Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

3

Craignure, Isle of Mull, PA65 6BB

Price From 225.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Wendy W

  • September 2014

I have stayed here on many occasions over the past 10 years and have always found the hotel very comfortable and enjoyed the stunning view from most of the rooms, the lounge and restaurant.

The staff are always very obliging but I felt this time they seemed overworked. The food has always been superb but I was disappointed at the huge hike in prices in the restaurant this year. The set meals were always good value whilst being good quality but the prices have increased significantly this year and coffee and water are no longer included in the set price. I will have to think twice before booking here again which is a real shame.

  • Matthew M

  • August 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

We booked last minute so the price wasn't great, and the room was small, but it was clean. The restaurant and bar have fantastic views. A lot of the staff are foreign and come across as quite abrupt but I don't think there were trying to be. The restaurant service was a bit like a scene from faulty towers, it was relatively busy but didn't seem to have any organisation. The food came quick though, and was always tasty.

  • Catherine Dawson

  • August 2014

Way too Expensive

This hotel is named 'Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa'.

This is not an accurate reflection of the facilities available. Some free treatments were not available - the foot spa machine was not working; the pool looked and felt like a public swimming baths (not a problem but when you are paying £150 for one night, you expect more); the hot tub was broken. The first thing we were told on sitting down to dinner were the 'rules' for our eating - and the food was extremely expensive and not worth the money. Particularly, given that we ate in a seafood restaurant the night before on Oban for less money for much better value. All in all a disappointing stay. I have never given a negative review before but I was so disappointed by the hotel that I felt compelled to write a complaint.

  • P Bell

  • August 2014

Calm in a storm!

The hotel was comfortable and warm, and the staff very helpful - especially after a storm saw three ferry trips cancelled.

With many guests who should have been off the island on morning ferries returning for food etc, assurances were given that, should the ferries not resume that day accommodation could be found. Luckily the ferry sailings resumed at 5pm. The only complaint was the lack of double glazing in the room, which meant condensation covered window blanking out the amazing view!. The food was excellent and all the staff, especially the dining room staff extremely friendly. We will be back!

  • Rafael A

  • August 2014

A perfect place to rest for any wary traveller

After travelling on the ferry from Oban, the Isle of Mull hotel and Spa was exactly what we needed.

The staff were very attentive and the facilities just what we expected. Our room came with an amazing view which we enjoyed thoroughly throughout our stay.

  • John D

  • August 2014

Published menu for food and drink was significantly depleted for whole 5 day stay

  • John R

  • August 2014

The hotel is gloomy, shabby and in need of refurbishment.

Reception area used to serve bar snacks and the tables were too low. Bathroom had patches of mould on the wall and ceiling. There were big lumps of plaster knocked out of the wall in the corridor where the cleaners trolley had banged against it. The corridor window latches were missing leaving holes in the wood where the latches had been. Bar staff overbearing (with one exception) and the choice of wines was poor - only 2 out of 4 whites on the list were available. Every time food and drink was ordered in the bar I had to sign a receipt before it was charged to my room. Not an accommodating hotel. Wouldn't go back. Good view of ferry and Sound of Mull and the flow from the shower was poor. Service at breakfast was friendly and the choice of food was good.

  • David M

  • August 2014

Dog friendly Hotel

We stayed for one nigh, and for that it was great, no problem with the dog, really good food in the bar, so the dog could be with us, and in the morning the breakfast was also very good, lovely walks just outside for the dog, down to the shore and along.

The Spa was fantastic, the Kids and I loved it. A great hotel for all dog lovers.

  • S Douglas

  • July 2014

Letting down the Isle of mull

A beautiful island and a dire 1970s style planning disaster.

The grounds and location superb but the hotel resembles and cheap build housing project. Inside is very outdated and tired, albeit clean. If I hadn't booked at 50% off through late rooms the £250 rate would have had me hopping mad. The restaurant was a battle, it looked institutionalised and as tired as the hotel. I was reluctantly given a window seat despite it being empty on my arrival. the first three choices of seafood were I available and the third choice of duck was tough, the explanation being that if it had been rested it would have been cold. I cancelled a £40 bottle of wine originally planned to go with the lobster, oysters or sole that were absent. very sad to find this, Mull and Oban have some of the best seafood, beef and lamb in the world, it seems to have pass the isle of Mull Hotel by. I really wouldn't mind paying £250 plus £100 in the restaurant if it reflected the quality of Mull and the West Coast.

Sorry, I'll sleep in the car next time I'd nowhere else available.

  • Dawn C

  • July 2014

Lovely views, great breakfast, liked spa, rooms satisfactory

Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, our two rooms both had fantastic views of the sea, beautiful.

Only negative point is that the door locks were a bit tricky to work, infact mine broke and had to move rooms, but staff were helpful and got room exactly the same with same view, so no problem. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Dining room has amazing view out to sea, very pleasant. Pool and spa were good, nice to sit outside in the hot tub and admire the view. Kids not allowed in spa though, so you can only use it if there are two adults in family group to be able to take shots each. Just note that it is a public pool and is closed for an hour a day at different times for classes. We didn't try hotel restaurant, but ate twice in the lounge bar. The food was lovely, but quite small portions and bit over priced. Panini's were best value on menu.

Would recommend as enjoyed our stay there. We had two rooms as couldn't get a family room available for family group of 5. Note, the island is mainly single track roads, so be prepared fir that if you are bringing car!