No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

palace hotel good,torquay disappointment!!!

Reviewed by
j gilleland

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Because this was a Late rooms booking and discounted our room was basic and a long way from the lifts. However the room had everything we needed and was very clean. 2 points to mention,
The mattress could have been more comfortable and the position of the tv could have been better placed for full screen viewing from the bed, it was tucked up on a shelf obscured by the wardrobe.
The dining room was very attractive and you could not fault the breakfast for choice and quality.

Reviewed by
M Chappell

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel currently has outline planning for refurbishment and new extensions to increase capacity to 160 rooms. Hotel is becoming a little dated in décor but does not detract from a pleasant stay in a Georgian hotel. Staff friendly and helpful and keen to make your stay as comfy as poss.
As a foursome we had a lovely overnight stay. We are planning to go back again.

Reviewed by
Bev B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay!
A lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were first class. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Ruth G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall I wasn't impressed
1. 14' tube TV with 5 channels; all of which were poor quality
2. Very old furniture in desperate need of updating
3. Poor shower quality and shower mount located 8" behind taps.
4. Golf and croquet facilities operate between 9am and 5pm...
5. Non-facilitating reception staff.
6. On the plus side the breakfast buffet was very good and the grounds are lovely.

Reviewed by
Orlando d

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a really fantastic place, but rooms could do with a make over

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian reflection
We very much enjoyed our time in Torbay, but time to short, we were family from Switzerland and Austria. They very much enjoyed their short stay in the Victorian Palace Hotel in Babbacombe. By the way I left my walking stick in my room, please but it in the local charity shop. Thanks very much, Geoff Millson.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey M

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Very pleasant staff and an interesting history to the hotel. Ideal position for my business trip.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very tired(room 347)Room cold although night staff supplied portable heater very promptly .

Reviewed by
R Brewer

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont believe the outside
I Could not fault the staff for their helpfulness or excellent customer service. However the rooms which are extremely dated, and general condition is disgraceful. A place with massive potential but falls very short!

Reviewed by
J.D. Colclough

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next