No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay. The hotel was quiet and so we had a free upgrade. So our room overlooked the gardens and had recently been refurbished. No complaints at all. Breakfast was very good although we prefer self service for the cooked breakfast. My wife has soya milk and a staff member went out especially to buy some for her so top marks to the hotel for such service. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From FROME, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hoel
First class hotel as good as any I have stayed in

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Hale Barns, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the money
We had a lovely stay at the palace', the staff were excellent and breakfast was good. The rooms were old fashioned but I thought that was a nice change. Bus stop was outside the hotel so easy to get around without having to take the car. Fab pub less than 10 mins walk with good quality food. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
gemma c

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded grand hotel in need of complete overhaul and investment in additional staff, particularly the breakfast room, which is vast and asking people to wait to be seated and leaving them there up to 10mins waiting inexcusable and then when seated, waiting a further 10mins to be asked whether you would like coffee/tea and toast, not 4* standard at all and only by a smidgen actually in Torquay and not Babbacombe..been to far better in Torquay such as Grand and Imperial, but price was good..advance deal

Reviewed by
Gary Hudson

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

palace hotel torquay
A fab hotel with old fashioned and excellent customer service.
Stunning grounds and excellent bus links to town.
Breakfast will set you up for the day

Reviewed by
Shaun S

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel , slightly dated but extremely clean, pleasant helpful staff and excellent food. A little noisy during evening functions but stopped at midnight. Great breakfast and evening meals, pool clean and user friendly, great gardens and grounds.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I wouldn't stay again
First of all I am a hotelier myself and worked for some of the wellknown brands including 4 and 5 star Hotels so when I exactly knew what I was looking for from a 4star.
Check in- appalling as there was no organisation at all as I was made to wait for more than 10 minutes where 2 receptionists were dealing with 1 guest. There was no registration card was printed or had to literally search for my booking for a further few minutes. Once finally my details were found I was given a completely wrong room prices which was an addional £25 to make the total charge for 1 night to £195. I had to pull out my email confirmation to prove the price wrong. These all happened in front of guests waiting in the lobby area and other checking in guests.
Once the check-in process was completed I was handed the keys and no instructions whatsoever was given about my room location or no help was offered with luggages as I was with my 3 children and a buggy with a large suitcase. Eventually I found my way up to the room via a lift where it has barely fit 2 people.
The room was clean but no adequate amenities such as glasses to even drink water enough towels hence with children. The bathroom was very small for family suite and the sinks are still in the olden days with separate hot and cold water. It was even worst when trying to take a shower as it was a nightmare to get the right temperature with very slow flow of water.
No courtesy call or not even my newspaper was delivered which I requested upon my arrival. Very poorly sinaged and the hotel was seemingly emptied with no staff nearby to ask instruction especially to the swimming pool.
Overall I will never stay in this hotel (even if you offer me a free night of stay) as I had much better experiences from normal lodges or small B&B's.

Reviewed by
F Zuhair

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Food was good - breakfast plenty of variety.
Lovely grounds.
Very interesting indoor wooden floor tennis court.

Reviewed by
R Andrews

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location
The hotel is in the most beautiful grounds, nicely kept tidy and peaceful too. The interior was very grand, spacious and relaxing. We used the indoor swimming pool, which supplied complementary towels and relaxed on the veranda. The room was large, giving plenty of space, slightly dated, but in keeping with the hotel and clean.

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel although the standard room was a little dated and tired lookin
Excellent hotel. in customer service;only ate breakfast but lovely selection and staff were great;the standard room had awful view so next time I would request garden view and pay more! The pools were lovely and sauna nice too

Reviewed by
karen s

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next