No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Craignure , Isle of Mull, PA65 6BB
The Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa sits on the crescent of Craignure Bay and enjoys stunning views over to Morvern and the rugged west coast.

It is located within a few hundred yards of the main ferry terminal, so access is easy either by car or on foot with a shoreline path leading to the hotel.

Almost all the bedrooms benefit from the superb outlook and guests can also make use of the extensive leisure facilities and Sonas Spa. There’s an indoor heated pool, kiddies pool, foot spa, gym, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub, all of which are complimentary to hotel guests with spa therapies and beauty treatments available by appointment. Within our Sonas Spa we have a Rasul mud room – this is a specialist full body cleansing treatment that will remove dead skin cells and increase circulation.

Dinner and breakfast is served in the Sheallach-na-mara Restaurant whilst guests can relax in the Observatory Lounge which looks out on to the gardens and shoreline beyond.
Picture of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, Isle of Mull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely views, great breakfast, liked spa, rooms satisfactory
Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, our two rooms both had fantastic views of the sea, beautiful! Only negative point is that the door locks were a bit tricky to work, infact mine broke and had to move rooms, but staff were helpful and got room exactly the same with same view, so no problem.
Breakfast was very nice and the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Dining room has amazing view out to sea, very pleasant.
Pool and spa were good, nice to sit outside in the hot tub and admire the view. Kids not allowed in spa though, so you can only use it if there are two adults in family group to be able to take shots each. Just note that it is a public pool and is closed for an hour a day at different times for classes.
We didn't try hotel restaurant, but ate twice in the lounge bar. The food was lovely, but quite small portions and bit over priced. Panini's were best value on menu.
Would recommend as enjoyed our stay there. We had two rooms as couldn't get a family room available for family group of 5. Note, the island is mainly single track roads, so be prepared fir that if you are bringing car!

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room with a view
The view out across the loch from most of the hotels windows is wonderful and the lounge is arranged to take advantage of this. All the staff that we dealt with in our 3 night stay were helpful and they tried to be friendly although perhaps because they were foreign nationals this sometime didnt come across as they intended. However the staff worked together well and the arrival of a busload of visitors was handled efficiently without the usual panic seen at other establishments.
The hotel and our room was clean and comfortable but the hotel is starting to show signs of needing a refurbishment. There is flaking paintwork and damp patches on the ceiling.
Would any of this put us off staying here again. Certainly not.

Reviewed by
John Lee

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and Filthy
On arrival receptionist was harassed and not professional. Room was unclean and in need of updating. Access route to spa was dirty with lots of hair accumulated along the corridor edges. Throughout the hotel there was signs of neglect e.g.. windows were dirty, dusty sills,splash marks on walls and greasy door handles. In our family room we pulled the single bed to ours out as we have a young baby and behind the bed was tissues, hair and even toe nails. Nothing felt clean. We would have checked out but we arrived at the hotel late and alternative accommodation would have been difficult to come by.
To top it all of we ordered a meal and had to wait well over an hour for it to come cold on Dirty plates no less. The hotel is understaffed putting too much pressure on the employees, also no sign of team work - during dinner service in the lounge the two bar staff were run of there feet with no help from the receptionist.
On checking out another unprofessional receptionist we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay just given our bill to pay. I asked to speak with the manger twice to tell him of our concerns but he just hid behind and left his staff to deal with the complaints, which is bad management.
Check out was also a shamble's bills were unclear, credit card machines not working and long queues with many customers complaining not just us.
We were looking forward to our stay at the hotel as we had stayed there a few years ago and enjoyed it. It has just become tired and dirty. It is a shame because the hotel is in a beautiful location and could be amazing with a bit of good management but it has just not been looked after.

Reviewed by
D BOYD

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked after. Very much enjoyed our stay and what a stunning view from our window! Room was a bit tired to be honest but clean, comfy & spacious. Was inadvertently set up as a double but was changed back to the desired twin beds - no trouble at all. The spa & pool are a bit newer than the rest of the building & were top notch. A real highlight of our stay. The hot tub really worked well on the aching muscles after a long days cycling.

Reviewed by
Douglas S

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better but could also be a lot worse
- Confusion over the booking when I called to check and reconfirm it.
- Lovely view out over Craignure Bay and Duart Castle
- Ideal location for exploring the whole island
- Housekeeping need to be shown how to use a duster in certain places
- Room information asks guests to settle bill the night before if leaving early...tried to do this but was told it couldn't be done and to come back in the morning
- had a long wait for food from the bar menu - when it came one of the orders was wrong and had to be sent back, but when the correct one arrived it was delicious. Waiter very apologetic for what was obviously a kitchen mistake
Overall this hotel is ideal if you are looking for somewhere to bed down inbetween days spent out and about exploring the lovely island of Mull. Just don't expect perfection and don't expect a quiet night's sleep - the walls are very poorly insulated so you hear everything going on next door whether you want to or not. I would stop again and would recommend to others, but only if a deal can be found. We paid £85 per night and this was asking a lot in all honesty.

Reviewed by
Dave W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. 20th to 23rd June 2014.
Stayed three nights, couldn’t fault the professionalism of the entire staff. Ate in the hotel for the first evening meal although the food was good and well presented I am not a nouvelle cuisine fan you don't get value for money in my opinion. The room was clean and tidy although a spot of decorating wouldn't go a miss but overall nothing drastic, you could hear the other guests going up the corridor at night but then you do in most hotels. The spa facilities are clean and well presented only used once though due to time spent exploring the island, If you are going for a spa weekend then yes it is good value for money, although the treatments are on the expensive side. I would recommend this Hotel for what it is a Spa Hotel, if planning to travel around the island a more central B&B would be advisable. A word of warning if you are relatively new to driving, there is only approximately 12 miles of two lane roads the rest is single track roads with ample passing places.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely views and very nice hotel.
Mirror in room was behind wardrobe, so difficult to use - especially with hair dryer.
Pool was out of commission.
Pool, gym etc need to be open early am - a very normal time to use before breakfast.

Reviewed by
Dianne D

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely visit again
Like most reviews this hotel needs an upgrade but the setting, food and staff was high quality. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were about to book a self catering cottage when a tab for this hotel popped up as a special offer late deal wouldn't have paid full price. The island is wonderful full of birdsong and beauty.

Reviewed by
R P

From Lincoln, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs modernisation way too expensive for state of the hotel

Reviewed by
C Turnbull

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well-run operation
Reception: very efficient, professional and obliging.
Restaurant: staff very attentive and well organised. The food was the best we had on our short tour of the West. Only two issues: try as they might even this kitchen couldn't make frozen chips palatable and why serve a precisely cooked steak on a sliver of tree trunk when perfectly serviceable, heat retentive and more hygienic flatware is available? One final niggle - our ferry departing at 8.45 precluded the delights of our having a full Scottish breakfast - the packed lunch kindly provided by Reception offered some compensation though.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next