No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Victoria Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
59 London Road, Canterbury, CT2 8JY
'A comfortable, modern hotel and pub. With traditional character and charm.' Close to Canterbury City centre and in sight of its historic cathedral. The Victoria Hotel is a charming and individual hotel, pub and restaurant, that offers clean, comfortable and competitively priced accommodation.
Picture of Victoria Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is very run down and could use a good remodelling. Staff not very friendly.

Reviewed by
Mary B

From USA
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a good place to stay, as it is on a good thoroughfare and easily accessable. It had a homey atmosphere, and the employees were very friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed by
C Orr

From Butte, USA
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality budget hotel
This a good choice for visitors to Canterbury who want a bit more comfort than a Travelodge for not much more money. Our room was modern, well presented, clean and comfortable and the little contact we had with staff was pleasant and friendly. There was ample parking and the city centre was an easy ten minute walk away. The only down side was the poor soundproofing - the window was single glazed and consequently the noise of staff dragging something (bins?) down the central path from reception to car park woke us early on Saturday morning. Followed by the gardener mowing the lawns! This was a minor issue though. Overall, very good and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for moneyand convenient for touring

Reviewed by
c moran

From , England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

K Smith
Ideally situated for work purposes.

Reviewed by
david B

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location, great value for money
This hotel was a last minute booking for me in a city I didn't know, but turned out to be exactly what I needed. Parking was easy, it was simple to find and convenient to where I needed to be. Service was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. I'd stay here again next visit to Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Australia
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night Mid-week Break
good location - only 10-15 minute walk into Canterbury City centre, staff friendly, room clean and comfy, breakfast cooked to order and hot!

Reviewed by
Avis B

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in Canterbury
Great value, good room and helpful staff

Reviewed by
L Spiers

From , England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek stay in Canterbury
The Victoria is a little worn but is serviceable - the room was spacious and contained all necessary items an was clean. Walls a little thin- my neighbour was a very loud snorer which disturbed me.
The staff on reception was friendly. I was surprised to find I needed to pay on registration which I had not expected and was a difficulty for me (pay day was the next day)
I didn't eat there so cannot comment.
One benefit is ample free parking which is rare in Canterbury , the Hotel is a 20 min walk to the university and 30 minutes to the cathedral

Reviewed by
E Hotchkiss

From Leicestershire, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel
Have stayed here a couple of times, it was a bit busier this time round with a lot of contractors staying in the hotel, Had a double room on the first floor and did not experience any problems with noise. Had a carvery in the restuarant which was ok as carverys go, (cheap and cheerful). Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Have seen some other peoples comments about noise and in the winter with no one sitting outside its not a problem but in the summer it would be a problem, given the layout of the rooms to beer garden, especially if you want your windows open.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next