Russ Hill Hotel

3

Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Price From 85.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (191)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Johnny Walsh

  • June 2015

Horrendous, should be closed down !!

This has to be the worst Hotel we have ever stayed in and we are fairly well traveled.

The Staff were surly and very unhelpful. We were refused Breakfast even though we had pre-paid for it online as they said it was not on the booking confirmation from laterooms.com!!. The room was windowless with a small skylight, stuffy and airless and just enough space to move around the bed. I am surprised that anyone actually stays at this place, they must be either desperate or it is a last resort when they cannot find anywhere else.

  • Ian A

  • June 2015

Russ Hill? Is this acceptable

Room reserved was not available but a double room appeared after further discussions.

The room was dirty, outdated, noisy and should embarrass a modern hotel.

  • Gary P

  • June 2015

Russ Hill Hotel

Could be a really good hotel if some money was spent on it.

A very unclean looking shower curtain and mould on the curtains not too inviting. Bed OK although lacking some support, TV quite old and picture quality average. Unhappy to be woken by maids cleaning rooms at 0700 on Sunday morning and for someone to walk into my room, (seems keys must open other bedroom doors?). It also seems a very old and unsecure practice to have hotel name and room number tags on the key ring, must keep any potential thief happy. On the upside the bar food was excellent and good value for money and the drinks seemed good value and the lager well chilled.

  • Jaine J

  • May 2015

Poor standards .

Staff were disinterested and unhelpful.

However cleaners were lovely and polite. Room was pokey and smelly. Only 2 pillows which were old. Poor standards all round. Grubby and stale.'would not recommend.

  • Michael C

  • April 2015

Don't expect to use wifi as it comes and go and it is NOT available from the room but only in the few meters close to reception.

No Wifi option in the room even if ready to pay, it's just not an option available. If you book a single room, don't expect any furniture in which to put your clothes as there won't be any...at least not any in the room I stayed in. Check in is at 15 and not at 14 as mentionned on the site. If you get there at 14, they will make you wait an hour and ask you to sit and wait. Shuttle bus #40 will get you to the airport but do not expect to use it with any bus passes you might have bought earlier (metroriders, metrovoyager, etc...) It is in Charlwood and your pass should cover it...but not from the hotel apparently, just from the public bus stops in the city...after an 30 min walk.

  • Frank W

  • April 2015

On business

I needed a hotel near Crawley for one night, and it seems that every hotel in the area focusses on Gatwick's holiday traffic.

However, this is a decent hotel, the only negative I agree with is the maze of corridors leading to rooms, but I don't think it's a big deal, I didn't have to wait for lifts and ride up half a dozen floors, so six of one..... The bathroom in my room looked brand new, the room was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. All in all it was value for money

  • carlos e

  • April 2015

Former rich person's mansion, with an ugly extension

One of those places where they cram in as many rooms as possible to make more money - so i got this makeshift room with no window , next to a main corridor, thin walls (could hear quite clearly all the people walking by and the people in the rooms next door) , couldn't get on the Net with their Wi Fi nor with my dongle - so no Internet....must've been the thick walls, as I'm always able to get on the Net even with my dongle.

Good side: lots of parking, en suite, warm, clean....its ok as a one night thing, but no way more than one day - but then i did pay for the cheapest room.

  • Colin McGregor

  • April 2015

staid

on arrival there was a queue which dwindled very slowly.

3 persons of void character on duty. As a fairly regular visitor, I predicted the futility of supplying all relevant paperwork. Whas yer name was their only interaction with me before I departed for my prison cell. No window or biscuits to welcome me. The night was hot, I venture into the bathroom. Pubic presence in the bath but dare I bend over in the shower. I felt strangely safe, perhaps from the comfort of fimiliarity. The room was clean enough, parking free. Cheap tariff so no real complaint. Slept well in a comfortable bed. Stared at the 15 ft high roof lite wondering if I should invite staff in to encourage some ventilation. Thought better of it. Slept, checked out, moved on

  • R Parry

  • April 2015

Does the job for a short stay

We stayed overnight here due to catching our flight the next morning.

Very basic but OK for 8hours to get some sleep.

We wouldn't choose to stay here again. We didn't really get value for money and our sink leaked so there was a puddle in the bathroom next morning.

Finally, there was NO window in our room, just a skylight. Bizzare!

  • p wright

  • April 2015

Russ Hill Hotel

You get what you pay for but it's fine for what we want when traveling with work except no wifi