No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Craignure , Isle of Mull, PA65 6BB
The Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa sits on the crescent of Craignure Bay and enjoys stunning views over to Morvern and the rugged west coast.

It is located within a few hundred yards of the main ferry terminal, so access is easy either by car or on foot with a shoreline path leading to the hotel.

Almost all the bedrooms benefit from the superb outlook and guests can also make use of the extensive leisure facilities and Sonas Spa. There’s an indoor heated pool, kiddies pool, foot spa, gym, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub, all of which are complimentary to hotel guests with spa therapies and beauty treatments available by appointment. Within our Sonas Spa we have a Rasul mud room – this is a specialist full body cleansing treatment that will remove dead skin cells and increase circulation.

Dinner and breakfast is served in the Sheallach-na-mara Restaurant whilst guests can relax in the Observatory Lounge which looks out on to the gardens and shoreline beyond.
Picture of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, Isle of Mull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Way too Expensive
This hotel is named 'Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa'. This is not an accurate reflection of the facilities available. Some free treatments were not available - the foot spa machine was not working; the pool looked and felt like a public swimming baths (not a problem but when you are paying £150 for one night, you expect more); the hot tub was broken.
The first thing we were told on sitting down to dinner were the 'rules' for our eating - and the food was extremely expensive and not worth the money. Particularly, given that we ate in a seafood restaurant the night before on Oban for less money for much better value. All in all a disappointing stay. I have never given a negative review before but I was so disappointed by the hotel that I felt compelled to write a complaint.

Reviewed by
Catherine Dawson

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We booked last minute so the price wasn't great, and the room was small, but it was clean. The restaurant and bar have fantastic views. A lot of the staff are foreign and come across as quite abrupt but I don't think there were trying to be. The restaurant service was a bit like a scene from faulty towers, it was relatively busy but didn't seem to have any organisation. The food came quick though, and was always tasty.

Reviewed by
Matthew M

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm in a storm!
The hotel was comfortable and warm, and the staff very helpful - especially after a storm saw three ferry trips cancelled! With many guests who should have been off the island on morning ferries returning for food etc, assurances were given that, should the ferries not resume that day accommodation could be found. Luckily the ferry sailings resumed at 5pm!
The only complaint was the lack of double glazing in the room, which meant condensation covered window blanking out the amazing view!. The food was excellent and all the staff, especially the dining room staff extremely friendly. We will be back!

Reviewed by
P Bell

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect place to rest for any wary traveller
After travelling on the ferry from Oban, the Isle of Mull hotel and Spa was exactly what we needed. The staff were very attentive and the facilities just what we expected. Our room came with an amazing view which we enjoyed thoroughly throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
Rafael A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Published menu for food and drink was significantly depleted for whole 5 day stay

Reviewed by
John D

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is gloomy, shabby and in need of refurbishment. Reception area used to serve bar snacks and the tables were too low. Bathroom had patches of mould on the wall and ceiling. There were big lumps of plaster knocked out of the wall in the corridor where the cleaners trolley had banged against it. The corridor window latches were missing leaving holes in the wood where the latches had been. Bar staff overbearing (with one exception) and the choice of wines was poor - only 2 out of 4 whites on the list were available. Every time food and drink was ordered in the bar I had to sign a receipt before it was charged to my room. Not an accommodating hotel. Wouldn't go back. Good view of ferry and Sound of Mull and the flow from the shower was poor. Service at breakfast was friendly and the choice of food was good.

Reviewed by
John R

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog friendly Hotel
We stayed for one nigh, and for that it was great, no problem with the dog, really good food in the bar, so the dog could be with us, and in the morning the breakfast was also very good, lovely walks just outside for the dog, down to the shore and along. The Spa was fantastic, the Kids and I loved it. A great hotel for all dog lovers.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Letting down the Isle of mull
A beautiful island and a dire 1970s style planning disaster. The grounds and location superb but the hotel resembles and cheap build housing project. Inside is very outdated and tired, albeit clean.
If I hadn't booked at 50% off through late rooms the £250 rate would have had me hopping mad.
The restaurant was a battle, it looked institutionalised and as tired as the hotel. I was reluctantly given a window seat despite it being empty on my arrival. the first three choices of seafood were I available and the third choice of duck was tough, the explanation being that if it had been rested it would have been cold! I cancelled a £40 bottle of wine originally planned to go with the lobster, oysters or sole that were absent.
very sad to find this, Mull and Oban have some of the best seafood, beef and lamb in the world, it seems to have pass the isle of Mull Hotel by.
I really wouldn't mind paying £250 plus £100 in the restaurant if it reflected the quality of Mull and the West Coast.
Sorry, I'll sleep in the car next time I'd nowhere else available.

Reviewed by
S Douglas

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely views, great breakfast, liked spa, rooms satisfactory
Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, our two rooms both had fantastic views of the sea, beautiful! Only negative point is that the door locks were a bit tricky to work, infact mine broke and had to move rooms, but staff were helpful and got room exactly the same with same view, so no problem.
Breakfast was very nice and the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Dining room has amazing view out to sea, very pleasant.
Pool and spa were good, nice to sit outside in the hot tub and admire the view. Kids not allowed in spa though, so you can only use it if there are two adults in family group to be able to take shots each. Just note that it is a public pool and is closed for an hour a day at different times for classes.
We didn't try hotel restaurant, but ate twice in the lounge bar. The food was lovely, but quite small portions and bit over priced. Panini's were best value on menu.
Would recommend as enjoyed our stay there. We had two rooms as couldn't get a family room available for family group of 5. Note, the island is mainly single track roads, so be prepared fir that if you are bringing car!

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room with a view
The view out across the loch from most of the hotels windows is wonderful and the lounge is arranged to take advantage of this. All the staff that we dealt with in our 3 night stay were helpful and they tried to be friendly although perhaps because they were foreign nationals this sometime didnt come across as they intended. However the staff worked together well and the arrival of a busload of visitors was handled efficiently without the usual panic seen at other establishments.
The hotel and our room was clean and comfortable but the hotel is starting to show signs of needing a refurbishment. There is flaking paintwork and damp patches on the ceiling.
Would any of this put us off staying here again. Certainly not.

Reviewed by
John Lee

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next