Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay


Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3TG

Price From 81.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (85)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Chappell

  • May 2014

Because this was a Late rooms booking and discounted our room was basic and a long way from the lifts.

However the room had everything we needed and was very clean. 2 points to mention,

The mattress could have been more comfortable and the position of the tv could have been better placed for full screen viewing from the bed, it was tucked up on a shelf obscured by the wardrobe. The dining room was very attractive and you could not fault the breakfast for choice and quality.

  • Ruth G

  • May 2014

Great Stay!

A lovely hotel in beautiful grounds.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were first class. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Bev B

  • May 2014

Hotel currently has outline planning for refurbishment and new extensions to increase capacity to 160 rooms.

Hotel is becoming a little dated in d├ęcor but does not detract from a pleasant stay in a Georgian hotel. Staff friendly and helpful and keen to make your stay as comfy as poss. As a foursome we had a lovely overnight stay. We are planning to go back again.

  • Geoffrey M

  • May 2014

Victorian reflection

We very much enjoyed our time in Torbay, but time to short, we were family from Switzerland and Austria.

They very much enjoyed their short stay in the Victorian Palace Hotel in Babbacombe. By the way I left my walking stick in my room, please but it in the local charity shop. Thanks very much, Geoff Millson.

  • Ian S

  • May 2014

An enjoyable stay

Very pleasant staff and an interesting history to the hotel.

Ideal position for my business trip.

  • R Brewer

  • May 2014

Accommodation very tired(room 347)Room cold although night staff supplied portable heater very promptly .

  • R Andrews

  • May 2014

Hotel was excellent and staff all very helpful.

Would most certainly stay here again.

  • Eleanor H

  • May 2014

Shabby Headboard.

The only fault I could find was there was a dirty looking yellowish stain on the headboard of the bed, where obviously many heads have rested, which was a little off putting.

I'm sure this could be removed, it was more visible in the evening with the light on than in daylight.

  • b collins

  • May 2014

all ok thanks

  • r luxmoore

  • May 2014

Great stay calm and relaxing

We went here just to get some chillout time, we were not disappointed, get room 203 has dual aspect and great views over the gardens and golf course and a comfortable bed.

The room central heating didn't work , but reception sent up a heater so all was well. The breakfast is well laid out plenty of choice and full English available. The restaurant staff where really delightful they served well with smiles. I would recommend here as a getaway you lose yourself in a Victorian hotel with a quiet charm. The sauna table tennis and pool where enough for the odd distraction. Go I would recommend it, 69.00 a night for a double was ok.