No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport , Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Hotel is situated in the village of Charlwood only 4 miles from Gatwick Airport. The hotel was built in the 19th Century as a manor house set in nine acres of Surrey Countryside. Over the years the manor house has been skilfully modernised to create old-fashioned opulence combined with comforts and modern amenities expected by today's travellers.

The hotel offers a wonderful Garden Bar, which also serves bar/light snacks and Chefs Special of the day. However, if you prefer something more substantial then Ruspers Restaurant is available, on a buffet basis, for breakfast and dinner and a delicious carvery is now also available at dinner time. The hotel also offers fantastic deals for parking while you jet away on your holidays. The Russ Hill Hotel offers the perfect and stress free start to your holiday. The hotel also offers FREE wifi to all guests.

From 6th September 2014 our bus service will change to Service 40 from the Russ Hill Hotel to Gatwick Airport Starting from 4am - 20.30pm and Service 50 from Gatwick to The Russ Hill Hotel starting 4.15am -20.45pm. Charges are Adults £3.50 and Child £2.00 each way.

Picture of Russ Hill Hotel, Charlwood at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 253 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
The curtains were bleached by the sunlight & were too small for the window. The TV remote has no battery case so the batteries had been hit with something to wedge in the compartment. The the room was cold.
The corridor smelt of herbal cigarettes ! The walls are very thin so you can hear everything that goes in the other rooms.
It needs money spent on it as you can see that it has been neglected

Reviewed by
Ray M

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy would stay again
Nice hotel booked at lass minute as we couldn't be bothered to drive all the way home will stay again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Stacey Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly worm but excellent value
I have used this hotel many times. Recently i have had a problem with the additional parking. Usually I stay one night and park the car for two weeks in a very good deal. There was confusion between the web site and hotel and was shocked to find that my costs were more that doubled on arrival for the additional parking. There was no senior staff on duty at this time of night, 6am to help resolve this situation.

Reviewed by
Anthony Miles

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for money so close to Gatwick Airport.
Everything I needed for an overnight stop. Bed was harder than I am used to at home. Only gripe I had was the annoying fan that continued to run in the ceiling of my room, not sure whether this was for health and safety reasons as there were no windows, very annoying, hard to get to sleep.

Reviewed by
stuart facey

From Sheringham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Dave A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrific the worst nightmare
I have used this hotel on several occations in the past with no problems, on this occasion it was awful as the owner is allowing the government to house immigrants awaiting asylum to stay. There was nowhere to sit you could not use the restaurant becase of the queues there weren't any seats in the bar or lounges you had to step over people to get to reception, I was put in a square box of a room on the otherside of the hotel, the owner also owns the burstin in folkstone That I stay in when in Dover on business this hotel is also being used to house immigrants awaiting asylum. I shall not be booking into
any brittania hotels again.

Reviewed by
N J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
For an airport hotel there was hardly room to get 2 suitcases into the room and nowhere to put them. Furniture was very uninspiring!
Food poor. Will definately not go there again.

Reviewed by
S Robertson

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night sleep
Stayed again for its closeness to gatwick and the good price

Reviewed by
L Sheppard

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Misinformation!
Hi, stayed at russ hill hotel, when I booked I checked that the price quoted online included parking via live chat! I was informed that it was, only to arrive at hotel, to be told it was £6 extra parking per night! I would have preferred to have stayed in a nice hotel for that price.
The pictures do not represent the room we were allocated, mould on curtains, poorly fitted windows, bathroom shabby. The bed, was like hardboard, although you rolled into a dip.
Also, as part of Britannia hotels, I noted in the news recently that they had accommodated refugees, I feel that they were being accommodated there.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
When I questioned the cost of parking they said it was free for one night, but on the hotel description it says parking £ o.oo .
Never again.

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a twice in a lifetime experience
To be perfectly honest this is what it is - a reasonably priced 'cheap and cheerful' hotel only suitable for those who need a 'pit stop' . One would not want to stay here for anything but necessity. Firstly because of the constant noise of aircraft landing at Gatwick Airport which is only a few100 metres away. Secondly because the rooms (I am assuming that our room is typical) are unacceptable due to very small size and inadequate facilities - uncomfortable bed, no air conditioning, no bathroom ventilation etc. Thirdly the standard of breakfast was quite dreadful, particularly the sausages and bacon which were very poor quality. This hotel was obviously once a very elegant country house in a beautiful parkland location and then came along the airport followed by the downgrading of the building to accommodate the package holiday industry. I am sure this unfortunate combination of events has been repeated in many similar locations where airports prevail.


Reviewed by
Martin Gardner

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next