No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel Torquay
The Hotel itself is a Lovely building and is situated in beautiful grounds. I didn't see a lot of the staff as I was only there for two days and only for breakfast. The room was nice but had no air conditioning which meant that the windows were open. The room faces the Babbacombe Road which is fairly busy from about 5.00am when a few heavy lorries make their way past and the noise tends to wake you up. Other than that it was pleasant without being outstanding.

Reviewed by
John O

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
Excellent staff, I stay in hotels at least twice a week and I have to say my stay here felt like a little mini break, everyone was so nice and so helpful. My dining experience felt like I'd gone back in time to when waiters were there to serve you as oppose to now when most of them make you feel like your disturbing their break! All round excellent... next time I will partake in the waffles at breakfast they look amazing!

Reviewed by
E Duncan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel but in need of an update to the bedrooms
Excellent hotel staff very friendly food excellent. Our only complaint was the bedroom, it badly needed a face lift. Small portable black and white TV, Wardrobe doors wouldn't stay closed and dressing table stool broken. Bathroom floor badly stained around the toilet. We would not have wanted to stay in this room any longer than a short break.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel in decline
On paper this place has it all but the reality is that the bedrooms are badly dated (beds we had in our 2 rooms were awful) and the general atmosphere is like an old peoples home. The management team need to spend a weekend at Auchrannie in Arran or Crieff Hydro to see how it should be done.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our double room had two single beds pushed together. The shower mechanism wasn't intuitive and we had to call the housekeeper. Might have been nice if there had been instructions on how to operate. Hotel does have coach tours but it is a big hotel.

Reviewed by
C Turner

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Last minute booking & initially disappointed by smallish room with not a great view. However food was delicious, gentleman in charge made a fuss of us & our 2 young sons & remembered us at breakfast too (little things mean a lot) so customer service made up for small slightly old room.
Pool was lovely & boys played in small pool. Only here overnight but hope to return.

Reviewed by
B Keighley

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Mixed Bag!
My husband and I have just returned today from a two night stay. Overall we had a good time and a happy experience. We had a lovely big room overlooking the gardens which are superb. The website promised a heated outdoor pool which there was and we made full use of. There could have been a few more sun unberellas available as several on the terrace were not being used but a member of staff said he wasn't allowed to move them, we would have to help ourselves and carry them down two flights of very steep steps, which was frustrating as we were melting. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. One of the twin beds in room 103 had a rather old, soft uncomfortable matress and the other was really comfortable. The room had a lovely high grand celling but the bathroom was very small and rather grubby - taps & plug holes need some bleech and a bit of a scrub. The cleaning standard could be better throughout. We had a very good deal on price so we can't really complain as it was very good value for money and all amenities are present. As other people have commented the whole property needs a major budget for refurbishment but then obviously the cost of rooms would increase. We would return but only if we were confident of comfy beds and clean bathroom.

Reviewed by
A Brooman

From BRISTOL, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious and comfortable room overlooking gardens and pool. Amazing breakfast. Efficient staff.
I stay in hotels for five out of every eight weeks because of work travelling commitments. I am therefore fully aware of hotels (nearly always) allocating the worst rooms first. It's unspoken policy throughout the industry. My partner and I were allocated room 124 (I think it was). It was dingy and probably hadn't been decorated since the 80's. The furniture was ancient, the bed small and the bathroom tiny. The picture rail hadn't seen a dusted for many years and the TV a 14" portable that didn't work, no really! It was overlooked by other rooms and above a flat roof. From the roof extruded the kitchen extractor fans and therefore, a constant buzzing noise was evident as well as nasty cooking smells. One call to reception and problem solved. Super room overlooking gardens and pool. The hotel staff, gardens, pool, restaurant et al are really quite excellent. The breakfast selection was the best I've ever encountered. However, whatever one pays for a hotel room one does not expect or deserve a 1 star room in a 4 star hotel . Not so bad for a businessman staying just for a night but totally unacceptable for a couple staying four nights. Enough said!

Reviewed by
Edward F

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could not fault the hotel at all

Reviewed by
barbara t

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab

Reviewed by
michael long

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next