No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Craignure , Isle of Mull, PA65 6BB
The Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa sits on the crescent of Craignure Bay and enjoys stunning views over to Morvern and the rugged west coast.

It is located within a few hundred yards of the main ferry terminal, so access is easy either by car or on foot with a shoreline path leading to the hotel.

Almost all the bedrooms benefit from the superb outlook and guests can also make use of the extensive leisure facilities and Sonas Spa. There’s an indoor heated pool, kiddies pool, foot spa, gym, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub, all of which are complimentary to hotel guests with spa therapies and beauty treatments available by appointment. Within our Sonas Spa we have a Rasul mud room – this is a specialist full body cleansing treatment that will remove dead skin cells and increase circulation.

Dinner and breakfast is served in the Sheallach-na-mara Restaurant whilst guests can relax in the Observatory Lounge which looks out on to the gardens and shoreline beyond.
Picture of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, Isle of Mull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay! 3 night break at the Isle of Mull Hotel.
We found the hotel very welcoming and extremely relaxing! We were on a bed and breakfast deal and found the service at breakfast excellent where you were served with tea, coffee and toast on arrival. There was an extensive buffet and food was very good. The hotel was very busy on our first 2 nights and as we could not get a table in the restaurant we ate in the bar. The food and service was excellent on the 1st night but unfortunately on the 2nd night we had to wait 1 hour for our food to come and it was a bit disappointing! I think the problem was the hotel was very busy and there was simply not enough staff! On night 3 we got a table in the restaurant and food and service was excellent. Information required for locking bedroom door.

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From Gourock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getting Away From it All
Couldn't really fault the hotel, it's staff or the service, and at the Laterooms price of 65 quid per night I reckon it was good value for money. If I was being picky, it's that the wi-fi service is only available in the lounge area and not in the rooms, and even then it wasn't very quick. That probably has more to do with the remoteness of the island from mainland networks, but if anyone is there on business, just be aware of it. The buffet Breakfast was prety good too, and again if I was being picky, the sausages are too heavily 'herbed' for my liking, but that's a personal taste thing. The coffee was pretty good too and the views from the restaurant windows astounding, looking out over the bay at Craignure towards the mainland. The single room was small but perfectly adequate for the business traveller with a decent chair for working at the desk and a softer chair for sitting back with the feet up. Again, the views from the room window were glorious (admittedly the weather was fabulous when I was there in early autmun) and highly likely to distract even the most conscientious worker! The hotel itself is situated just a hundred yards from the main road, but traffic noise is non existent, and it's location is ideal for getting about on the island or as a base for touring. There is only one stretch of two-way carriageway on the island and that runs from Craignure to Salen, the rest is all single track road with passing places. And with the Isle of Mull Hotel being situated on this stretch of 'Mull Motorway' it makes it the ideal location. I used to stay in the main town of Tobermory, but no longer. There might be fewer shops and pubs, but that is all part of the charm. I'll be back - with the wife!

Reviewed by
J Fife

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was being painted. It would have been nice if this had been mentioned at reception. I found strong smell of paint gave me a headache. we had to leave the window open at all times.
As we left after 3 nights, I wrote my name on the dust on the dressing table.
Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
L Hall

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We were given a room on the lower ground floor which is reached by 2 sets of stairs, no lift and no offer of help with the bags. The room was cold, a bit gloomy and no view. Not value for the money. The bed was comfortable, though.

Reviewed by
C Thompson

From Kenton, Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

honeymoon stay
The hotel was run like a well oiled machine, the food was amazing and the breakfast was cooked to perfection, I have never seen such lovely fluffy scrambled eggs in an hotel before.
the Jacuzzi in the spa wasn't working to its full capacity but once this was pointed out to the staff they were very quick to see that it would be fixed. We only stayed 2 days so don't know if it got fixed.
Only downside was the price of soft drinks £1.85 for a can of irn bru is a bit ridiculous and I did point out that if it was cheaper then I would have been inclined to sit in the bar and drink more, but at that price I couldn't justify it especially when it was selling across the road in the spar at 45p per can.

Reviewed by
G Potts

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, let down by very uncomfortable bed
We have stayed at The Isle of Mull Hotel before, a few years ago, and it's still very much the same now. Attentive staff. Comfortable public spaces with good sitting areas overlooking the sea. The bedroom was a good size, clean, with a smallish flatscreen TV and all the usual facilities. The bathroom was good, with plentiful hot water. We ate in the bar rather than the restaurant. The food was good, although there was only one vegetarian main course. Good deserts. Wifi is available in the public areas but still not provided in the bedrooms, which is disappointing. The worst feature was that the mattress on the bed was extremely uncomfortable because the springs were very uneven. I slept on top of the duvet, which cushioned me from the springs (but there was no spare duvet in the room and so I spent rather a cold night). Despite my notifying the hotel staff of the problem, no replacement mattress was provided. On subsequent nights, I used two blankets as cushioning, folded and placed under the bottom sheet. For this reason, I am reluctant to stay again unless there is no alternative.

Reviewed by
Vivien J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was exceptional
The food was exceptional

Reviewed by
Dan T

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful experience
The room was clean and service was good.The staff was friendly and helpful.The food was nice.The only problem was the wifi in the lounge which didnt have enough signal strength.

Reviewed by
WRIGHT j

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome and excellent breakfast
We enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We have a (well behaved) dog and he was welcome to stay too, which is a major factor in where we stay. Staff were helpful, and the room clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Derek F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be put off by first impressions
The hotel is not the most attractive looking and the rooms could do with a makeover, in particular the bathrooms. That said, there is everything you need, clean bedding, clean towels, friendly staff and exceptional food, with excellent views, from our room anyway. It has all the facilities you require and if I was to return to the isle of mull I would stay there again. Very handy for ferry, and central to the island.

Reviewed by
David Livesey

From Rochdale , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next