Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay


Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3TG

Price From 83.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Geoffrey M

  • May 2014

Victorian reflection

We very much enjoyed our time in Torbay, but time to short, we were family from Switzerland and Austria.

They very much enjoyed their short stay in the Victorian Palace Hotel in Babbacombe. By the way I left my walking stick in my room, please but it in the local charity shop. Thanks very much, Geoff Millson.

  • Ian S

  • May 2014

An enjoyable stay

Very pleasant staff and an interesting history to the hotel.

Ideal position for my business trip.

  • R Brewer

  • May 2014

Accommodation very tired(room 347)Room cold although night staff supplied portable heater very promptly .

  • R Andrews

  • May 2014

Hotel was excellent and staff all very helpful.

Would most certainly stay here again.

  • Eleanor H

  • May 2014

Shabby Headboard.

The only fault I could find was there was a dirty looking yellowish stain on the headboard of the bed, where obviously many heads have rested, which was a little off putting.

I'm sure this could be removed, it was more visible in the evening with the light on than in daylight.

  • b collins

  • May 2014

all ok thanks

  • r luxmoore

  • May 2014

Great stay calm and relaxing

We went here just to get some chillout time, we were not disappointed, get room 203 has dual aspect and great views over the gardens and golf course and a comfortable bed.

The room central heating didn't work , but reception sent up a heater so all was well. The breakfast is well laid out plenty of choice and full English available. The restaurant staff where really delightful they served well with smiles. I would recommend here as a getaway you lose yourself in a Victorian hotel with a quiet charm. The sauna table tennis and pool where enough for the odd distraction. Go I would recommend it, 69.00 a night for a double was ok.

  • Malcolm H

  • May 2014

Palace Appraisal

I am well acquainted with the outside of this hotel having previously lived in the area.

It is well situated half way between Babbacombe and Torquay Harbour. Needed a single night stay and obtained a good deal from the booking site. This is a large hotel with extensive grounds and good parking facilities. I had an excellent (double) room which was on the side of the hotel and was very quiet. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of both hot and cold food and was taken in their huge, beautiful dining room overlooking the rear gardens. The staff were friendly and attentive. I did not eat there in the evening so cannot comment on other dining experiences. Good value.

  • David Hunter

  • May 2014

Wedding Party One night

Lovely big old Hotel.

Rooms were all you need. Bathroom a bit tired. Staff very helpful. Very good breakfast. Enjoyable!!

  • Robert T

  • May 2014

Faded grandeur

I've known the Palace for more than 30 years, and it has always been a special place to eat or stay, but my most recent visit, after a gap of some years, seemed to indicate it was past its best.

The setting, in its own gardens, is still magnificent but the structure no requires some major reinvestment if the hotel is to regain its place among the top British seaside hotels, which it once occupied. The customer service was good, as was the value for money in a land-facing room on this occasion, but the overall experience was of a hotel that is struggling to keep up with the demands of the 21st century.