Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel


Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Price From 77.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (155)

52% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • d Lane

  • November 2015

Damp untidy

This place may have been good 20 years ago but needs a good update, dirty and unkept.

  • S Pereira

  • November 2015

Gatwick by night

Its cheap and does what it says in description.

The room was ok clean and basic and bathroom was ok , car-park outside for vehicles , Bar and restaurant etc. The reception still talkes to long to book people in and was waiting 25 mins and guy did not smile or seem bothered. The bar prices have gone up, but not too much I suppose for London prices. The restaurant was better than most but chose to eat in bar area were there was a bar menu with most favourites on and was supprisingly good and a decent size meal. No 375ml glasses for wine. The hotel is a old building so has a few creaks and squeaks in coriidors, some areas have had a bit of work done on them, in progress. Its what you pay for and cant really complain at the standard for the price. There is a certain atmosphere at hotel at present as was busy with certain people and were just wondering around made people feel uneasy. The hotel will know what I mean .

  • jeanette w

  • November 2015

(its next to Gatwick airport) 20+ people just hanging around the lobby, same amount outside smoking.

First room I got changed stank of smoke. Give it a miss!

  • Michael Maguire

  • October 2015

Ok for price and location

Spent 3 days at this hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful. It's a little tired and could do with a refurb. But overall it's ok for a night or two. Food seems ok and if you are on a budget, or need a quick stopover before a flight it's ok.

  • A Duncan

  • October 2015

Great hotel

This hotel was great, very cheap and had to get a few taxis to and from it everyday but all in all a great place to stay friendly staff and a great atmosphere

  • David B

  • October 2015

Interesting end to a strange day

So there was a booking issue with our travelodge room at £40 so contacted who were brilliant and found us the next closest hotel at £65, so over half as much again but these things happen.

When we arrived at the hotel the front entrance had a number of, what we guessed were immigrants hanging around, all of them lifting their heads from their phones and staring at my wife. my wife wanted to leave as she felt threatened, but I convinced her to stay as we had been up since 3am driving and I was shattered. The room was very small and had no windows. The tv was lower than the bed and bathroom etc were very dated and this room was supposed to have been updated.

I have to say I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and feel like this is a massive step backwards. Fawlty towers will never be forgotten whilst this place is around.

  • Michael H

  • October 2015

Do not stay here

Without question, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

I only paid £57 for the room and I felt overcharged after seeing the condition of the room. To say the it was small is an understatement. It clearly hadn't been cleaned in some time, as there was a thick layer of dust over most parts of the furniture. There was only one plug socket in the room, which the tiny little TV is plugged into. This place makes faulty towers look like The Savoy. If I could rate this place zero, I would.

  • Mark P

  • September 2015

Smoking room

I would suggest not to stay in a smoking room, the carpets are stained I will never go back and stay in a smoking room

  • E Moore

  • August 2015

Don't book !!!

The reception staff were surly and unhelpful.

They were dealing with a coach party when I arrived and they treated them really badly. No welcome, just name and handed them the keys, there were foreigners as well, what they must have thought I don't know. They treated me the same, just took the money and gave me the key, with wrong directions to room. By then several of the coach party had come back to complain that they didn't have rooms they booked ie up the stairs when they had asked for downstairs for elderly parent, another couple who had 2 children that had been given rooms on different floors !!. I thought hope mine's ok. It wasn't ... it was stiflingly hot with no windows that would open, it was a single bedded room and tiny and SO hot. I went down to asked to be moved. The surly man on reception (who was untidy as tie all undone, not a good look!) just grunted and another man got me a fan !!. no comment ,no apology nothing . The fan was a godsend but very noisy. This was on a particularly hot day and although there was air-con it wasn't on ??!!. For £40 I would have rather slept in the car !!!!

  • Cameron Fryer

  • August 2015

Could be better

The websites this hotel is advertised on over books the hotel, the wifi isn't the best and the view from my room was awful (room 413) I would of preferred my room to look more like the pictures advertised but I was happy with what I got as I was only there one night