Reviews - Palace Hotel Torquay


Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 3TG

Price From 253.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Amelia P

  • November 2014

Room needs updating, food fab, hotel staff lovely

would stay at the Palace again would ask for a better room then the one we had we did get it very cheap but felt I little disappointed as it said we were having a room that's normally 175.00 and we had it for 59.00 there is no way that room was ever 175.00 the room we had was only worth 59.00.

So I'm not convinced these deals are really what they say they are. Apart from the room the food and staff were great

  • richard c

  • November 2014

Richard's review

Made a great value leisure break.

Nice single room in this lovely 1920s hotel away from people and lifts, but unfortunately close to the road so a bit of traffic noise. En-suite almost as big as room. Comfortable bed - which was actually a small double. Free use of leisure facilities - pool and sauna. Excellent full English breakfast. Dined in on second night - food is absolutely first rate as is the restaurant service - a real treat. [I see they were doing 3 nights for 2 Autumn deals on half board that would be well worth considering]. Very difficult to find fault. TV in room was a bit old, limited number of channels and not particularly good picture (but I didn't go away to watch telly).

  • D Sharp

  • November 2014

Great value

Beautiful old hotel , bedroom was a little tired but great value for money , would return again .

  • Kevin F

  • November 2014

We had a great stay.

The hotel was quiet and so we had a free upgrade. So our room overlooked the gardens and had recently been refurbished. No complaints at all. Breakfast was very good although we prefer self service for the cooked breakfast. My wife has soya milk and a staff member went out especially to buy some for her so top marks to the hotel for such service. Thank you.

  • D Smith

  • November 2014

Palace Hoel

First class hotel as good as any I have stayed in

  • Gary Hudson

  • November 2014

Faded grand hotel in need of complete overhaul and investment in additional staff, particularly the breakfast room, which is vast and asking people to wait to be seated and leaving them there up to 10mins waiting inexcusable and then when seated, waiting a further 10mins to be asked whether you would like coffee/tea and toast, not 4* standard at all and only by a smidgen actually in Torquay and not Babbacombe..been to far better in Torquay such as Grand and Imperial, but price was good..advance deal

  • gemma c

  • November 2014

Good value for the money

We had a lovely stay at the palace', the staff were excellent and breakfast was good.

The rooms were old fashioned but I thought that was a nice change. Bus stop was outside the hotel so easy to get around without having to take the car. Fab pub less than 10 mins walk with good quality food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • J Williams

  • October 2014

charming hotel

beautiful grounds

  • Shaun S

  • September 2014

palace hotel torquay

A fab hotel with old fashioned and excellent customer service.

Stunning grounds and excellent bus links to town. Breakfast will set you up for the day

  • Susan M

  • August 2014

Excellent hotel , slightly dated but extremely clean, pleasant helpful staff and excellent food.

A little noisy during evening functions but stopped at midnight. Great breakfast and evening meals, pool clean and user friendly, great gardens and grounds.