No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was excellent and staff all very helpful. Would most certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Andrews

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby Headboard.
The only fault I could find was there was a dirty looking yellowish stain on the headboard of the bed, where obviously many heads have rested, which was a little off putting! I'm sure this could be removed, it was more visible in the evening with the light on than in daylight!

Reviewed by
Eleanor H

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Party One night
Lovely big old Hotel. Rooms were all you need. Bathroom a bit tired. Staff very helpful. Very good breakfast. Enjoyable!!

Reviewed by
David Hunter

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Appraisal
I am well acquainted with the outside of this hotel having previously lived in the area. It is well situated half way between Babbacombe and Torquay Harbour. Needed a single night stay and obtained a good deal from the booking site. This is a large hotel with extensive grounds and good parking facilities. I had an excellent (double) room which was on the side of the hotel and was very quiet. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of both hot and cold food and was taken in their huge, beautiful dining room overlooking the rear gardens. The staff were friendly and attentive. I did not eat there in the evening so cannot comment on other dining experiences. Good value.

Reviewed by
Malcolm H

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay calm and relaxing
We went here just to get some chillout time, we were not disappointed, get room 203 has dual aspect and great views over the gardens and golf course and a comfortable bed. The room central heating didn't work , but reception sent up a heater so all was well. The breakfast is well laid out plenty of choice and full English available. The restaurant staff where really delightful they served well with smiles. I would recommend here as a getaway you lose yourself in a Victorian hotel with a quiet charm. The sauna table tennis and pool where enough for the odd distraction. Go I would recommend it, 69.00 a night for a double was ok.

Reviewed by
r luxmoore

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all ok thanks

Reviewed by
b collins

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded grandeur
I've known the Palace for more than 30 years, and it has always been a special place to eat or stay, but my most recent visit, after a gap of some years, seemed to indicate it was past its best.
The setting, in its own gardens, is still magnificent but the structure no requires some major reinvestment if the hotel is to regain its place among the top British seaside hotels, which it once occupied. The customer service was good, as was the value for money in a land-facing room on this occasion, but the overall experience was of a hotel that is struggling to keep up with the demands of the 21st century.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 4 star would stuggle to be rated as 2 star, rooms tired and very very dated.
I choose to stay as i used to work at this hotel 20 years earlier, it looked like the hotel had never seen any investment everything was tired and the room we had was directly above the kitchen extractor so smelt awefull, the bed linen was out of the 1930 and looked like it had never been replaced.
I have stayed at better 3 star hotels than this.

Reviewed by
Jon Julian

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpe Diem
The hotel itself is almost like a hidden gem, full of history and slightly off the main road. The lobby is very well decorated and welcomes guests upon their arrival. My single room was advertised at £90 and reduced for the Tuesday night after the Easter break, if it were not for the fact I had been travelling all day and was shattered I would have walked out the moment I walked in, the room is clearly in need of major revamping, if it was ever sold at £90 I am a Dutchman !!!1
Peter in reception acknowledged this and before I could tell him I would never be back he offered me an upgrade and a very good price on my next booking, well done Peter, someone with a sense of customer service and someone who knows how to admit there is a problem and resolve it..

Reviewed by
e spencer

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of traditional 4 star charm, with first class customer service and lovely grounds. Great value for money on the deal we purchased, but could see how those paying full price might complain if some rooms were not up to their expected standard of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
james skinner

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next