No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport , Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Hotel is situated in the village of Charlwood only 4 miles from Gatwick Airport. The hotel was built in the 19th Century as a manor house set in nine acres of Surrey Countryside. Over the years the manor house has been skilfully modernised to create old-fashioned opulence combined with comforts and modern amenities expected by today's travellers.

The hotel offers a wonderful Garden Bar, which also serves bar/light snacks and Chefs Special of the day. However, if you prefer something more substantial then Ruspers Restaurant is available, on a buffet basis, for breakfast and dinner and a delicious carvery is now also available at dinner time. The hotel also offers fantastic deals for parking while you jet away on your holidays. The Russ Hill Hotel offers the perfect and stress free start to your holiday. The hotel also offers FREE wifi to all guests.

From 6th September 2014 our bus service will change to Service 40 from the Russ Hill Hotel to Gatwick Airport Starting from 4am - 20.30pm and Service 50 from Gatwick to The Russ Hill Hotel starting 4.15am -20.45pm. Charges are Adults £3.50 and Child £2.00 each way.

Picture of Russ Hill Hotel, Charlwood at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 250 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night sleep
Stayed again for its closeness to gatwick and the good price

Reviewed by
L Sheppard

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Misinformation!
Hi, stayed at russ hill hotel, when I booked I checked that the price quoted online included parking via live chat! I was informed that it was, only to arrive at hotel, to be told it was £6 extra parking per night! I would have preferred to have stayed in a nice hotel for that price.
The pictures do not represent the room we were allocated, mould on curtains, poorly fitted windows, bathroom shabby. The bed, was like hardboard, although you rolled into a dip.
Also, as part of Britannia hotels, I noted in the news recently that they had accommodated refugees, I feel that they were being accommodated there.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
When I questioned the cost of parking they said it was free for one night, but on the hotel description it says parking £ o.oo .
Never again.

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a twice in a lifetime experience
To be perfectly honest this is what it is - a reasonably priced 'cheap and cheerful' hotel only suitable for those who need a 'pit stop' . One would not want to stay here for anything but necessity. Firstly because of the constant noise of aircraft landing at Gatwick Airport which is only a few100 metres away. Secondly because the rooms (I am assuming that our room is typical) are unacceptable due to very small size and inadequate facilities - uncomfortable bed, no air conditioning, no bathroom ventilation etc. Thirdly the standard of breakfast was quite dreadful, particularly the sausages and bacon which were very poor quality. This hotel was obviously once a very elegant country house in a beautiful parkland location and then came along the airport followed by the downgrading of the building to accommodate the package holiday industry. I am sure this unfortunate combination of events has been repeated in many similar locations where airports prevail.


Reviewed by
Martin Gardner

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Russ hill hotel
Grand enterance to hotel,but is slightly lacking once you get to your room.Room was dated and a bit tired.Overlooked a over grown garden and an old shed.
Guy was friendly on the front desk but found the attitude of the staff a bit mixed during breakfast-other half made a friendly request for some warm milk but was given a very brusque reply for doing so.Maybe a mis-understanding as i found the other lady quite friendly.Breakfast quality was a bit poor (possibly to long under the heat lamp)-although my request for a fresh supply of scrambled egg resulted in a pleasant result.
Overall not to bad value for money,although we have stayed in the Gatwick area before in other similar priced accommodation and found these alternatives to be better,especially for the quality of food.

Reviewed by
ROBIN T

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

house keeping override lock and walked into room at 7,30am while I was in bed. No knocking
The first room they gave me was outside of the main hotel, room had damp smell which they had put the heating on max to try to disguise! However they did change the room without any hassle when I returned to reception.
The walls of my new room (124) are paper thin , and I could hear Everything in the room next door.....Yes everything, conversations, bedsprings, and all that happened in the bathroom.....
The bed was comfortable and I slept well until 7'30am when housekeeping walked in without knocking.This was disturbing as the push lock was on the handle...which means either the locks don't work or they can be overridden....I phoned to reception to tell them I was there and not to return until 10'30.....unfortunately the receptionist was unable to understand my English and the message was not relayed, consequently they returned every half an hour to try to enter the room. However I was very nervous to shower in case someone came in ,likewise to leave the room unattended, as anyone could walk in.
There are no "do not disturb/make up my room " notices so I suggest you bring chalk to write on the door!

Reviewed by
christine t

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accommodation when wind in correct direction
Ground floor accommodation was good, except for the large step into the bathroom which I found difficult.
unfortunately the wind was in the wrong direction so the airplanes were taking off past the hotel

Reviewed by
P Halsall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a room
this was the largest room ive ever stopped in it had a footprint of a small house. the bed was huge. I will be stopping here next time i fly from gatwick

Reviewed by
d sables

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely shocking!
We needed a room 'last minute' due to having to return from holiday earlier than expected: we just wanted a comfortable, clean room for the night before travelling on home and the deal seemed to be good. Well, we have never stayed in such an awful hotel room before! It was positioned in an annex off an outside passage with a light outside that shown brightly all night into the room, which had some kind of flimsy, ineffectual curtain hanging lopsidedly over the glass door.Decor was tired and so unappealing, the one available plug for phone charging under the table at floor level. There was no window, only a small ventilation panel in the door and thus the room was horribly stuffy. The room was sold to us as a double and yes, it had a double bed, but one side was hard against the wall of the pokey room so my husband couldn't exactly get out with ease. The tiny bathroom was horrible - looked tatty and grimy and we couldn't face using the shower. I asked at Reception for a better room but was told the hotel was full. Why?? The rate may have been cheap but, as other reviewers have said, why should this mean such poor standards? This hotel should be completely overhauled or closed down.

Reviewed by
Gail F

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value for money
The hotel is conveniently located for Gatwick, if a little tricky to find.
Try and arrive in the daylight as the car park is huge and not well signposted or lit.
Overall a basic budget stay and convenient for the airport

Reviewed by
Daniel B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby rooms; tired hotel
Single rooms on ground floor exceptionally noisy, rooms were in poor condition and tired., the shower was dirty and extremely poorly decorated. This hotel is very tired and probably should be put to sleep.
The outside is dilapidated the grounds are taken up with hundreds of parked cars and vans.

Reviewed by
John R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next