No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel was really nice except for the room which needs up dating wall paper peeling off wall,ceiling tiles stained.

Reviewed by
a davies

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room, lovely view. Staff very sparse ? No duvet on bed but a shabby looking blanket.
We booked through late rooms.com at a reduced price, we would have refused to pay the full asking price of £170. Very dated and bed had a blanket on no duvet? We toured the hotel upon arrival did not see one member of staff? Had to pay extra for breakfast as I ordered Eggs Benedict - never had to do this before? Prior to this stayed at the Grand Hotel think our expectations at the Palace too high!

Reviewed by
B KNIGHT

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really worth a visit
Lovely stylish grand hotel, but a little shabby in places. Excellent staff and nothing too much trouble attitude was refreshing. Breakfast was wonderful and perfect start to day, with everything catered for (cereals/pastries/full english etc. ). Comfortable and convenient with lovely gardens etc.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I cannot fault the Palace
I cannot fault the Palace - very nice helpful staff. Room with a view. Very Good.
We enjoyed the visit. Pool is great.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel excellent but furniture in bedroom could do with updating.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Umberleigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room needs updating, food fab, hotel staff lovely
would stay at the Palace again would ask for a better room then the one we had we did get it very cheap but felt I little disappointed as it said we were having a room that's normally 175.00 and we had it for 59.00 there is no way that room was ever 175.00 the room we had was only worth 59.00.
So I'm not convinced these deals are really what they say they are.
Apart from the room the food and staff were great

Reviewed by
Amelia P

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break at the Palace Hotel
This was our second stay at the Palace Hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful offering good old customer service. The buffet breakfast is very enjoyable and again staff were very attentive. My only negative comment would be that our room was 'cold'. The storage heater was just about warm and the windows by morning were running with condensation. There was just one blanket plus a throw on our bed and I have to say I found this to be inadequate at this time of year. On the whole we enjoyed our stay, would not hesitate to stay again, and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in this stunning part of England.

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Beautiful old hotel , bedroom was a little tired but great value for money , would return again !

Reviewed by
D Sharp

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay. The hotel was quiet and so we had a free upgrade. So our room overlooked the gardens and had recently been refurbished. No complaints at all. Breakfast was very good although we prefer self service for the cooked breakfast. My wife has soya milk and a staff member went out especially to buy some for her so top marks to the hotel for such service. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From FROME, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hoel
First class hotel as good as any I have stayed in

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Hale Barns, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next