (supposedly haunted), we had a warming cosy stay and an incredibly quite night!
Very authentic and charming place

Reviewed by
Charles Pasquier

From Issy les Moulineaux, France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning hotel
I just want to say this hotel is amazing . We booked it last minute for a bank holiday treat for one night and wow wish we could have stayed longer . The bedroom was large with four poster bed , decor was lovely .. And as for the food , both myself and my partner both agreed it was one of the nicest meals we've had .. That impressed were booking again in December 😊

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs improvement
We accepted this is a period hotel and therefore somewhat dated but staff were disinterested and slow. The bedroom required updating and better natural and electric lighting. The windows were overgrown with foliage and somewhat depressing. No hair dryer in the room. The shower was in the bath but difficult to use. It was impossible to stand whilst using the shower. Food was well prepared and generally attractive

Reviewed by
Jeremy C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Inn
Great find as lots of history and character with good rooms and nice surroundings,pleasantly surprised by it all,clean and tidy would like to go back for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
GARY C

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent food and service but the room was not worth what we paid
Lovely old hotel with alot of history and character. Room was very small taken up by a four poster bed. No room to put makeup etc. I had to take the mirror off the wall to see to dry my hair as it was not near a plug. Shower was awful no power . Room near the boiler room so it was very noisy along with very creaky floorboards. No view just a view of the staff smoking area through a small window. cobwebs evident in pub and restaurant added to old world theme. Food and staff were excellent could not fault them.

Reviewed by
l lawrence

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting friends
We have stayed at Churston Court previously and had the same room both times. Very comfortable and a good size bathroom. There was no hairdryer in the room however, when we contacted reception they were able to supply one. This should be pointed out when checking in and not something you discover after showering and washing your hair. As our visit was during the summer months it was very warm in the room even with the window open which made sleeping difficult. We would prefer a much lighter duvet or indeed a top sheet so that the duvet could be removed.

Reviewed by
Geoff T

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Days at the Churston
Upon arrival we were upgraded to a superior room (James Ist) which had a lovely 4 poster and the bathroom had both a roll top bath and walk in shower, the room was very clean and tidy but was quite dark due to the dark colour on the walls. The food from the bar menu was lovely and the portions were a fair size, however the breakfast was nice but the choices were limited, there was no pastries or yogurts, it was the same fruit every day. Outside was in need of a good sort out the furniture needs replacing as the glass table was cracked the whole area was just generally untidy.
We walked to Brixham as it stated it was 10 minutes away but it took a lot longer we took a taxi back to the hotel and in fact used them on a couple of occasions as it was just as cheap to use them rather than paying for car parking which was limited to 3 hours in the evening.
The staff were polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jonathan King

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay

Reviewed by
paul greenfield

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience
Wonderful place to stay for a romantic break. Helpful, friendly staff and superb quality throughout.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next