Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay


Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3TG

Price From 82.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert C

  • October 2015

The Palace Hotel

I have stayed here a few times now and love the place for it's laid back style as if from an earlier time, and I wouldn't want that to change but these days WiFi is essential and The Palace seems not able to get this working at all times (even for their own systems), one day it's ok the next it's not, and this stay it meant some confusion arose over whether or not my bill had been paid - as I made payment in advance upon booking to get the very good lower rates.

They were correct though my payment upon booking hadn't arrived as it should have done because of their WiFi/Computer problems - but I really didn't know without checking with the credit card statement first!. Everything else was great, the usual nice quiet room, the facilities and the grounds are fab, and the food is perfect for me (traditional English). Recommended for those that like the more relaxed traditional style of hotel. (Good hotel car park and local bus service).

  • Greer T

  • August 2015

Old world charm

Lovely old charm, rooms a bit small and limited bar but food was excellent and surroundings

  • James M

  • July 2015

Palace Hotel Torquay

Cheaper to have booked direct with hotel so the site was a big disappointment.

  • chris m

  • July 2015


A little outdated and tired room.

Disappointed that there was no table in resturant available for lunch, despite there being plenty of tables available. Plenty to do in hotel.

  • John R

  • April 2015

Palace Hotel Torquay

TV quality and Remote control poor.

  • donald smith

  • March 2015

First Class Hotel

  • Linda M

  • March 2015

Overnight Stay

The Palace is a bit like a grand old Duchess, who has fallen on hard times.

Fabulous hotel, but needs a little TLC. Staff are fantastic, cannot do enough for you, the food is wonderful and I've never seen so much choice for breakfast. My room was a superior single, and unfortunately the window rattled a lot. On investigation there is a good 1/4 inch gap, which I stuffed with cotton wool makeup remover pads to try to get some sleep. The bed was a bit like a trampoline, and the pillows have seen better days, the bedding consisted of sheets and a blanket. Duvet would have been more comfortable.

The shower was not the best, however as I was only there for one night, it didn't matter. My room had a beautiful view across the golf course and croquet lawn. I love the lounge room, great high ceilings, a lovely place to sit and read, or have a cup of tea. My only comment about the food would be that a choice for those watching their weight would be good, however the quantity and quality is fantastic. Definitely would stay again.

  • J Butler

  • February 2015

Our Weekend Stay at the Palace Hotel in Torquay

The Hotel is lovely, the staff are polite and very helpful nothing is too much troube, the quality of the food was superb, the biggest let down for us was room 329, we were extremely disappointed the room had a most uncomfortable bed, the pillows were disgraceful and old, no duvet, and although we didn't object to a blanket the condition left a lot to be desired very old we folded it down to the middle of the bed which left us with a sheet and just the top cover.

The room itself was bitterly cold although the hotel had left an extra heater In the room it still wasn't suitable, the furnishings are terrible nothing matches the wardrobe door doesn't close properly, and unfortunately its a little to far out of town.

  • T Dickenson

  • February 2015

Great hotel with lovely surroundings, polite and helpful staff

One small thing which let the rooom down was the lack of electrical sockets.

In this day and age when people want to charge phones and laptops and use hair straighteners etc, there were only 2 single sockets in the whole room which were in really awkward places. We were only there for one night so it was a very minor problem.

  • Charlotte Taylor

  • January 2015

I would stay again

The staff were very welcoming when arriving at The palace Hotel.

My room was down a long corridor and was dated in decor but I like that style 😜

The room was cold the first night but I mentioned it to the reception and they didn't hesitate to put an extra heater in the room.

The food was good I was b&b staff all lovely. However I would of got a cheaper deal had I booked the hotel directly so be aware and shop around. I would defiantly stay again for convenience