Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay


Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3TG

Price From 81.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (85)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Colin McCaskie

  • June 2014

Excellent views from hotel room ,staff where very helpful and friendly.

will stay again in the future.

  • Clifford Johnson

  • June 2014

palace hotel what i thought.

OK would recommend to anyone, only one slight criticism was the evening meals lacked quantity on the plate when you order a meal you expect a good helping of the meat or fish on the does not cost any extra to give a good helping.

the customer service was excellent.

  • Paul G

  • June 2014

Old and tired

This a traditional old hotel.

Wifi is on the ground floor only and the entertainment system in the rooms are limited to say the least.

My biggest issue with my stay was the huge needle that was hidden in the bedclothes that I rolled over onto in the night. Staff were not really apologetic or bothered.

  • C I

  • June 2014

Dated, but still very good experience

Overall, had a very good experience, hotel is dated but well maintained, clean and grounds were great.

  • d penny

  • June 2014

Bargain break at The Palace

A fantastic old hotel, beautifully situated.

We booked the hotel because we know the area and it was a convenient location to visit friends and it had a pool. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. Furnishings were dated but functional and we had quite a nice view. There was a very old dated plastic shelf unit which housed the kettle, hairdryer etc, quite a retro item. The part which was holding the kettle was hanging at a precarious angle, the kettle lead required repairing and it looked like the pat testing was out of date. The breakfast was fantastic, the best that I have ever eaten. The swimming pool was a good size and we had an enjoyable swim. We have heard rumours that the hotel is due to be pulled down to make way for a ghastly modern facility, which will be a real shame. Although there were one or two things not really up to standard (even though we were the bargain basement customers) I would still prefer to stay there rather than a horrible modern state of the art modern hotel chain - personal preference only. The decor in the dining room is fabulous, walking around in such a room is a pleasure in its self. Save our old hotels, save our history.

  • m garratt

  • June 2014

excellent service, very quick, plenty of staff, who were also pleasant,good indoor pool, lovely grounds.

  • Julie James

  • June 2014

It was a fabulous break.Great value for money

Sadly we only stayed for one night ,but it was fabulous.The hotel has all the old fashioned values that are lacking in some hotels.The price was amazing through the web site.

The sun shone ,the pool was great and everybody was welcoming and polite

  • L LEE

  • June 2014

Great place to stay

If you want a relaxing break in a clean friendly environment ,then this hotel is for you.

Breakfasts are exceptional with a high quality selection of fresh fruits, continental options and cooked breakfasts available.

  • Sheila R

  • June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay, the staff were always happy to help with anything.

Few maintenance problems with our room which was dealt with very quickly by moving us to a lovely new room !. So all in all a very nice hotel. Would stay again anytime . Thanks. . .

  • Orlando d

  • June 2014

Overall I wasn't impressed


14' tube TV with 5 channels; all of which were poor quality

2. Very old furniture in desperate need of updating

3. Poor shower quality and shower mount located 8" behind taps. 4. Golf and croquet facilities operate between 9am and 5pm... 5. Non-facilitating reception staff. 6. On the plus side the breakfast buffet was very good and the grounds are lovely.