No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Babbacombe Road , Torquay, TQ1 3TG
The Palace Hotel is a gracious Victorian building set in 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and most overlook the hotel's magnificent grounds. Leisure facilities at the Palace are second to none: an outdoor and indoor heated swimming pool, 9-hole par 3 short championship golf course, two indoor and four outdoor tennis courts with a resident qualified coach, squash, snooker, croquet, gym and sauna ensure there is something for all, twelve months of the year. Torquay's excellent shopping is just five minutes away. Evenings spent at the Palace are a delicious combination of elegant indulgence, good company and a real sense of occasion. Crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes together with polished silver set the scene for a sophisticated and elegant dinner. Surrounded by the South Hams and with the fishing port of Brixham just across the bay, the daily changing menus resonate with freshness. Locally caught Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, Scallops and Lobster shine alongside fresh meat, game, fruit and vegetables. For those that can, the sweet trolley is amazing. Devonshire clotted or double cream is an optional extra! Please note: The dress code in the restaurant is jacket and tie. Please note: All bedrooms and public areas are now completely NON SMOKING.
Picture of Palace Hotel Torquay, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


We had a very enjoyable stay, the staff were always happy to help with anything. Few maintenance problems with our room which was dealt with very quickly by moving us to a lovely new room !. So all in all a very nice hotel. Would stay again anytime . Thanks. ! .

Reviewed by
Sheila R

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Tv
A very old TV you should have been able to see 4 channels but only a fuzzy BBC1 was working.
you could only get Wi-Fi in the lobby
also NO telephone reception - but I think that was the whole area though

Reviewed by
Malcolm S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clinging on to the past...
I was sold on the star rating and the grounds when I booked online, so felt slightly disappointed to find a hotel that's clinging on to its former glory, don't get me wrong the hotel has a lot going for it - tennis courts, swimming pools, a fancy restaurant, a snooker room etc. . but everything is dated. In our room the tv didn't work, the radio has 4 preset stations (that you can't change) and only one of them is tuned (not big issues). The hotel would benefit from a refurbishment. Staff however were very pleasant, friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Carl F

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay at hotel
Friendly and helpful staff. Did not have dinner at hotel but the breakfast was excellent with a good choice.

Reviewed by
R Andrews

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic find
I booked this hotel last minute & was surprised at the reasonable price. The Palace is a grand old hotel with beautiful grounds & great leisure facilities. Our room overlooked the lovely rose gardens & outdoor swimming pool & was nicely decorated. Breakfast was superb with a good choice of hot & cold items to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Hickey

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best Kept Secret.
A spacious well appointed room with excellent facilities. The service from all the staff was impeccable only to be surpassed by the fantastic breakfast. Unfortunately our visit was short, but we will most certainly book a longer stay in September and take the golf clubs.
Worthy of 5* - Now the secret is out.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short relaxing break..
We stayed at The Palace Hotel for two nights. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. The Hotel is a good base to access both Torquay and Baccecombe.

Reviewed by
Pete White

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Because this was a Late rooms booking and discounted our room was basic and a long way from the lifts. However the room had everything we needed and was very clean. 2 points to mention,
The mattress could have been more comfortable and the position of the tv could have been better placed for full screen viewing from the bed, it was tucked up on a shelf obscured by the wardrobe.
The dining room was very attractive and you could not fault the breakfast for choice and quality.

Reviewed by
M Chappell

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

palace hotel good,torquay disappointment!!!

Reviewed by
j gilleland

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel currently has outline planning for refurbishment and new extensions to increase capacity to 160 rooms. Hotel is becoming a little dated in décor but does not detract from a pleasant stay in a Georgian hotel. Staff friendly and helpful and keen to make your stay as comfy as poss.
As a foursome we had a lovely overnight stay. We are planning to go back again.

Reviewed by
Bev B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next