No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with golf course, friendly staff, service with a smile
Great hotel, beaches are within easy reach, everyone is so friendly & helpful, a very unique hotel with character, met some really nice people there, food in the restaurant is of the highest quality, please may I recommend the fillet steak cooked to perfection with all the trimmings, an ideal place to mix business with pleasure

Reviewed by
Carlos C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Great value for money.
Drinks expensive but overall a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Craig T

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The indoor & outdoor pools were really good,I enjoyed swimming in both of them.

Reviewed by
rita brookes

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't book a classic room
Booked a classic room. Requested bathroom to be cleaned as dirty. The room was not classic just shabby and in dire need of a good upgrade. Windows, one would not shut the other could not open. Surfaces not dusted. The contraption that represented the radio must have been installed since the day it was invented.
Good point. the staff polite/friendly and the food was nice. Hotel grounds are pretty.

Reviewed by
marie h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Ok the bathroom could do with a make over some mold round the bath, but the room was clean and comfortable, lets face it you don't spend long in there, the hotel facilities were superbe will stay again when in town

Reviewed by
Kevin Stowe

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best quality Hotel
It's great place to be spending time on Seaside..great view from Room. Good services food was great and we have enjoyed our time with morning breakfast with good services and great cooking by chef.

Reviewed by
Sunil Patel

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel Torquay
The Hotel itself is a Lovely building and is situated in beautiful grounds. I didn't see a lot of the staff as I was only there for two days and only for breakfast. The room was nice but had no air conditioning which meant that the windows were open. The room faces the Babbacombe Road which is fairly busy from about 5.00am when a few heavy lorries make their way past and the noise tends to wake you up. Other than that it was pleasant without being outstanding.

Reviewed by
John O

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
Excellent staff, I stay in hotels at least twice a week and I have to say my stay here felt like a little mini break, everyone was so nice and so helpful. My dining experience felt like I'd gone back in time to when waiters were there to serve you as oppose to now when most of them make you feel like your disturbing their break! All round excellent... next time I will partake in the waffles at breakfast they look amazing!

Reviewed by
E Duncan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel but in need of an update to the bedrooms
Excellent hotel staff very friendly food excellent. Our only complaint was the bedroom, it badly needed a face lift. Small portable black and white TV, Wardrobe doors wouldn't stay closed and dressing table stool broken. Bathroom floor badly stained around the toilet. We would not have wanted to stay in this room any longer than a short break.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel in decline
On paper this place has it all but the reality is that the bedrooms are badly dated (beds we had in our 2 rooms were awful) and the general atmosphere is like an old peoples home. The management team need to spend a weekend at Auchrannie in Arran or Crieff Hydro to see how it should be done.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next